So what's the Big Deal about PM...

Us Salaam O Alaikum,

When I say this, its means, I am speaking on behalf of everyone here on GS and specially those who have suffered from PM Space Deficiency Syndrome. Before I go ahead with my request please answer the following questions:

1. How big a PM could be?

2. How many PMs I can receive?

3. Are they space limited? If so then what’s the limit?

4. Is it possible the signatures be removed by default from PMs?

5. By removing the signatures, is it going to make any difference?

5a) By saving an outgoing PM, is it going to decrease the space for my incoming PMs?

1. What’s in the PMs that take most of the space, beside text?

2. Why users are not informed via ALERT message if their mailbox is full?

3. Why can’t I forward my PMs to my Pop/SMTP mail account?

4. Why not provide a user-friendly link to save the PMs on local drive?

5. Are we allowed going on strike? :smiley:

6. Tell me do I need to make a formal request to increase the space?

10) Are we allowed going on strike?

No, cuz if you do we'll fire you. Rest of the Q will be answered by Admin.

*Originally posted by sabah: *

Sabah baji I need some help in my thread.....that Mod Ghost is hunting me all the way...another deleted thread with no ID left behind.

Ali, I've seen it so I'm sure you'll get some explaination. Else I'll get it for you :)

Aur haaN zara apna Sign tau chota kareiN, max three lines please :)

Sabah baji phir uska maza nahi aye ga.....plz plz

It means I better call Fire Department 1st... :D

Thanks for your Dhumkee :) I'll keep in mind

I think it's the space... which seems to be extremely tiny... like 10KB or something...

I don't think there's a mod for vbulletin that allows for PMs to be forward or exported to local drives.

Just increase it Admin... charge us if that's the problem... ;)

Re: So what's the Big Deal about PM...

1) How big a PM could be?

I dont know

2) How many PMs I can receive?

3) Are they space limited? If so then what's the limit?

Gupshup posts are size limited too.

4) Is it possible the signatures be removed by default from PMs?

I think you can in the profile, will have to see.

5) By removing the signatures, is it going to make any difference?

No that was a problem with previous version only

5a) By saving an outgoing PM, is it going to decrease the space for my incoming PMs?

yes, i think so

6) What's in the PMs that take most of the space, beside text?

nothing

7) Why users are not informed via ALERT message if their mailbox is full?

I think you are sent a PM when a msg bounces. which then can trigger an email

8) Why can't I forward my PMs to my Pop/SMTP mail account?

Can be done, but thats thats your email addess is for. You can get a message notification though.

9) Why not provide a user-friendly link to save the PMs on local drive?

Can be done but will require modifications*.

These are good ideas. Maybe we can work on some of them soon.

Re: Re: So what's the Big Deal about PM...

*Originally posted by who---me: *
These are good ideas. Maybe we can work on some of them soon.

Wehmi, Sorry Who---Me, ;)

Thanks for replying back, the 30 messages limit is not true atleast in my case as I can only have 16 messages in my inbox and after that no can send me anything, altough I have only two messages in my other folders.

I know my ideas are good, but still I am looking to hear from Mr. & Mrs. Admin

Thanks again!

S2U :D

Re: Re: Re: So what's the Big Deal about PM...

*Originally posted by salman_2you: *

chalo...main avein apna tame waste kita?

Re: Re: Re: So what's the Big Deal about PM...

Thanks for replying back, the 30 messages limit is not true atleast in my case as I can only have 16 messages in my inbox and after that no can send me anything, altough I have only two messages in my other folders.

The limit of 30 includes Inbox, and Sent Items (in case you are saving them as well) in addition to all other folders. If what you are saying is true, that is indeed weird. Check all your folders and add up the messages. Delivery of new PM's is only stopped once you have 30 PM's in your mailbox (all folders)

For all technical matters, who---me's response is considered administration response. Thanks.

Re: Re: Re: Re: So what's the Big Deal about PM...

*Originally posted by Admin: *

Members PM Inbox (12-09-2002 until 12-10-2002)

All members who use the PM (Private Message) facility are advised to monitor the number of PM's stored in their mail box.

A review of PM statistics has revealed that a number of members have 30 messages stored, which means they can not receive any further PM. In addition a significant number of members have 27 or more messages stored.

The system sends out an email to inform the members when their mailboxes are full and unable to accept more messages. It will help you to monitor this in a more proactive manner.

Thanks

If the mail box is full it means there must be a cushion to receive at least an alert message? Am I right? If I am then how cum when I exceeded the limit, didn't get anything?!?!?!

Nope. If your PM mailbox is full, you won't get a cushion there for an alert, rather an EMAIL is sent to your email address informing you that your PM mailbox is full and someone tried to send you a message.

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Nope. If your PM mailbox is full, you won't get a cushion there for an alert, rather an EMAIL is sent to your email address informing you that your PM mailbox is full and someone tried to send you a message.

Thanks Faisal, In other words do you have to open a thread to inform that person? if there are no other meanings of communication...

Yes. Or if they have activated "Display Email" in their profile, then you can send them an email, by clicking their "Profile"