So its over and done

*Originally posted by saby: *
We need a firm appraoch in oneday internationals unlike this confused one. Do We need six bowlers?? If we do, stick with that for a whole series. If we dont need a sixth bowler, play with four specialist bowlers atleast so that they can make thier day. I think Razzaq's fall from being a dangerous oneday bowler to be a mediocre part timer has much to do with this confusion in pakistani ranks. When he was on fire with the ball, we used to play with five bowlers and stil get the team combination right.

---------x-----------
we need altleast 4 regular bowler so that they can throw down 10 overs a piece ( This is mandatory ICC rules ) 5th bowler in case you want to intrupt or give gap for regular bowlers like spell of 4 overs and 6 overs at death. etc etc. 6th bowler is important (some times) when 5th bowler is not ticking or needs a break through. and should also be able to bat...

Time for Miandad to take chullu bhar paani and doob ke mar ja usme.

Once a moron always a moron.
Can someone teach that loud mouth to act in a decent manner, not as a paanwala that he looks like.
Ask him to take some coaching classes from Imran or Wasim or Gavaskar.

Although this thread is about Pakistan, but since ppl mentioned Miandad's comments on Pathan... and looking at Pathan's bowling, makes me wonder what were Indians smoking when they made him sit out the first 3 ODI's.

i'm sure miandad will not learn his lesson. oh well. unfortunately whenever we talk smack we get crushed (shoaib akhtar, aamir sohail, waqar younis)...god is telling us to be humble. our past successful teams were always respectful of the opposition. they eat daal chaawal just like we do (though we eat some mutton occasionally too).

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Although this thread is about Pakistan, but since ppl mentioned Miandad's comments on Pathan... and looking at Pathan's bowling, makes me wonder what were Indians smoking when they made him sit out the first 3 ODI's.

I think this is what happened. After the whacking that Indian got by Pakistan A team they thought trio of Zaheer,Irfan and Balaji was too short of experience. So they wanted to bring in Nehra but problem was who to sit.Zaheer had experience in his favour and By dropping Balaji,Indians didnt want to play three left handers .Simply because they wanted to have some variation. So it was Pathan who has to go.

*Originally posted by saby: *
We need a firm appraoch in oneday internationals unlike this confused one. Do We need six bowlers?? If we do, stick with that for a whole series. If we dont need a sixth bowler, play with four specialist bowlers atleast so that they can make thier day. I think Razzaq's fall from being a dangerous oneday bowler to be a mediocre part timer has much to do with this confusion in pakistani ranks. When he was on fire with the ball, we used to play with five bowlers and stil get the team combination right.

Very valid points saby. It pissed me off that all the progress we made in the last few series was jeapordised by going back to the old school with the likes of Younis Khan and Afridi. I agree with Akif that Taufeeq is a quality player and I think Farhat is too. We really need to go with specialist batsmen in ODI's and get a settled strategy for one day games instead of chopping and changing every game.

today was just not the day for pakistan there were a couple of errors from every where first the team selection for today they should have not brought taufeeq in da squad and played with afridi and secondly they should have played saqlain the whole series they have wasted him as u can see in these batting pitches the most succesfull ballers from india side other than irfan pathan were the spinners not only did they take wickets they contained pakistan at crucial stages pakistan needed one more spinner but well other than that there were crucial catches dropped and then in the batting at the start of the innings youhana given a totally wrong out i dunno wat was david sheppard thinking but well all in all it was a good contest and the better side won the match but pakistan did not give up without a fight it was a game and there had to be a winner and the better side won so well !!! But all i would say is that pakistan concentrate on their balling now for the test series. GOOD LUCK pakistan hope atleast you win test series :k:

Those who are shouting that this player shoul dhave played and this shouldnot.,could you please post your team that you think should have played.Please bear in mind only 11 can play in one cricket match.

Originally posted by KAKA-ATOM-BUM: *
Inzi didnt have a clue what was going on in the field, there was no strategy, no plan, no guts, no gambles, no attack.

I think this it all comes down to this!
I will agree to Kaka here.

Inzi is not able to lead the team. He is not capable of doing that. So what they need is a real captain. It was only in the last 2 ODI's that he should he was not pleased by his team mates performance. But this is not the right thing a captain should be doing.

Another thing is, I see people blaming Javed Miandad for the failure of the team. I beg to differ. When the team is playing on the ground they are lead by the captain and not the coach/manager of the team. It is wrong to blame the coach.

They also play a very individualistic game, and as a team.

:konfused: :smack:

Spelling tho check karna! ziada balling ka …

It was a close series but Pakistan failed tactically. The fielding positions and selection of bowlers was poor. Time to make Taufeeq a regular, the guy has the talent to be a great. And Younis Khan should be made to fight for his place vs Imran Farhat.

Originally posted by ustechie: *
*but bowling India out twice is a big ask.

That sure is going to be..imagine, if Sehwag doesnt fire, Tendulkar will, if Tendulkar doesnt fire Laxman will and if Laxman doesnt fire then good chance to hit The Wall...looks like a very tough job.

hey, you forgot gangs and yuvraj

It is wrong not to blamme the coach as well, since he is the one always talking about strategies :rolleyes: I am sorry but Javid was a great batsman, a genius but he is not a good coach. Ask me why :snooty: Simply because he is negative in his approach! Also because he can coach the batsmen but is at loss when it comes to bowlers.

