So...............................................

yeah so…

so what if PTI loses elections miserably and say secure less than 30 seats in NA…

what will be the reaction of PTI leadership especially IK? are they going to accept it or will they blame it to dhandliee…

is IK going to start another movement right away…

and more importantly what will the reaction of PTI’s youth brigade? are they going to accept it or …?

The fact is that these elections will be largely fair…najam sethi has changed every government official in punjab, so we cant say that they were PMLN appointed folks…

remember this is probably IK’s last chance..he is 60+ plus he has given his best shot … so this will be it for him..hence a huge emotional barrier for him…is he going to accept such huge failure gracefully or will he mobilize youth against the new govt right away… because if he does that, it will be a disaster for PAK…

I am seeing an unfortunate writing on the wall for IK…and I am really worried for Pak…

Re: So...............................................

Are you sure about that ?

Still 1200 security officers with Ganja bros

Re: So…

I don’t think IK should leave politics if his party fails to win more than 20 or 30 seats (that is realistic), anything-else is just plain wishful thinking.

Balochis (Mengal effect) and Seraikis will vote for PML-N
Rural Sind for PPP
Urban Sind for MQM
NWFP for ANP & PTI (PTI’s best chance)
Central Punjab for PML-N, PPP & PTI - PML-N mostly
Southern Punjab for PPP

If the elections are deemed fair by most observers then IK should just accept the results gracefully & wait for the next one

There is no such thing as retirement age in politics. even 65 or 70 is not that old in politics. Hillary Clinton might become the next US President in 2016 at the age of 69!

Two things put many people off supporting IK.

• his association with JI
  • his rather naive view of Taliban and terrorism

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/pakistan-affairs/588450-time-s-aryn-baker-discusses-imran-khan-s-chances-of-becoming-pakistan-s-pm.html

I am afraid
If he looses
some thing like this
Imran Khan’s house attacked!!

If he loses there will be a lot of disappointment and some people might become indifferent to Pakistans plight.

maybe i was not clear in my post…i never said he shd retire…i was just worried abt his and his supporters reaction to a big defeat…

he shd continue politics as he has brought so much positive momentum to Pakistani politics…but i do think that if he does not win big this time, it will be even tougher battle going forward … but u never know in politics…

pd bhai, your pessimism is surprising.. but then again you have been same in kk over the years.

Let me predict it here. If IK loses he will be an opposition leader nonetheless and he will NOT be friendly opposition like PMLN was. Its going to be a hung parliament with PTI in opposition. Even a strong opposition sometimes is beneficial for democracy :)

pessimisticdesi, i am afraid i have to agree with Sohaib

well i am entitled to my opinion... and on this issue, i do pray i am proved wrong

IK failure is not his failure so to speak but is a reflection of societal trends and behavioral pattern of this goddamn country...

again if he joins the opposition, that wud be the best thing for pak politics in given circumstances...no second opinion..i hope he accepts the verdict if he loses the election..that is all i am saying....we cant afford more division, more confrontation and i am little worried given emotional behavior of PTI supporters...I am sure IK will show immense leadership if and when situation would demand...

there you go...you are a real passionate PTI supporter and just look a your emoticon....that is it man...that is what worrying me most....

Why? It is not a big deal, perhaps he would learn lesson of what went wrong. He will lose not because people don't like him but because lack of his vision and clear cut policies on key issues. Other reason is nirale ghunday and super permanent lotay. "hum to dhoobay hain sanam tumhain bhi le dhoobainge".

All things equal, I still prefer him over N$.

the match is not over until it is over...at this point, every analysis is just a prediction ...

... now guppies can call me pessimistic but they will attest that i have been saying the same stuff for a very ling time...i never changed my viewpoint even when imran was at its peak of its popularity....

that Imran will lose coz of very same masses on which he is relying....

that there is no proper judicial and police system in place in pak where these masses can get their issues sorted out and consequently masses rely on baradari system and on those candidates which can help them resolve their issues by hook or crook in courts, patwari khana and police station.......theu don't want people with character who will want to go by books

that masses are equally corrupt selfish, uneducated and short sighted within their limited area of influence as are privileged politicians...

that this societal trend and behavioral pattern is so pronounced that it is too early for khan to change it through a movement... but

.... we need democratic system to run..it will take generations and centuries for things to change but whenever they will change imran will always be remembered as a pioneer of that change....

