Now that he has played some Twenty20 games already, what do you guys think of him? How does he bowl LnL/speed, variety etc? Please no discussion on bowling action, I am tired of that ![]()
Re: So who is Sohail Tanvir?
he is being successful because he keeps the batsmen surprised with delivering the ball of wrong foot.
Speed: basically 80-84 MPH, not bad can always get better.
LnL: Slightly outside Right handed's off stump, angles across batsmen, length is quite correct for new bowler, slightly short i think but batsmen have not be able to capitilze on (slightly)shortness of bowling coz right now they are trying to figure out his action too much....and are preoccupied with that....
Variety: Not much from what i saw, doonoo if he uses Slow ball or changes length very often....when he went around the wicket in game against SL...surprised batsmen a bit but i think will be lollypop bowler from around the wicket for batsmen as soon as they get over his action...and wait for him to pitch the ball up in attempt to get batsmen out as that will be the only way for him to geta wicket as by bowling around the wicket, with his action, it will bevery hard(nearly impossible) for him to get the ball to move across the batsmen.
What he needs: needs to develop in-Cutter like Pathan and Vaas....obviously needs to learn reverse swing, but with his action, i dont see him being able to generate reverse........BUT on bright side, if he does get any amount of reverse...that will be lethal....even more than Shoaib akhter's...coz his action is just way too strange one to expect reverse from.
If he helps Pak to T20, i ll be glad....but do not expect this guy in Pak, reversing the ball, gaining pace or developing in cutters like wasim or even Irfan...thats just the reality but i will be glad if he proves me wrong
Mushtaq Ahmed on steroids.
i'm very excited about the fast bowlers pakistan is turning out: tanvir, asif, anwar ali khan, gul, najaf shah, etc.
we can finally say g'bye to akhter.
even the commentators said pakistan's bowling production is remiscent of west indies in the seventies and eighties.
^ He has a good slower delivery..thats how he got Hussey out today. He can also swing the ball both ways. He was swinging the ball in to Gilchrist before getting one to swing away which got him his wicket.
A very promising bowler...a little more coaching and he'll be awesome...and supposedly he can bat well too as he has 2 100's in domestic cricket.
tirchee bowl karata hai and footstep sab kuch ulta hai, is liye batsmen khel nahi paatay, aur bowl tirchi beech mai say guzarti hai, uska angle bohat hi wehshi hai.
Very hi nice tay changa bowler.
Thank you all for your views on him.
BTW, does anyone know how he emerged/got-picked? Was he in "probables" list for previous tournaments/competitions? I don't recall reading his name in any other 'probables' list or his performance in A-team.
Twenty20 is no place to judge a batsman or a bowler.
So Kaptaan saab...hold your horses.
Twenty20 is no place to judge a batsman or a bowler. So Kaptaan saab...hold your horses.
you jealous aadmi, 20 20 is not the arena for 'reliably' assessing a batsman or a bowler, BUT the format provides a very useful opportunity for sorting out the upcoming prospects, which Tanveer is for us. So go kiss Agarkar while we talk about Tanwir some more :D
Twenty20 is no place to judge a batsman or a bowler. So Kaptaan saab...hold your horses.
I agree about the 'batsman' part, but if a bowler can shine in Twenty20 (which is supposedly a batsmen friendly format) then chances are that he will perform good in longer formats as well. By this thread I mainly wanted to know his specialty whether it was speed only (Sami like), speed+variety, swing etc, I am not going to label/judge as "great" bowler using this tournament alone if that is what you mean :)
lthe guy who will end shoaib
First of all he swings the ball both ways, secondly he posses more variety than Umar Gul if thats any indication of his talent. He has surprised batsman with his action no doubt but he has also surprised them with moving the ball both ways, variation of pace, yorkers as well as a surprise bouncer. He does posses a slower ball but more than that he varies his pace constantly. From early 70's to mid 80's all the way throughout the over so never really lets the batsman settle.
He line and length to right handers is just about perfect but to lefties he balls a touch too full. He yorked Jaysuria yesterday he did the same to Hayden with his first ball today except Hayden dug it out well. Gilchrist punished him for over pitched stuff and the ball that Gilchrist got out on was pitched slightly short than his usual length to south paws.
He creates a difficult angle for the right handed batsman and bowls on this annoying length where batsman are double minded about coming forward or staying back.
I am surprised many people think he does not look like a bowler of test standards but might do well in ODI's. If we get over the obsession with raw pace a bowler bowling in the mid 80's is very common. Not every country has bowler touching mid 90's and they do just fine. He has an awkward action, he moves the ball well and why wouldnt he be able to reverse as some suggest is beyond me. Ofcourse we've only seen him bowl in the T-20 where ball is fairly new till even the end of innings. HOpefully he will get a chance in the coming ODI series agaisnt India and prove his talent.
In his very brief first class career apart from bowling well he also has a century to his name so he could be handy in the lower order as well.
i heard akram trained him
He line and length to right handers is just about perfect but to lefties he balls a touch too full. He yorked Jaysuria yesterday he did the same to Hayden with his first ball today except Hayden dug it out well. Gilchrist punished him for over pitched stuff and the ball that Gilchrist got out on was pitched slightly short than his usual length to south paws.
I totaly agree...for instance in today's match against the Aussies, Ponting had very hard time picking his length. The other good thing is that with pace he generate on a bouncy pitch it will be even hard to play him. I think his pace is just about right and he SHOULD NOT AND MUST NOT concentrate on the pace instead he should work more on the inswinger. I believe he has vareity and has a very good slow ball if he could just work on the inswinger with the same pace he will be leathel. InshAllah.
On top of that the way he blended in the international tournament shows the guy is not afraid and also not afraid of trying out his varities he posses.
O yeah he needs to work on his fielding too (Jaysurya's catch was a smiple catch but he made it a sitter).
i heard akram trained him
link?
any video links to his bowling in 20/20 .....
I was very impressed with him. If you are a debutant and not getting hitting all over the park then that itself speak volume about you. He creates awsome angle and can swing the ball both ways. Awakward action is just another advantage. I think he has what it takes to be at this level. He ,Asif and Umar will create an awsome attack.
One thing he has going for him is his height. Commentators were saying he's taller than Wasim Akram, and Akram is 6'4''.
Also, how come everybody thinkgs he bowls off the wrong foot? Sure his action is a little different, but for a left hander, the right foot should be the leading foot on the ground at the time of delivery, and that's what he has.
Now that he has played some Twenty20 games already, what do you guys think of him? How does he bowl LnL/speed, variety etc? Please no discussion on bowling action, I am tired of that :D
Sohail Tanvir has reasonable but not immaculate bowling performance in first class cricket but has plenty of potential. Nevertheless, he is a good all rounder. I think that his batting performance as all rounder is better than his bowling performance. One should not see him as just a fast bowler in Pakistani long line-up of fast bowlers, but should see him as a future replacement for Abdul Razzak. Sohail is only 22 and has long way to go. I hope that he does not burn out with time or nepotism and Safarish does not cause Pakistan cricket to lose him.