So whats the difference?

This is about cases like Raymond Davis (by current gov.) and handing over of criminals to America by the dictator.

In dictatorship: the deals are done in the background and there is no shor sharaba about something the gov. can’t do and the deed is done no matter what.

Compare that to the dakoo democracy: a lot of bakwas on TV for months. Politicians making tall claims of preserving Pakistan’s ghairat and independence. In the end, the criminal is freed against the wishes of 99% of the people. A lot of humiliation.

I’m confused, what works for Pakistan? :chai:

Re: So whats the difference?

There is no difference, it's a sham democracy. Unless people learn to vote, the status quo won't change. Pakistan...forever a dictatorship at the hands of the army, PML and PPP.

I can share this with you.
Army, ISI, Punjab CM played the main role

^ you missed this line

It is worth mentioning that President Zardari and an important and powerful federal minister did their best to get Davis free but their efforts were thwarted by the Punjab government. This was appreciated by the media. However, informed sources told this scribe that the American officials knew who played what role and were thankful to Shahbaz Sharif for his services

Criminals/dacoos handing over in any govt is ‘possible’ but its probably ‘innocents’ handing over where it is different, you see :chai: Though this is sham(e) democracy but this will be foundation for truer democracy in future :insh:

I agree with you.

Democracy, are you out of your senses or what. Affected parties compromised after getting tons of money, judge issued the release orders what this has to do with "dakoo democracy". Anyhow judge never listened to your so called "dakoo democracy" when earlier it tried. Why don't you ask the heirs of killed people why they have accepted the 'blood money' of Rs. 19 crores? This is how JI and its co-harts distorted the crucial events sicne partition.

He was released with the approval of army chief and ISI which I have predicted much earlier. How can army ignore $2billions aid and huge payments on war against terror? Think logically before you rant here.

I think they have cut a deal regarding National Security :)

With dear Kiyani calling the shots, we might never even have a dakoo democracy.

I guess the PPP failed Benazir after all. Well done PPP.

After benazir? :hehe:

Like peas in a pod. All political grandstanding and no REAL substance. :chai:

They could do squat if relatives would not have accepted the offer. Were they pressured/threatened to accept the offer and who was involved and what government (central and provincial ) did to protect them? - we would never know.

Would these relatives not be riled if they did accept cash & green cards for forgiving RD?

Careful, that comes close to criticizing the Islamic concept of blood money. Forgiveness for a murderer is up to the family in Islam. The wishes of the society within which the murder occurs is irrelevent.

espionage is not crime? :hmmm:

He was not charged with espionage. Given that the far more serious charge of murder was laid against him, one can only conclude that solid (as opposed to circumstancial) evidence of his CIA involvement did not exist. Media reports and claims do not qualify as proof in a Pakistani court, nor in any fair court anywhere in the world.

It may have come down to willingness (or lack thereof) to file a report against his espionage activities as it was clear from many reports that there were evidences gathered by police i.e. photos of sensitive sites, contacts with TTP etc.