So where will this lead to?

The army operation is underway and the Taliban criminal elements are being eliminated. Where do you see Pakistan 2 years from now? Will these criminals run away in the mountains and start a guerrilla war? Or they may cross over to Afghanistan where 50 % area is already under Taliban control.

1.2 million are displaced and they are all Pashtoons. Will that lead to alienation amongst Pashtoons?

The main question is, till when will the war continue and how many taliban, civilians and army jawans will die?

Will Pakistan emerge stronger after this? and lest we forget the rebellion in Baluchistan, will that be quelled?

At this moment things do not seem to be leading anywhere.

Re: So where will this lead to?

Allah knows best. All we can do is fight the takfiri savages who have made life hell for the people of sarhad.

this fight will continue for 20 years unless we stop the supply of money,weapons,trained militants from afghanistan and have a good sincere clever administration..
civilians will die in huge number in mangora..people should be ready for last battle..
army need to clear bunner,dir areas as quickly as possible so tht swat refugees can be handled with bit more ease

Buner is still not cleared, even areas claimed to have been cleared. Not sure where Dir stands. Swat situation is obvious.

yes u r rite..although army has launched a final assault on last remaining strongholds of taliban in bunner..i hope they will clear bunner with in 2 days..dir area is now almost under control...swat will take more then a month for sure..thts y i believe tht bunner and dir must be clear quickly so swat people can be managed with ease..the biggest problem is mines and also local population there..

by the way lansing,if pak emergers(inshallah) from this crisis,pak will be strong as ever..our army will have a definite advantage over indian army in terms of fighting skill,mental and physical toughness etc

Very thoughtful questions.

However please avoid quoting LARGE numbers like 12 million. Total population of the Frontier is around 35 million. And the army is conducting peacekeeping ops only in few areas. So close to half of the Frontier population cannot be displaced.

Perhaps you wanted to say 12 lakh that translate into 1.2 million (10 times less than what you said).

Yes....1.2 million . Thanks for the correction.

Can mods fix the original post.

pata nahi, no idea abotu where the taliban will take their next refuge or how we will deal with that. unfortunately i somehow dont see great reform taking place in these areas that are being wrestled away from taliban. in the end many people will be displaced, army men will lay their lives and the stupid morons who rule us will let it all slide.

I'll remain optimistic here. This year seems to be a very promising one for Pakistan and for the better, of course. We've had judiciary restored. We have a strong national and political consensus against the taliban menace and a strong military operation against them and they will be defeated very soon, Insha'Allah. The wheel has started to turn.

I dont know where I see the country in two years but I'll tell you this, no matter how screwed up zardari is, we need him and his party to survive their tenure, so we can have a proper democratic election which doesn't result due to sacking of a certain party in power. Only then can the winning party be strong and true representatives of the people. From there I see progress. From there I see the democratic process prospering in Pakistan. I'm quiet optimistic that we'll see that happening in the next 5-10 years.