SMS 'talaq' again, woman fights back

This is a modern technique divorce, Talaq thrice on SMS. It is very strange that some Maulvis very easily give sanction to this new divorce technique while totally ignoring the plight of the Muslim woman…..

‘While the split was endorsed by local maulvis, the All-India Women’s Muslim Personal Law Board says it’s completely illegal. Board president Shaista Amber said: “Talaq by SMS is un-Islamic.” The AIMPLB had rejected internet divorces as invalid during its meeting in December 2004 and AIWMPLB nominee in Moradabd, Ghazala Anjum, was organsing support for Saba, Ambar said’

SMS ‘talaq’ again, woman fights back

LUCKNOW: The IT revolution is proving to be a bane for Muslim women in western Uttar Pradesh. Its latest victim—24-year-old Saba Khaliq from Moradabad, who found herself at the “receiving end” of modern technology when her husband sent her an SMS with the dreaded words “talaq, talaq, talaq”.

Reports reaching here said local maulvis in Moradabad have given their sanction to the hightech split after a hastily convened meeting. Saba, however, refuses to give up so easily.

Saba’s SMS divorce comes two months after Tarannum from Muzaffarnagar in UP was given talaq over the telephone by her husband from Saudi Arabia, leaving her struggling to save her marriage after the maulvis said the split was valid.

Re: SMS ‘talaq’ again, woman fights back

What are you trying to prove here ??? :confused: :confused:

Re: SMS 'talaq' again, woman fights back

Mr. A had a fight with someone in his office, and while he was busy talking to the boss in the boss's office, this somebody picks up his mobile and sends 3 talaaq sms to his wife, what happens????
same goes for emails....

what is this world coming to :bummer:

The man clearly lacks Islamic knowledge and understanding. Otherwise, he would’ve known that giving 3 talaqs at once is looked down upon in Islam.

Perhaps the following could help you:

http://63.175.194.25/index.php?ln=eng&ds=qa&lv=browse&QR=2373&dgn=4

http://63.175.194.25/index.php?ln=eng&ds=qa&lv=browse&QR=6125&dgn=4

http://63.175.194.25/index.php?ln=eng&QR=22034

^ Right. But I am afraid, anjjan will not try to understand it :(

Looks like the guy had no idea of "Talaq-e-Rujui" ( spellings ????) which are the first two. Third one is "no man's land"...

And yes, Sadiyah, Quran has told us the correct manners for "Talaq" as you have explained very well. And yes, for sure, this man lacked the proper knowledge about this issue.

Sadiyahji...thanks for your explanations. Every time when this issue is raised someone definitely tells us the real meaning and execution process of Talaq in three sessions as per Quran.....

Can you tell me some instances when Muslims have divorced their wives in accordance to Quran???

anjjan, I don't wish to go around performing a survey on how people got divorced. Some of your questions are really out of line. It's been made clear to you that what the individual did was wrong and I also tried to share information from an Islamic perspective on how giving 3 talaqs at once is not something good. What more do you want, seriously?

Whose faliure is it if people do not want to implement the texts in their day-to-day life…especially when it is related to the sufferings of women?

3 talaqs at once is not something good…it is not good or it is un-Islamic?

anjann, it's the ignorance and lack of knowledge that leads people to do things that aren't quite accord with Islam.

I previously expressed that 3 talaqs at once is unislamic and since I was wrong, I edited it. To the best of my knowledge, it's something not good/favoured in Islam.

He is a troll that wants a ruse.

Sadiyah ji…I am really sorry. I do not understand if opening a thread relating to the sufferings of Muslim women incorrect. …….At least with your replies I have such feelings.

If we go in past, every time when such ‘Talaqs’ have taken place and the final target was a woman….always there were some local Maulvis who have given their sanctions.

And always there were explanations on behalf of Quran against such practices, but I am sure that never such Talaq was reverted.

Shall people keep quite because in your understanding the teachings of Islam are supreme and beyond questioning?

Ps, kindly delete the post, if my questions do not suite you!

and who are average joes like us to question the dispention of the learned 'maulvis'?

Quran and Hadith are nothing, without the ruling of a Fuqhi!

Sadiyah ji…I am really sorry. I do not understand if opening a thread relating to the sufferings of Muslim women incorrect. …….At least with your replies I have such feelings.

I don't recall myself celebrating or rejoicing over the lady's divorce. You often like to blame and link everything to Islam, even the behaviour of those who aren't following it. All I tried to explain you was that what the man did was wrong. It is not something that is appreciated in Islam. In fact, it's looked down upon. However, to suggest to present the statistics over how many people have given 3 talaqs in one instance is something quite ridiculous, I'm sorry to say.

If we go in past, every time when such ‘Talaqs’ have taken place and the final target was a woman….always there were some local Maulvis who have given their sanctions. And always there were explanations on behalf of Quran against such practices, but I am sure that never such Talaq was reverted.
Again, a generalization. I'm not even in accord with what many Pakistani and Indian molvis and scholars preach or practice. Given that you have not examined the two views, you're unaware of the fact that many scholars and to the best of my knowledge Ibn Taymiyyah say that 3 talaqs in a single instance counts as a single talaq and not 3 talaqs. I'm quite positive that there must be many other scholars who would rule in a manner similar to Ibn Taymiyyah.

Shall people keep quite because in your understanding the teachings of Islam are supreme and beyond questioning?

Ps, kindly delete the post, if my questions do not suite you!
Question all you wish. However, do try to be reasonable. I don't see myself in a position to do a survey, nor do I think it's appropriate for me to do so. Just because many Muslims these days lack knowledge and understanding of deen does not mean their actions are in accord with Islamic teachings. Most Muslims (at least in the Indian subcontinent) follow their ancestors/elders when it comes to learning Islam. The material mainly gets passed on and many do not take the time out to investigate and learn on their own.

Anjjan we should make you a hero of all the muslim women in the world…ha ha…

Sadiyahji…..I know well the difference between ‘one session Talaq’ and ‘three sessions Talaq’. I am disappointed the way you have twisted the explanation.

You happily put blame on the Indian Muslims???….whereas I asked you much earlier if you could give me instances of at least one or two divorces which took place in three sessions in accordance to the strict Quranic rules anywhere in the world among Muslims?

Ps, I never asked the statistics of 3 Talaqs in one session. And kindly do not answer if the question is too difficult. I can understand it.

anjjan, please guide me as to how I can embark upon the journey of ‘giving you instances of at least one or two divorces which took place in three sessions’.

Please give me all the steps required, resources, and methods required to get you the examples you require. Thank you.

man i will be happy that man leaves me he didnt have enough guts to say it on my face...

after recieving the sms you bet i will walk over and beat the crap out of him *grin

first sms and now next thing you know you send kabol hai to molvi ji and he sends message back to girl ap ko rishta kabool hai?.. come on what the fudge...

I never liked this stupid talak system it costs so much money to sign the papers and for talak few words ....i gotta find out more about it...