so my parents are on my case.

according to my mom i shud’ve been married by now and apparently they have found a perfect guy for me. not that i mind arrange marriages, i am all for it. i know my parents will never settle for anything less than the best for me. it just seems so soon. i am 22 years old, half way through my degree. they promised to make sure that i will get to finish my studies. but i am to get married within 2 years.
the guy is very very educated and still studying, comes from a very good family and i am not even done with my undergrad yet.. i feel kinda intimidated by that fact… shud i feel that way?

no

Ok, seriously...you shouldn't feel that way. It's not like you've dropped out half way through your studies. You'll have a degree by the time you get married, if that's what you're worried about. Don't worry. :-)

Waqt kaa moonh zor ghoRa jub sar paTT dauR jaataa hay tau phir ehsaas hotaa hay... I will say your parents are right :-)

Im sure ur parents know whats best for u.. but do get to know the guy before shaadi...

do what ur parents are asking:~)

DONT make a decision yett…get to know him..meet him..and all that, and then decide..i remeber few months ago my mom went crazy over this surgeon :smack::rotfl:

I think its great that your parents may have found someone for you, but like others are suggesting, do speak with him on occassion to see what similarities you have, and do report to your parents if you feel uncomfortable with it at any time.

I know lots of ppl who marry during their uni time, I think its great. The older you get, it seems the less flexible you become for some reason, but not always the case.

You’re too funny!

I don't know if you should be upset...It actually depends on the guy your parents are planning to marry you off with. A lot of women in my family did family planning after marriage because they wanted to finish off their studies. Maybe you could do that too if he's open minded about it...Talk to the guy and see what he wants: a career minded woman or a housewife? Good luck! :)

Suroor,

As others have suggested, I think it would be a good idea if you (and your parents) actually met him first. He could turn out to be an idiot (despite his high level of education) or he could turn out to be a gem. You won’t know unless you give it a try.

Plus, your parents have said that they will allow you to finish your degree. I know you might be feeling a little afraid since there is always that chance that he sees you, falls madly in love with you and wants to marry you right away ( :stuck_out_tongue: ). If things do work out, just make it clear that you want to finish your degree.

:flower1:

You shouldn't, but do know that if you feel like this now, it might get worse later on(as in, after marriage) if things don't work out perfectly with this guy. All in all, congratz, at least go meet the guy. Have fun.

the guy is on the other side of the globe!

waisay i am not worried about him being a jerk, my parents know him, my whole khandaan dadiyaal to naniyaal knows him and his family. and my parents know what i want in a guy, n i totally trust their judgement blindly on this one :slight_smile: but thats not iam worried about .. i am more worried about my studies, my parents say i can study as much as i want ( which i plan to Inshallah) but wudnt it be hard to do so after marriage with all that responsibilities n all?
hai Allah i got only few years of freedom.. n i havent even smoked my first ciggy yet! :crying:

thanks for the advice though :flower1:
i guess i am just nervous.

You seem nervous to me. Don't be. You've got nothing to lose, but a new life to gain. :)

PS Meet me behind teh toolshed for all your druggin needs.

poor guy. for him this might be the end :p

*Originally posted by BabyGulabJaman: *
poor guy. for him this might be the end :p

*Originally posted by suroor_ca02: *
i am more worried about my studies, my parents say i can study as much as i want ( which i plan to Inshallah) but wudnt it be hard to do so after marriage with all that responsibilities n all?

Statistically, those who are married while doing their Masters are a lot more successful in completing it than those who are not. They tend to do better as well. So you have nothing to worry about. smile

dont worry abt a thing suroor esp. if u trust ure parents judgement u should go for it :k: :flower1:dont 4get to do istikhara

jaanu.. dont stress..

all my married female friends have studied after marriage… one of my best friends got married when she was 18… so straight after highschool… she has two girls under the age of 3… and shes in her last year of law… :slight_smile:

if she can do it.. anyone can :slight_smile: Inshallah u’ll be arrite…

p.s dont forget to invite me to the wedding… :wink:

Dekh larki if u like him say yes, if you don't just say no :D

Seriously if u think he is good enough just do it. Degrees we can get whenever we want. Good ppl may be once in a life time :p

suroor, if you want i can talk to your parents and explain to them that this is wrong