smoking

did you try reverse psychology?

They won't quit and neither should you

passo - reverse psychology kya matlab yaar? u mean i shud encourage them to smoke? how exactly do i go abt doing that yara? i mean kia exact approach use keroon ? :frowning:

funguy - u mean u think they won’t quit smoking? :eek: NOOOOO they have to :teary3: Allah aisa naheen kerey ga:bummer: and i’ll keep trying till my last breath that they do :bummer:

Irem, first off, i think you're being a bit too dramatic, let's cut stop with the theatrics and look at the facts. You say you've talked to the person, stopped talking to the person, begged, pleaded, emotionally blackmailed, and prayed for the person.

As a former smoker, let me tell you this, the only person who can stop this person from smoking is he himself/she herself. When someone tells you that they don't smoke and smoke in solitary, that's a sign of a serious problem. You don't realize how hard it is to stop smoking, if you've never smoked, you have NO idea.

Getting up his ass everytime he smokes is not going to help either. Let them smoke, tell them that you really really care about them and that it hurts you to see them smoke and that you will always be there for them if they need support.

Do some clinical research on how to stop smoking, give this person brochures, pamphlets, give this person options, don't just tell them to stop without offering the slightest idea on how to stop.

After that, it is entirely up to them if they quit or not, but believe me, if you keep at it and keep nagging this person, they will probably start resenting you and stop being around, this person is already lying to you about smoking, you are effectively driving them away, not bringing them closer, specially if you're as dramatic with this person as you came off on these posts.

Bro, thanks a lot for your excellent tips.
I am sorry if I sounded dramatic, I was just trying to post naturally as the flow of thoughts came to me…but i guess it unfortunately came out as being too dramatic? sorry :bummer:
khayr, Thanks again :k:

:smokin:

irem, everyone already suggested things..but i am gonna share few of my thoughts here.

i am not sure how you talk to that person...but may i suggest that you read some literature on quitting smoking yourself..so when you give out suggestions to this person..its facts and remedies to overcome the problem.

Quitting chain smoking isn't an easy task..

now a days..there's so many products in the market..ranging from herbal inhalers..to nicotine gum..to nicotine nasal sprays..there's also something called smokeless cigarette substitute..

there are seminars on this subject..if you can take the person along with you try attending one..there are programs from government..like we have one from health canada.

also, there's numerous websites, support groups, email groups on this topic..i personally think..that when a person works with others..its an additional motivation for them..

there's also web communities where all the smokers share logs..

lastly, hypnosis..is a great way to go about quitting smoke..most of the programs offer first consultation free..so make an appointment and take them on a suprise visit if you can..

some health magazines do publish stories of smokers who quit smoking with the help of hypnosis..so from time to time you can read stories in front of him/her..they might consider it in the long run..

once again..i urge you to read material on the subject..be it websites..or books..

Send Nicotrol as a birthday gift.

http://www.nicotrol.com/

assalamoalikum :jhanda:

try nicotine tablets and tell the person the side effects of smoking, the diseases and how u would probably die earlier then expected so if this doesn’t help or put the fear of god into him/her and you, then carry on smoking so u can just kill your self slowly and slowly by smoking.

in my view, advice is always present but it depends on the conscience of an individual to take it or leave it.

wat u do is ask that person if they can get u any weed aka marijuana, and if theyre concerned, just say youll stop smoking weed when they stop smoking cigerettes :P:P:P:P:P

baba-jee - :hehe::crying:

insolent mods - thanks for the ideas of the nicotine tablets… :slight_smile: and u r right bro… :frowning:

Saqib Khan - thanks for the link bro :slight_smile: will definitely try it…

Qrius baji - :hug: thanks so much for that great advice i will do that inshallah lub u :hug:

PKC bhai - :-/