so why do women stuff money in their shilwars?

is it becuz they don’t have pockets?

shalwar?

I've heard of the kameez but where in the shalwar would you put money! !

The GuPPeR ForMallY KnowN as MadaM MariA

The nefa of their shalwar and ‘another strategic place’ are used by women to secure money not because of lack of pockets, but for security.

Even the boldest of robbers is unlikely to readch for a woman’s shalwar in order to take money from her. Hes very likely to get killed for doing that more than the robbery itself

Im sure the resident consultant, NYA has more to say on this

hehe..this is very hi funny...
yeah they do keep their money in their shalwarz..some have pocketz..with zip so that itz more secure..and definately a robber won't try to go there...akhir unmein bhi thori bohut sherm-o-hayya hai...

and then..whenever a woman carry lotza cash she'll prefer to store it there rather than putting it in her purse..u know these new-age guyz..how they come on motercyclez aur cheen ker layjatay hein purse..ab in case of shalwar-safe..they can't life the aunty can they?...

Whatever limits us we call fate!
Whatever we can't change we call destiny!

hahahahah

this reminds me of the stories my mom used to tell us about the naukrani that came to my grandparents house. one day she was caught stealing rotis (yes ROTIS) in her shalwar.

who would want to eat them after that ?

that was just 1 of the things she stole

-mehndi

Even the boldest of robbers is unlikely to readch for a woman's shalwar in order to take money from her.

but it still is risky!!!
hey u never know....

hain? never seen any woman doing this

As Akif and Naik pointed out, it is basically for security purposes. But, we need to look deeper into why such is the case. Before we do that, let me also mention another place where women in Punjab keep their money – Bra. I had a name for that when I was little. When my Ami would tell me that she does not have any money to give me - I would demand her to show me Habib Bank.

So, I think it is pretty ingenious that our women have discovered nooks to hide mola that is pretty safe and secure. You hear about Women whose purses and handbags are snatched everyday. They should learn from Punjabi women to keep their valuables in more secure places. I agree that gadgets like cell phones and makeup stuff cannot be kept inside Shalwar, but if one spends some time thinking, one can come up with some genius solutions to these needs.

I think, no matter how you look at it. I would say that ours are the most genius women in the world. Not only the hidden stash comes in handy at times of emergencies, it also encourages savings which are critical to financial liberty for family sustenance.

I know about the kameez i.e bra but shalwar? Hmm..I guess that happens too. It's all for security purpose ofcourse. I mean, aur kya reason ho sakta hai.

mehndi ewwwwwwwwwwwww!!!

Who says nothing is impossible? I've been doing nothing all my life!

exactly

tohray dinoh main modern naukranis will start stealing portable lap tops in their shalwars with a secret zipper pocket in the front (in the naifa).

-mehndi

I am trying to decide what is more depressing…The act(that of stealing few rotis) itself or the response to that.

But then again, for the luchays, lafangays like NYA, all the more motivation for mugging.

hahaha,

actually i did c afew ppl in pakistan do this, well it’s not their shalwar they put the moneyin ,
they have this kinda t-shirt underneath there kameez and they ave pocket sewn on to it. so wen it looks as though they r puttin money in there salwar they actually be puttin it in there t-shirt pocket underneath their kamez. but maybe some ppl do put it in there salway neva heard of it b4

hain??shalwar main money??kaisay kaha??lakin NAIFA bhi tou chouta saa houta hay

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

mahndi lol

Dopey I understand that it’s depressing to see someone stealing a few rotis. It makes us realize how privliged we are

I’m really sorry if my response came off as insensitive, but that was at the hyegine aspect, nothing else.

Who says nothing is impossible? I’ve been doing nothing all my life!

Women in all parts of the world have ingenious places for hiding or keeping money and keys. In Bengal the end of the sari is used - with a Bengali style sari the pallu counter balances well with the weight of keys. In some parts of India (Gujrat for example) silver key chains with hooks that fit into the waist band are used. And a lot of women do make pockets in their clothes (in strange places) or pouches that they hide on their bodies....

Ditto..

we just dont treat our servants well in general…

..what do we know about the condition of someone who tries to steal some bread.

I am sorry this says more to me about the employers than the employee.