So tired of my many many styles

I wish my life was simpler like the old woman living across from me. She has 3 or 4 track suits and some summer t- shirts and shorts. and she seems quite content and looks pretty good too.. Here we go on my side - I suffer with having way too many dressing styles. Such as :

• So to begin with** casual desi style** for causal get togethers with my desi friends such a nice lawn suit if summer - semi formal if winters or milads
  • Now there is a** formal desi style** which i have to keep inventory for which God knows is like breaking the bank…
  • A daily wear ghar main or grocery wear like jeans and a wierd top yes a wierd top like a small knee length dress
  • Some going out with cooler** friends** which is like my designer wear yes my most fav
  • Now going out with** relegious / conservative **friends which adds a scarf with western (modest) stuff
  • Oh going to susral style like desi but not expensive at all :stuck_out_tongue:
  • No Not done yet how abt work / interviews wear which i m getting into now so…
  • then there is a few pieces of extremely formal desi wear which never get a chance

These all have winter / summer versions… Not fun.. it simply way too much to handle and on top of that I am getting into hijab.. what a struggle. what goes with what… it is impossible to get it all together -
I wish I was all American jeans and Tshirt person and had like a little black dress thats all…

Re: So tired of my many many styles

I feel your pain! My closet is a very confusing fashion statement.

We only have one season here and my wardrobe is mainly lawn clothes, but i don't know how i've ended up with 3 suitcases of clothes i hardly wear under my bed. Waiting to go to Pak to take them back and give them to the needy

I have a walk in closet full of clothes and still at times I stand in the middle of it thinking I have nothing to wear. :(

^ same here sajalina, same here :( (minus the walkin closet)

hin33, i know exactly what you mean. you need casual western wear, formal western wear, casual desi clothes, fancy desi clothes, and then there are varying degrees of casual/fancy in desi clothes (like you said...house vs davats vs fancy davats/weddings) and of course matching accessories. :(

as annoying as it sounds though, I love having options. Ive never wished or wanted to be simple.

i understand the options and fun factor and all.. but doesn’t it get a little out of hands at times… like right now i decided to clean out my current western clothes closet with the desi out of style semi formals and …it is a mountain of clothes in here… half the times i can’t find stuff… not having the luxuries like sajalina of walkins and all :bummer:

yes muslimah.. i never NEVER find the right stuff as far as a decent causal/ day wear top goes …

hin33 - Since summer is right around the corner please add Desi picnic wear with the casual list as well: lace and lawn that’s all I gotta say :smiley:

The story of our lives ladies…I am always looking for something to wear and have to be 100% satisfied wearing it, by the time I am finished there is a pile already on the floor

As for myself I can’t even try to simplify this ‘issue’ since desi lifestyle is so fast paced and active - there is always something happening and needed to wear! kya karein :bummer:

I hear ya! sighs…
i so have DONE the lawn ka jora at a desi picnic hahahaha soooo fazool

i also have this shoes heel issue - where i cant wear high heels with hubby :smack: should have checked before marrying him that he was wearing ‘be-tall’ in minutes inserts’ in his shoes.
so i have to have high heels.. mid heels and flats of the same color :double smack:

Yeh tou waqai kaffi ghambheer masla hai :rotfl: