What’s the deal with the engagement ring studded with solitaire? All my college friends [desis/arabs] who got married or engaged in the US got solitaire rings, but my cousins and friends in Pak didn’t, they mostly got normal gold ones with stones, the ones with rich susraalz got diamonds lolz others just got normal stones.
But why solitaire? Does it have to be? Is there some cultural reason for this, is it just fashion or something? Is there some superstition/omen attached to it? Is it an American thing?
I couldn’t care less abt the ring even if it was made of cotton thread itd be fine with me, but then why do ppl say it has to be solitaire?
Plz share any info you have…would appreciate it…coz im totally jaahil abt this issue…
debeers diamind com0any started this whole thing i.e. a solitaire engagement ring equal in worth to the guy's salary for two months, so theycon women, diamond id forever and all that BS and guys end up paying for it,and then u have the anniversary ring with three diamonds for past present and future..
there should be a new tradition where the girl buys the guy a rolex or patek phillipe equal to her 3 months salary and if she is an une,mployed stay at home type then equal to her dad's 3 month salary.
I have some info to share I dont know how useful it will be.
My eldest bhai told me today that most of the diamonds sold in the U.S. are not real diamonds. They are made in factories. So you have to ask apparently, if they are real. haw hai
Then he told me that you wont find many shops selling 22K gold. Most of them sell 14, and the highest would be 18. My other bhai didnt know this and was completely shocked because he was planning on buying gold at a mall shop (for family), and doesnt know a thing about jewelry. So I thought I would share this, incase people didnt know. I think in our culture/tradition we Pakistanis normally go for 22K right?
Munni, errr the point about gold is fine, but the diamonds bit is a little off. a diamond is a diamond, no matter how its cut. Now you do have "artificial" diamonds, ranging from cheesy stuff liek cubic zirconia up to moissanite which is very hard to tell from real diamond, but u can not sell them as diamonds...they have to be sold as what they are.
*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
Munni, errr the point about gold is fine, but the diamonds bit is a little off. a diamond is a diamond, no matter how its cut. Now you do have "artificial" diamonds, ranging from cheesy stuff liek cubic zirconia up to moissanite which is very hard to tell from real diamond, but u can not sell them as diamonds...they have to be sold as what they are.
Thats the word! Zirconia. He said most of the shops here sell zirconia. He didnt say they pass it off as real though. He just said thats what they sell, so someone who doesnt know a thing about diamonds needs to ask about whats real, etc. Someone like me. smile
Solitaire rings are absolutely beautiful. They never go out of fashion, whereas gold rings with stones in them go in and out of fashion.
I have always wanted my engagaement ring to be a solitaire. But the thing is that when I get engaged, I dont think that I would be able to say that I want that sort of ring, I would probably just have to live with what I am given by the guys side, that is unless they take me with them to pick a ring.
I didnt think that girls in pakistan got engagement rings, most of my friends who have got married there dont have one.
Thats the word! Zirconia. He said most of the shops here sell zirconia. He didnt say they pass it off as real though. He just said thats what they sell, so someone who doesnt know a thing about diamonds needs to ask about whats real, etc. Someone like me. smile
Why do you care about the difference? They are physically identical, as far I can tell.
When I get engaged, I'm gonna save money by buying an articifially created diamond and I'm gonna score brownie points by giving the impression (withour recoursing to outiright lying) that it's real.
After all, since there is no way that an amateur can tell the difference, neither the girl nor her family would ever find out and I'd save a huge amount of money.....
hi mad,
great plan, perhaps every scientifically inclined man has thought of this since the begining of time, but something keeps us from actually doing it…the fear of the mother in law taking the ring to a realtime diamond dealer…
i think the solitaire is a more western tradition, wese i preferred the more desi style to me it meant more than the plane diomand ring, and it looks so much prettier as well
Why do you care about the difference? They are physically identical, as far I can tell.
When I get engaged, I'm gonna save money by buying an articifially created diamond and I'm gonna score brownie points by giving the impression (withour recoursing to outiright lying) that it's real.
After all, since there is no way that an amateur can tell the difference, neither the girl nor her family would ever find out and I'd save a huge amount of money.....
u forgot the pre & post conditions:
pre-condition: Father in-law is not a jeweler
post-condition: that ring never maks it to the jewlery shop, becuase it mysteriously disappears after the wedding, must be the dog...
.. and if, by any chance, your inlaws (or worse, your wife) finds out (and they will, rest assured) you can easily claim to be the biggest doofus on this side of the world and that you were "conned" (horror of horrors) by the friggin jeweller, all because at the end of the day you are but just a mad_scientist :(
^ yep!! Girls do go check out their rings at jewelry stores to make sure their fiance gave them a 'real' diamond so beware Maddy :D
as for the question: I prefer the solitaire or the 3 diamond cluster. I prefer diamond/zirconia any day over Yellow gold. I guess cuz I've grown up in the West, I am definitely more inclined toward silver/white gold than yellow gold. I got a very yellow gold ring with no stones for my engagement. Thankfully my cousin had warned me about the Pakistani tradition of giving gold rings otherwise I would have been in for a shock! :D
*Originally posted by irem: *
Munni zirconia is different from diamond...u can tell the difference with careful observation..it doesnt shine so brilliantly...
Mr F u r right there :-)
gracias, although moissonite which is an artificial diamond is impossible to tell apart except by special equipment that jewelers have.
Now as far as any of the real jewelry stores go, they can not pass off cubic zirconia or anything like that as diamonds, they have to give u a certificate of authenticity, and also the ratings on the diamond, clarity and size and what nots.
so its not quite as easy being fooled, unless someone is a real idiot :)
Then try Moissanite. It is the closest to a real diamond and can be told apartonly under an electron microscope. Even a jewller's loupe can't tell them apart. The price is about fourth that of a diamond.