So why has my dua not been answered?

Came across this uplifting article and thought i’d share it!

Tawakkul (Reliance on Allah)

I used to think that tawakkul was just making dua for good to happen in your life and expecting good to happen with certainty (no matter how uncertain the situation may be). I realize now that tawakkul is also a belief in the Grand Plan of Allah (subhanahu wa ta’ala) and that, in the worst times of your life when you think you have been abandoned, when you are tested, tawakkul is to also believe there is good in the test that you are going through…and even that test is a mercy of Allah (subhanahu wa ta’ala). Remember Allah (subhanahu wa ta’ala) loves you more than your mother does and, although you cannot imagine doing this, one day you will thank Him for giving you that test because through it you gained so many blessings.

“And Allah is predominant over His affair, but most of the people do not know.” Qur’an(12:20)

Allah (subhanahu wa ta’ala) mentions this ayat to us in Surah Yusuf after Yusuf (‘alayhisalaam) is thrown down a well by his own brothers, separated from his beloved father by their envy and sold as a slave, and this is BEFORE the test of the women and prison…why? Whereas the majority of people when placed in difficult times would lose hope in the mercy of Allah (subhanahu wa ta’ala) and despair and give up on making du’a we musn’t be fooled by the difficult times in our life – that things may get worse and continue to, but we have to remember Allah (subhanahu wa ta’ala) is completely in control of our affairs and that with this difficulty there is some ultimate benefit for us both on the day of Judgement and also in this world.

***“…and it may be that you dislike a thing which is good for you and that you like a thing which is bad for you. Allah knows but you do not know.” (2:216)

Read the full article HERE](Tawakkul (Reliance on Allah) - MuslimMatters.org) to find out how Allah helped the companion of our Holy Prophet (may peace be upon him) went she lost her loved one.

Re: So why has my dua not been answered?

Jazakallah.

One reason of acceptance of any dua is out halaal income. Rest it depends on Allah SWT either He accept dua, kept it for near future or reject it.

Jazak Allah

Thanks for sharing BA :k:

JazakAllah Khair :)

dua also shape your intellect, if you look back at your life and see at what stage what were you praying for, you can tell what you were at that point. :)

i read it some where "tum puchta ho k tumhari dua usi waqt suni q nahi jati, shukar karo tmhari duao ki saza usi waqt nahi milti" ..

there are lots of factors involved. I believe most of the things might have been discussed in the article which i haven't read. But once i read it somewhere, apnay liye kuch mangna hai to us zubaan say mango jis say tm nay koi gunah na kiya ho .. .. is liye apni maan, baap, bhai, behan, beta, beti say dua karwao apnay liye .. and it makes sense to me :)

how true!!

as for the second part..ive heard it somewhere but i don't think it's true. Phir tau koyi dua hi nahi mangey since we all are gunaahgaar :(

these are just quote. I am not saying these are hadeets or something :).

[2:216] It may be that you dislike a thing while it is good for you, and it may be that you love a thing while it is evil for you, and Allah knows, while you do not know.

Othman Ibne Saeed says a man came to Imam Sadeq (A.S.) saying: There are two Quranic verses which I have not comprehended properly. Imam Sadeq (A.S.) said: What are those verses? He said: them first one is this: "Call Me, I will answer you", for although we offer our Duas but there is no answer.

Imam Sadeq said: Do you think God breaks His promise? He said: No.
Imam Sadeq (A.S.) said: So why are our Duas not answered? He said: I do not know.

Imam Sadeq said: But I will tell you why.

" Whoever obeys God's order and offers his "Dua" properly, they will be answered. I said: How should I pray? The Imam said: First praise Allah Almighty, then remember Him and thank Him for His blessings. After that , send greetings to the Holy Prophet and his progeny, then confess your sins and ask forgiveness for them. That is the right way for "Dua".

Then, Imam Sadeq (A.S.) was asked about the second verse which the man had not comprehended:

"And whatever thing you spend, He exceedeth it in reward, and He is the best of sustainers." Saba, verse 39

Imam Sadeq (A.S.) said: Do you think Allah breaks His promise? I said: No. The Imam said: Why does He not give reward then? I said: I do not know.

The Imam said: if a person gains something lawfully, and he spends it in the right way, he will certainly receive its reward even if he spends a Dirham.

It is impossible that a person begs something from Allah, which is advisable and Allah does not grant it. Therefore a supplicant should always pray in this way: O Lord, fulfill my desire if it is in my interest. If delay in fulfilling a wish is advisable, then Allah will delay it. Allah Himself says:

"And if Allah should hasten the evil to men as they desire the hastening on of good, their doom should certainly have been decreed for them." Yunus, 11

Dil key gahraeon say niklli hoi dua foran say paishtar qabool hoti hay :cobra:

array i know. I expressed my own views too :slight_smile:

yes you are right. Something about that particular dua that when prayed so earnestly…you just know that iA that prayer is going to be answered. This is exactly why Allah has asked us that when we ask Him for something, pray earnestly, with certainty that your dua will be answered and then leave the results upto Him :slight_smile: