So who pays for all this?

Apparently Musharraf paid millions of dollars to attorneys, not just in Pakistan but outside of Pakistan. A large portion went to the lawyers persuing corruption/money laundering cases against Zardari (Mr. 10%). Now in the end we all know, that in a desperate bid to save his kursi he let go of the cases and pardoned Zardari.

So much of the nation’s money was wasted on this bakwas. Wouldnt it be fair to auction off Musharrafs lavish farmhouse in Islamabad to help pay for some of these fees? It would be only fair, consdering Musharraf acquired that farmhouse illegally in the first place. What do you guys think? Asif Zardari after so many years of charges, comes out clean and gets his unfrozen money of 60m back thanks to Musharraf. Its about time we make these snakes pay by selling their properties etc.

Re: So who pays for all this?

would you take legal, or extra-legal measures for it spock? if its the former, I am pretty sure it is nearly impossible. if the latter, why stop at extra-legal but justifiable penalties against Mush, why not those 60million zardari got back, not to mention assorted cases against nawaz baradaran

Most of the expenses pursuing Zardari and BeNazir corruption cases happened during Nawaz rule 1997-1999.

^ Sure, I would love to get those 60million USD back ravage (even though thats a fraction of what he looted), but think about this:

I pay you 30millon to get that money back. You spend all that, and in the end, after a decade, you tell me youre not getting it back, and zardari keeps his 60million, with no problems because you worked out some sort of deal with him. Mujhe zyada ghussa kis par aye ga? I hope you now get the point of this thread, as not mentioning the other things you talk about it doesnt mean im not interested in getting all that back.

Please lets see your amazing facts and figures again Saleem Bhai :) Just keep it a little short and then I'll post up how much money was spent from 1999-present. Also, since your beloved dictator was the one who let go of those cases, the money spent from 97-99 to pursue the case went to waste because of HIM! Im not against paying lawyers, but this topi drama Musharraf did, the NRO etc, thats whats pisses me off, sara paisa gya paani mey, including what Zardari took off with.

wouldnt the simpler thing be to advocate for the striking down of that deal and utilize the output of the 30m

^ how would that work in the present scenario? How do you propose the NRO can be repealed, where the one that granted it is about to run away from the country, and the benefactor is about to replace him as the president of the country.

So no government should pay for legal cases unless it is 100% sure of success?

It's going to be very hard to prove that the cases were dropped for political reasons (though that's probably what happened). Given that charges against Zardari in Pakistan itself didn't really stick, anyone defending spending $60 million abroad can say that they kept paying for the case until it seemed that charges abroad would fail just as they did in Pakistan. They could also argue that it was in taxpayer's interests to pursue charges as far as possible against allegedly corrupt politicians whereever their crimes occured.

Most work was done by Nawaz and his goons. Musharraf was pursuing cases on evidences collected by Nawaz and his goons. Unfortunately, when Nawaz signed Messaq-e-Jamhuriayat ... he decaled that all cases were victimisation (in other words, he and his team were liars). Once, those who started the cases declared the cases bogus, there was very little government could have done. Since there were no concrete evidences, no one can blame anyone if cases died its life after 10 years of prosecution.

Anyhow, what surprises me is that when talking about NRO, we only talk about Zardari, but we forget how much Nawaz got away with. The differences between what Zardari stole of Pakistan is no different than what Nawaz stole. As far as I am concerned, all who looted, plundered, lied in politics, misguided masses, promised to masses without intention of delivering, did nepotism, abused government posts, and took rushwat in their life (as government servant), all go to hell InshaAllah (that is my sincere dua from Allah).

No need to come up with silly theories. It was Musharraf that issued the NRO, pardoned Zardari, not Ganja Thug. I am also waiting for your facts and figures. Please no long off topic posts, just facts and figures to back up what you stated, i.e. more money being spent in 1997-1999 to pursue cases against Zardari as opposed to 1999-2006.

Also, NRO only applies to Zardari, and some MQM criminals, not ganja thug.

Maybe you should add the people who come up with proposals to make Zardari president as well.

Do you honestly and sincerely believe that corruption charges would've been filed against Zardari by Benazir's govts in 90s if he was "not innocent"? What are you trying to say here?

I'm really interested in knowing the facts and figures of the expenditure in two eras.

Does someone have the exact figures of poverty level %age before 1999 and after 2007?

^ stats have been pasted on this forum before, you can use search engine to find out.

likewise why would the beneficiary of NRO prosecute someone for making a case against him then dropping it. in the short term nobody will want to draw attention to those 60M dollars or the 30M spent chasing it.