And yea Sami and Shabbir might be inexperienced but Shoaib has been there for ages now, he is not inexperienced :mad: Our bowling is just pathetic, conceding more than 250 runs in almost all matches is just pathetic! Even if the wickets were batting friendly we boast about out bowling so much but when it comes to results its zero.

Razzaq was at his best under Wasim (yea despite match fixing :rolleyes: ) when he was captain and even when he was in the team as a regular player, after Wasim he has just gone down and down and down. that tells alot to those who say Wasim didn’t coach the youngsters. Yea don’t believe me go see Razaq’s record! WE NEED A BOWLING COACH! No, I don’t want Wasim as our coach but we do need someone.

Also I am not sure if Shoaib is any good, alright he has speed, he wins us a couple of matches every now and then but don’t we need someone who can do that on regular basis? Specially when he is our main strike bowler :rolleyes:

There is no bowler in world cricket who wins matches regularly for his team (apart from Murali as he is the only bowler in lankan team capable of taking wickets). Shoaib has won more matches for pakistan in last year than any other bowler in the world. His consistency is still not ideal but its improving. Yes he should do it more often but ideally its time for other bowlers like Sami and Shabbir to show more consistency. Shoaib is doing his bit in this last year. Sami and Shabbir also are doing that but lot less frequently than shoaib.

Fanta I said before the games that Shoaib wasn't going to do much in the ODI's he's an attacking bowler and when he goes for line and length seems to look half the bowler.

Anyway, we should see him at his best in the test matches. I can guarantee if he wasn't there India would score a thousand in every match.

Irfan’s performance a fitting reminder to Miandad

PTI THURSDAY, MARCH 25, 2004 03:59:43 PM ]

VADODARA: Irfan Pathan’s match-winning spell against Pakistan on Wednesday should serve as a “fitting reminder” to his critics, including Pakistani coach Javed Miandad, according to the seamer’s father Mehboob Khan.

“Irfan to Allah ke ghar ki gali ka ladka hai kyon ki woh masjid mein rehta hai aur ibaadat aur seva karta hai . (Irfan belongs to the lane of Allah’s home because he stays in a mosque and offers prayers and service),” was how Mehboob Khan Pathan sought to silence Miandad’s ‘underestimation’.
:alhamd:***
Miandad had reportedly ridiculed Pathan’s potential saying “such bowlers (like Pathan) are found in every by-lane of Pakistan .”

“Miandad had downplayed my son’s potential but his performance yesterday should serve as a fitting reminder to his critics,” Mehboob Khan, who himself works as caretaker of Juma Masjid in Mandvi area of the city, said.

The beaming father further said Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi telephoned him around midnight to congratulate him for Irfan’s performance, which helped India tame the arch-rivals in their own den.

“The entire nation is proud of him,” Modi told his father, who hoped that his son would continue to play in the same spirit.

Asked what he replied to Modi, Mehboob Khan said, “I told him that Irfan is Gujarat’s son your son, we are very proud that he has brought laurels to the nation.”

District collector Bhagyesh Jha, accompanied by several officials, also visited Pathan’s home last night and congratulated the family on behalf of the government

Good job Irfan:k:

Very good reply to Miandad by IrfanDad:wave: :nahnah:

i hav no idea wat we r doin wit bits and peices!!!!

get specialits and dump the bits and peices...

only razzaq should stay cuz his batting form is mashallah sublime...ure allowed to fail once in 5 games id say ...good to see moins back...shoib malik only played good cuz he had a lot of balls to do so...and play himself in...he should be droped and saqi should be played instead...yunus khan shud be dumped...and tauffeq and farhat as openers or taufeeq and nazir as openers...wit yasir at 1 downlike he does in tests...inzi at 2 down and yoyo at 3 down...u need to protect out of form batsmen...jus like saurav protected sachin down under...i meen sachin needed protection...then yoyo definately cud use sum! gud to see sach out of form(ya i saw that 142 but still...1 century is a seies is not the usual sachin...and no 50's...so lets jus hope it stays like dat) and sehwag out of form...and ganguly as well...unforunately vvs got back into the thick of it...im worried bout dravid...he wont let ne thing break his defence!!! and weve totally forgotten how to bowl yorkers...im serious...nuthin full pitched was there...waz and waqar and imran mustav been cryin!!!...lern from pathan!!!...and hope atkinson prepares bowlin pitches fer the tests cuz othaiwse were gonna get muredered....only 1 bowlin pitch was prepared...at peshawar...and we won...i dunno the PCB wanted to be fair...more importance shud always be placed on winnin...i for 1 hav never cared bout sportsmanship or "havin fun" even at skool boy level...winning is a must!lol...Broken Sky will testify wont ya...1 ball 1 run to win..and we did it against u guys in the final ;)...lol... jokin yar

FANTAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!! U R BACK!!!!!!!!!!!

well,I put aside my trip to Lahore because yiu were not seen in gupshup for a long time!!!!! :P :D

well Iits a meeting after almost two years.....

I thik pakistan was defeated by its coach..Javed Bhai..He was over confident and his remarks against some Indian players triggered the instict of revenge!!!

Lets put it in this fashion..now look ahead for test series...