There is no such thing as a silly question, okies?! ![]()
Let’s say I want to be able to host a daawat in a year’s time and be able to make starters, main course, dessert and other miscellaneous stuff like chutneys, drinks etc… How do I get started?
There is no such thing as a silly question, okies?! ![]()
Let’s say I want to be able to host a daawat in a year’s time and be able to make starters, main course, dessert and other miscellaneous stuff like chutneys, drinks etc… How do I get started?
Re: So how do you learn to start cooking?
Step into the kitchen ![]()
Learn the basics. If you can get the basics down, rest is a breeze. Don’t be disheartened if you have a bad day in kitchen.
I know the basics I think. I can make veg rice but I’ve never made pulao/biryani etc. I can make some simple salans. Roti, paratha etc. I can do basic baking and make some simple desserts like sawaiyan, halwa. But how do I become a good enough cook to be able to host a daawat all on my own. Practice makes perfect, I guess. Any recommended books, DVDs etc?
I have posted a very easy pulao recipe somewhere on the forum. Try it out. You can practice by making something in large quantity. Ramzan is a great time. Just make one dish in large quantity and take it to the masjid. When I was living with my parents, my mother always thought she had to make all the main dishes at dawats. But I would always try to do something like make a side dish or sweet dish. Last week, I made 2 trays of trifle and took them to the masjid.
Also, big dawats are about managing the quality with the quantity. If you can do that, you can have a dawat with the simple dishes you are good at.
WHen you host the dawaat, make things you are comfortable making. However, cooking for 2 vs 20 is very different. Keep your menu simple and focus on quality vs quantity. Try getting some help from a close friend or relative as I have cooked several times for dawaats and it is hard word. I have been drained for a week afterwards. Thus, having someone there helps. Also, try to prepare as much as possible before hand so you are not under too much pressure the day of.
In cooking…I am more about quality versus quantity.
I don’t make a huge variety. I cook dishes I know will be a hit and make good amount of them.
Put the ipad in the kitchen. And begin.
See how easy it is ![]()
Bajias Cooking Channel - YouTube
CookWith Faiza - YouTube
Rajshri Food - YouTube
Try to follow these channel’s recipes, and yeah practice makes it perfect.
I am hosting my first proper ‘big dawat’ (10 people) tomorrow. I usually always have 4-5 people over (1-2 couples, with babies, like us). I think the mini-dawat’s def help in preparation for a big one. You don’t need to make a lot of food and can ‘test’ yourself out. And of course, practice and repeat making dishes at home bcos that will help the most! I agree with previous suggestions in quality over quantity - make things that you know will turn out excellent, rather than just an endless buffet of mediocre khana.
Fauzia’s kitchen fun helped me a lot. I tried some of her recipes and they turned out great and then I’d add a few twists of my own to make the dish more tasty. Her beef pepper steaks were a hit at a dawat I did with a simple short menu.
some easy desi cook books help the people like me who have zero knowledge about cooking and stuff.
Huma, you start cooking good by helping and learning in the kitchen with your mom/naanii before marriage AND/OR saas/nand after marriage. sounds perfect na? ![]()
FOODILCIOUS page on FB, great inspiration for me. I used to hate cooking but now I love cooking.
Thanks everyone. I’ll let ye know how I get on.
Facebook, YouTube and websites are the things of the new era! Now you can learn to cook cuisines from far off places on earth! I even saw an arab woman teaching you how to cook biryani and an old American Lady showing how to make very best of the samosas!
I learned cooking only by observations - that was the time there were no fridges and food processors - almost everything used to be bought on the day of that specific dish - like if my mother was cooking koftay, she would ask me to buy from “dada” (the old man in our mohallah) all the spices for kofta same day and the fresh vegetables like mint, coriander, chilies, ginger etc . When I grew up and got my first job - after few years I was transferred to Islamabad where I had to cook my own food and there I started cooking from those observations!
I have started cooking classes for girls kindly check my facebook page “House Chef” ill be teaching recipies accordindly and would also add upon your request. Its a good opportunity for girls getting married or living away from home. Contact 03434213656 for details I will be surely available to help you. I am providing my services only in Lahore.
I am quite fond of cooking since long. I made tea first time when I was in class 3 or 4. I made first Salan when I was in class 8. And all this i learned from my cooking expert Ami. Then I used to make everytime 1 salan in a party to help with ami. Moreover I also used to invite friends over iftar or any other gathering and used to cook myself. This was the point from where I learned to cook for parties. Moreover my parents were in habit of doing big big parties inviting more than 50-60 people and so I saw this in my home so it was not a wonder to pick it up as it was routine for us. Moreover when I was in class 9th onwards my father’s friends used to gather every week at some house over their bridge :). Our home was atleast once in a month and one other close friend uncle’s home also so I used to manage all the tea party at my home and even uncle’s home too. So I must say it was my brought up that did not let me feel baffled managing parties Alhumdulillah.
Just step in kitchen, dont worry about blunders dome, its a part of this cooking game. Keep in contact with your mom or elder sister/cousin who know cooking. I still seek guidance from ami.
Nowadays its so much on internet. That can help a lot
Best advice ever ![]()
take some cooking classes if possible it will do u good.mera experience acha raha