Software - Looking for audio file converter

I’m looking for an audio file converter that I can use to convert .mp3/.wav files to .mp3/.wav format.

I installed and used a key (keygen) for ALO Power Audio Converter; however, it stopped working (converting files) the second day (which is today).

Could I please be familiarized with a good audio converting software that I can use without having to pay for it (*hint *hint)?

Re: Software - Looking for audio file converter

u can use standard winamp to do mp3>wav... and u can get ANYYYYYYYYYY freeware mp3 encoder off tucows.com that doesnt have adware in it, becomes right-clickable mp3>wav conversion..

u can use the windows notepad.

good luck

eh :stuck_out_tongue:

How can I possibly use Windows Notepad for it? :confused:

faizy, thanks bhai! I’ll try to find a few free software at tucows as you’ve suggested, insha’Allah.

5abi, are you trying to tell me that you’re not a muft-khor? :stuck_out_tongue:

Adobe Audition ( Formally known as Cool edit pro ) is good 4 single or batch conversionz

u write text commands to be used with a freely available, public-property, mp3+wav codec (part of windows since xp now)..

but… ahemmm..its headache..and thats why baabay noon tafreeh chari ae..

I have a plethora of these, will send you a PM with my fav audio converter :o

how abt a “how to” link
better yet – a short writeup if u have time..
i really wana know.. thanks,

Sadiya… free ka chakkar choro… just keep downloading those trial versions… itney saarey hain… u will never run out… faizy ne jo site batayi hai us par wav to mp3 search will show atleast a couple of pages ..

acha, here is a FREE solution

here is what you do

Download Audacity 1.2.4
http://audacity.sourceforge.net/download/windows

Download Lame Encoder 3.96.1
http://www-users.york.ac.uk/~raa110/audacity/lame.html

• unzip the lame encoder zip file
  • look for lameenc.dll file
  • put this lameenc.dll in C:\program files\audacity

Open Audacity and go to File > Preferences.

• Go to the ‘File Formats’ tab.
  • In the bottom of the window there is a section tabled ‘MP3 Export Setup’.
  • Click on the link tabled ‘Find Library’
  • This will ask you if you want to locate the lame encoder. Click ‘yes’.
  • In the dialogue box, go to the folder where you put the lame-enc.dll file earlier, and select it.
  • Click OK.

Now open any wave file and you will see an option for Export as mp3 in file menu.

Instructions Source

Thank you everyone! I’ll try out a few suggested software and will get back to you folks if I need any further assistance. :flower1:

try xilisoft audio converter ...

Audacity is cool, I just love it! with the LAME encoding DLL, you can convert to MP3 format as well, just the way Genius pointed out.