Usually when I am tired to eating yogurt & fruits to keep up a healthy diet, I crave for something salty. Would love to get my hands on some Pringles or pistachios but then once you get one in you mouth its hard to resist the rest that are in the bag. :-/
So, what is light (so you can give in on your crave a bit more often) but at the same time good for health?
Thanks guys! I will try some of the suggestions given here.
roshnie: I checked on the baked potato chips last night. They had the same calorie count per serving as the others. What’s the difference? And how do they calculate a serving in patato chips?
Okay Ahmad Jee.. i got anuther intresting salty snack… every tried frying boiled pasta(macroni, noodles, speghetti etc.) … its like .. boil macaroni or pasta…rinse em with cold water n let em dry a bit (leave em in open air for 5-10 mins) .. fry em till golden… take em out.. sprinkle chaat masala or onion salt over em accordin to ur taste…voila… … they taste sumwut like pappar …
try pappar .. will find them in every desi store, instead of frying it, bake em, sprinkle with chaat masalaa tau banjatay hain aur bhi bahut mazeeedar!!!
those thin vegetable crackers are the best..you can find lot of baked products these days on shelves ahmadjee..
i totally understand that once you start eating pringles or anything else..its hard to resist..what i do..i limit the portion..lets say if i am going to work..i only fill those tiny ziplock bags instead of taking the whole packet..
Thanks for the tips guys. I usually shy away from frying stuff so will pass on the that ...
Anyway, My family was in the mood of stakes last night & I wasn't. So, I went my own way and made some sandwiches that I like to call "veggie-egg sandwiches".
Here is the recipe.
Put as many eggs you need on the stove to boil. I had veggies twice as much as eggs as the emphasis was on veggies in the sandwich, not eggs.
Chop your favorite veggies, into small bitty pieces.
Boil the hard ones like carrot, bell pepper etc. I even boiled the onion just so it loses its sourness, hardness etc.
When they are all done, mix them together with salt & pepper. You can also use any seasoning you like.
To really mush 'em together use appropriate amount of your favorite salad dressing-mine was honey mustard as with salt n' pepper it gives 'em a little khata mitha taste. I don't like mayo which is traditionally used in these kind of sandwiches. Though I did added a little horseradish cream for flavor.
Paste it on your bread and wallaa you are ready to eat. (Warm the bread if you so like)