social conscience?

why do our people miss this?
how is it possible that we dont feel this?

individually, an elder said, people do care. but, as a collective, we sadly are not nice people.

an instance: treatment of servants in pkaistan.
people hardly ever ever go and find out in which place and state do the servants live.
incase she or he never showed up, we may be able to help them, in case they are suffering at the hands of some calamity, illness, crime or injustice, then why do we not know where do the servants come from?

we give them old food and living quarters that are not heated to with water at times.
and we refer to them as noker or jamadaar or jamadarni.

how do you contend with this one issue in perspective.

if and when you decided to keep a servant back in Pakistan, how would you treat them well?

share if you like.

best,
Dushwari

Re: social conscience?

Dushwari Baji... this is a topic that upsets me a lot too! the way some ppl talk to their maasis is disgusting! as if they themselves do everything right and expect the same from this poor girl!

We had a maasi, she used to do jhaarho/ poocha + clean the toilets... all of the kids in the house called her :her name: Aunty! And we always titled her with "aap"... her daughter got married and we all went to her house for the wedding! it was like stepping into a different world. Soory for being so explicit but I had never been surrounded by so many ppl who had so little (in a financial sense).

Those who treat them badly should truly fear Allah SWT... burra wakht kabhi bhi, kis hi pei bhi aa sakta hai! and arrogance is the worse kind of sin! And if not for the fear of Allah, then at least the fear of getting bud-dua should scare them... lekin aisa lag ta hai jaisey unn ke dil puthar ho ga'e ho

Re: social conscience?

we need to be really very careful about this. Allah swt is forgiving.
but what is of concern is that denial of being courteous on a human level, is so sad a truth about our comunities who are well to do but stingy.

and Allah swt is watching that too.
may he give us ability to be mindful and fearful if anyone does that kind of behavior to poor people who live each day, extreme poverty.

best,
Dushwari