Agreed :k:

PD, this one is dedicated to you.
"Na ho naumeed"

Its Iqbal's

***Auqabi Rooh Jab Baidar Hoti Hai Jawanon Mein
Nazar Ati Hai Iss Ko Apni Manzil Asmanon Mein

Na Ho Naumeed, Naumeedi Zawal-e-Ilm-o-Irfan Hai
Umeed-e-Mard-e-Momin Hai Khuda Ke Raazdanon Mein

Nahin Tera Nasheman Qasr-e-Sultani Ke Gunbad Par
Tu Shaheen Hai, Basera Kar Paharon Ki Chatanon Mein***

It's evident that some elements within the statusquo don't want imran khan in power. For them the musical chair going on in the country is important for their survival. Having said this, imran khan is not the opposition but acted as one. During the past 18 months (after 30 October) punjab government was forced to carry out development projects in the province on a big way, importance of youth increased manifolds . Big difference can be observed in Lahore pre and post 30 October. PTI has carried out elections (with all the faults) in the party.

On the other hand we had an opposition (officially in the shape of PMLN) for five years but they couldn't force PPP to do anything. Maybe that's what friendly opposition is.

I am sure even in opposition PTI would be a worthy opponent.

Chullo kufar Totta khuda khuda karkay - now PTI supporters are talking sense - as from making the clean sweep, now they are settling on being a worthy opposition :)

We are not crybabies like Jiyalas and Noonies!

But still I am optimistic that Kaptaan will win it

Insha Allah

:ik:

How do we know that Noon League will win and PTI will perish? Do we have a divine revelation?

We know it because we are told so. Anchors, columnists and surveys tell us day and night that Noon League has actually arrived and elections are mere formalities.

They say so because it's all about electables we so hate. The electables for which we lampoon the PTI sometimes for having them and sometimes for not having them. They see the biggest concentration of electables and declare the point the Mecca of all electoral success. Electable rush.

How do you attract electables and establish their biggest camp in a single place? You tell them that you are coming into power by propaganda (lefafa). They hear it on TV and become yours. TV sees them in your lap and tells you are the man of the moment. More hear it and come towards you. TV goes hyper about your success and says the contest is over even before its start.

For other parties, thank you very much for your interest, better luck next time (read never).

Imran has been asked this question countless times, and based on his response, Nawaz Sharif has also started talking sense in his interviews, rather than yip yap about a 2/3rd majority all the time.
Imran has always said that fair or not, we will contest the elections. Fair or not, we will accept the results....and will sit in the opposition, and do our job as a strong opposition party. Rigging is something you cannot take out of Pakistani elections, so it will always be there in some way, shape or form, but yes, this time around, it will be hopefully at an all time low....so whatever the results are, they will be accepted.

As for Imran's age, he has already said that he will be PTI chairman for a max 2 terms, which means that he will not be the PTI chairman once he is 68. I expect him to leave politics at that point as well, and support the party as a worker/fundraiser.

That said, PTI will form a govt only if it gets an absolute majority. But PML-N and PPP are more than willing to sit with any tom dick and harry to form a govt. And I dont think any such govt will last for 5 years this time around. Chaudhry Shujaat is seemingly dumb, but he makes very wise statements at times. He said the other day that we might have 5 govts in the next 5 years!

I think, we are ignoring one important factor here. That is the possibility of PTI forming KPK provincial government. In my opinion, even if PTI does not get enough seats to form Federal government, it is (highly) probable that they will form the next KPK provincial government. So even a loss at Federal level will not be a complete disappointment for IK or his followers. He can still have a platform in KPK to launch his policies. And one must remember that after the 18th amendment, provincial governments are more autonomous.