Re: So all the ABCD’s attention
See zobia.. he just proved .. Waja pata nahi aur ak do laft pakar kar hans raha hain ![]()
meaning sheaning to ata nahi aywee ![]()
See zobia.. he just proved .. Waja pata nahi aur ak do laft pakar kar hans raha hain ![]()
meaning sheaning to ata nahi aywee ![]()
Re: So all the ABCD's attention
ABCD boulay tu?
An article from Wikipedia:
American-Born Confused Desi, or ABCD for short, is a term **
*used to refer to Indian (and Pakistani), (Bangladeshi) *
*Americans born in the United States, in contrast to those *
*who were born overseas and later settled there. The *
*longer form "American Born Confused Desi, Emigrated From *
*Gujarat, House in Jersey" is also occasionally seen; *
*playing on the alphabet theme, it has been expanded for *
*K-Z variously as "Kids Learning Medicine, Now Owning *
*Property, Quite Reasonable Salary, Two Uncles Visiting, *
*White Xenophobia, Yet Zestful" or "Keeping Lotsa Motels, *
*Named Omkarnath Patel, Quickly Reaching Success Through *
*Underhanded Vicious Ways, Xenophobic Yet Zestful".[1] *
*Among Indian Americans, the term may be considered *
*divisive, as first generation Indian Americans use it to *
*criticise the Americanization and lack of belonging to *
*either Indian or American culture they perceive in their *
**second generation peers or children.[2]
The "Confused" portion of the term, allegedly refers to **
*the identity crisis that many second-generation Indian *
*and other South Asian Americans face while navigating *
*between American and South Asian culture. The notion of *
*this identity crises comes from differences in accent, *
*dress, and etiquette between recent immigrants and *
*American Born Indians. Most ABCDs are perceived to have *
*strong ties to their Indian heritage, frequently visiting *
*friends and family in their country of descent. *
*Typically, they are also fluent in English, and can *
*understand an additional indian language (though *
*frequently unable to properly communicate or write it). *
*They also tend to understand both American and Indian *
*cultural value systems, but often do not participate *
*fully in either culture. There is also a perception that *
*ABCDs dislike recent immigrants, often colorfully *
*referring to them, using a slur of their own, FOB, for *
**"Fresh Off the Boat"
The idea of a well documented cultural identity crisis is **
*not unique to Indian Americans; British Asians often *
**struggled with similar cultural conflicts.
*The term has also been used as the title of a movie *
*released in the United States in 1999, about the cultural *
*struggles of a young American of Indian ancestry.
what if some one is CBCD..??
get it Canadian Born Confused Desi ![]()
lol i am bored ![]()
There is a flip side of it too again from Wikipedia:
Fresh off the boat (often abbreviated as F.O.B., FOB,
F.O.T.B., FOTB, fobbish, freshie,boat,fobster, or fobbie)
is a slang phrase applied to people of foreign
nationality who have arrived in a host nation as
tourists, immigrants, students, or, most commonly,
[citation needed] as work permit applicants. The term is
commonly applied to Eastern and Southern Pacific Asians,
as well as South Asians, in the United States, Canada and
Australia, as well as to Pacific Islanders in Australia
and New Zealand. It was originally applied to European
immigrants to America who had just stepped off of ship.
[citation needed]
The term is commonly used when immigrants from a foreign
nation have not yet assimilated the host nation's
culture, language, and behavior. Note that assimilation
to the host nation's culture is not a certainty; there
are historical examples of a foreign nation assimilating
a host nation (ex. Sinicization or Romanization). The
five pillars that are commonly associated with being a
"FOB" are fashion, social preferences (i.e. cultural
activities, cuisine, and religious practices), behavior
toward others, knowledge of multiple dialects, and
accents.
In the sociology of ethnicity, this term can be seen as
an indicator of a nature of diasporic communities, or
communities that have left their country of origin and
have migrated, usually permanently, to another country. A
split can occur in such communities between those who
have assimilated or acclimated in their host countries
and those who still cling to their native culture. The
usage of "FOBs" is often used by the former group to
differentiate themselves from the latter. Often this
difference is a result of a generation gap, where the
sons and daughters of immigrants born and immersed in the
culture of their host country develop an identity
distinct from their parents or recent immigrants.
The term also has been adapted by immigrants themselves
or others in their community who instead see the
differentiation as a source of pride, where they have
retained their culture and have not lost it to
assimilation. In some instances, people who have
assimilated or acclimated into their host country still
identify themselves as a "FOB" to show they have not
assimilated completely.
and what does fobee means?? ![]()
I am fobby so I cannot use the right accent or spellings or pronunciations.:o
so u r from USA fobee or canadian fobee
USA , have been here for 18 years though. Live in a smalltown USA
wow u sure are fresh off the boat..
Been there done that. I have lived in Mega cities , tiny cities, of US. I have had all kinds of jobs, burger flipping, newspaper delivery, gas station, retail management,auto insurance sales, phone book delivery, finally software engineer, currently struggling to start own ecommerce website.
Then why am I fobee ? My kids still love to and have fun by correcting my fobee accent which is still there and I love to correct their ABCD accent of Urdu.
Now do you have any embarrassing moment story related to fobiness of somebody ?
i am not a fobi or fobbeee or whatever
and I am not even my own parent…
but yet - CAFE is full of my embarrassingh stories ![]()
kuch nahi hosakta teggy sahab ka ![]()
app maarain inhay ![]()
khudi fata-fut urdu agaeya gee ![]()
why am i even reading this
one time my ammi smacked my bum infront of my pals cuz she got mad at me for making fun of this one aunty she’s like “sharram karro!” smack
i was like ammi!!! ![]()
My parents - family can never embarrass me i.e. i can never be embarrassed nor ashamed of my family members i am not a !@#$!@#$!!!!