Sobz...

ab tum “What to do in case of fire” daikho. It’s a German movie with English subtitles. You’d like it. It’s ok if you don’t grasp anything. Nothing much more has ever been expected of you anyway.

German? :shudders: Can’t you ever recommend an easy to find film that I can pick up at the local library? :rolleyes: I’ll see what I can do …

BTW, did you ever end up watching Irreversible?

Sobz, I'm still divided. Can't decide if I want to watch a disturbing violent movie on rape and revenge. But if you like the subject matter then you should watch Dustin Hoffman's Straw Dogs.

Romo, you've said this same sh1t before, and my reply is the same now as it was back then; I didn't 'like' the subject matter, but found the cinematography to be quite brilliant. It's a film that was made way ahead of its time ... you'll either love it or hate it.

I studied Straw Dogs at uni, and don't understand what all the hoo-ha is about. Didn't think it was that brilliant a film (neither was it as violent as some people make it out to be).

Well, it was banned at one point in UK. I don't know about now. Acha chalo, I'll rent irreversible next time. Yay mera aik aur ahsaan ho ga tum par. That a high profile movie critic like myself will consider watching a recommendation from someone like yourself. :p

Yeh, wasn't it released around the same time as A Clockwork Orange? I think kai the BBFC just got a little scared of how this new wave of violent films would affect the British public. These films are rather tame by today's standards.

BTW, if you don’t enjoy irreversible it means the film was way too intellectual for your fobby brain :p and while we’re at it, it should be you who feels honoured .. this is the second recommendation of yours that I'm following up. Let’s hope it lives up to the World According to Garp.

Com' on now. World According to Garp is a great movie. What they call these days "coming of the age" sort of drama. But What To Do In Case of Fire is a light hearted comedy that's simply enjoyable. Without its putting too much emphasis on anything or making any sorta cheesy political statement haalaaNkay they could easily shove that in there somewhere.

Last night I watched Exotica. That's another good movie. If you can get past first 1/2 hour of it then it starts engaging you. It deals more with strange human relationships and personal psychological erraticism with a little dullness. But it's good.

Light hearted comedy? Comedy really aint my thing, but I'll give it a go (only because it's been recommended by such a top dog film critic like yourself :rolleyes) Exotica sounds like a porno. Lemme know what you think about Irreversible.

Roman yaar if you want to discuss this with Sobz only why don’t you use the PM :hoonh:

That’s all. I don’t have any views on this German film as I haven’t seen it. But it’s probably crap.

She says bad, lewd things to me in her PMs. Can't do that no more. :o

Now, what the fk you two think you are?. Sobkel and Ropert?

Yeah Romo, why didn't you just PM me, scardycat :p

Fungi, who are Sobkel and Ropert, are they America's answer to Barry Norman? No1 can answer to Barry Norman, he's like the top dog of the film world, Roman and I come just under him.

Sobi, I do not want to converse with someone whose signature is longer than their post.

Just cuz u don’t understasnd it :snooty:

Sobz, you only just want to show off that nose of yours, don't you?

Aho, and a mighty fine nose it is :snooty:

yes Sadi Sobi, please trim your signature.

Don’t I get any preferential treatment for having the same cricket team as you? :sigh:

Irreversible

Finally watched Irreversible. Definitely not for everyone. I think students of cinamatic art can learn a thing or two from the movie but that's just about it. The flow of the movie is a well thought out novel idea and I think it's pretty good. It starts out hard-hitting, extremely gritty, gory, shocking, and violent and then gradually transformed into something soft and light. That was the whole point of the movie. I read someone else's review on it somewhere and she also pretty much said the same thing. I mean, you can just pick the violence or nudity in it and talk about it for hours but that's just not the point of the movie. The way director chose to picturize it is really his vision. If you've seen Dirty Pretty Things then the rape/exploitation scenes in it are quite disturbing in their own right even though they are very brief and there is no nudity involved whatsoever.

HaaN, the killing of the guy was something. I don't know how they did it. I looked pretty realistic and free of camera tricks. That was something. The whole atmosphere and cinematagraphy was pretty dark and raw.

Overall I think it was alright. There is no entertainment value in the movie so I think most of the people will find it repulsive.

I’m quite surprised you thought it was ‘alright’ … I thought u’d either love it or hate it. As I mentioned earlier, I just loved the way the story was told … I believe that decent cinematography can make even the most ordinary film into an extraordinary one. The film pushed all boundaries and I guess that’s what i liked about it. I have no doubt that 20 years down the line, I’ll watch it again and not see anything special in it. But then that’s films for you.

Also, I think it’s one of those films that’s made for us high class film students (me), not lowly film audience masses (you) :snooty:

Now go watch house of sand and frog, while I check out your German porn.