Snow Statues

Pics from Winter Carnival 2002 at our univ. Every year student organizations at our school (frats,sorors, others ) start building snow statues in early january. The actual carnival is held in the first week of february, with Wednesday declared as “the allnighter” - that’s the last night to work on statues, and most of the statues that are classified as “ONE NIGHT STATUES” are built on this night. It’s lot of fun, the whole school/town is out in the cold building statues, and of course partying

Here are some pics from 2002 :-

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/carn-05.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/carn-01.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/carn-02.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/carn-04.jpg

MORE

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/carn-06.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/carn-07.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/carn-08.jpg

and More

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/carn-09.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/carnival1.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/carnival2.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/carnival3.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/carnival4.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/carnival6.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/carnival7.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/carnival8.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/construction1.jpg

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/construction2.jpg

[This message has been edited by Zaalim (edited March 09, 2002).]

[This message has been edited by X 1 (edited March 09, 2002).]

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

Woooow…Brrrrrrr!!!
That’s COOL!

May The Madness Be Upon You!!!

jaw dropped very cuul art, btw, what university is this at? and how come these
carnivals are not featured on TV etc?

WOWwwwwwww they are awosem.
Which University do u go to??/ and why arent u in these pictures.
I like them all especially the Taj Mehal.
If i was a great artist and would have thet much snow

i would have build a snow masjid…Actually noooo i wouldn’t like it to melt next day.

Thanks for sharing

oh wow! excellent

Dil K Ghum Nay Dard-E-Jahan Say Mil K Bara Bay Chain Kia

By the way, these are called ice sculptures. The general Manager of the Radisson I used to wrok at was a master at this! Taught me a few tricks last winter!

Ali-(Beta) - i won’t get technical but that’s what everybody at school had been calling them for four years

Well, the pictures are from Michigan Tech., and that’s where i went too (“went” because i recnetly graduated

) This year Taj Mehal was built by a frat and is much better than what the Indian Students Association made a few years ago. Life serves us snow here, so we have learnt to make it fun

:-O…

very hi nice work kaka-Z…
thanx 4 posting te sharing…
God bless u all…

DerVaisH

Ai khuda jazba-e-ehsaas na bakhsha hota…
Acha hota ager pather ka tarasha hota…
Waja-e-tehQeer hon insanon mein insan ho ker…
Pather ka hota to inhe insanon ne pooja hota…

2 good yaar!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/redface.gif

k:

The best way to cheer yourself up is to try to cheer somebody else up.

thanks awesome yaqueen nahi aaraha

thanks for shairng it

Friendship is a precious gift from ALLAH, only lucky ppl have got this gift. And thank God, I am among those ppl

Cool Michigan Tech! Where is that? I think up North somewhere if I am not mistakened right?

I am sure that my Boss must have participated in this thing! I have always wanted to see an Ice sculpture exhibition! Chalo insha Allah next year!

coool

seen themm…but still they are cool

Beyond compare. They are beautiful. And the dedication that those artists put in...Incredible...Good pics...Thanks...

Amazing

Zaalim, i have never seen something like that before..so i am just wondering if you can write something about how these are made? Process? Any special tools? or if you can post some process photographs showing the raw snow and in between step before the actual completed statue. That would be wonderful.