Re: Smell in my aprtment.. how do i get rid of it.
Anything you put in the fridge or freezer has to be in put in a ziplock bag or airtight container . Even the fruits and vegetables should be put in the ziplock bag before putting them in fridge. Nothing should be put in fridge in an open container or on its own.
It is not related to whether you cook desi food or not.
It is how you take care of your house to kill all kinds of odors.
It is all in one's own attitude toward life . Like the thread starter cares and she asked the question here. Like many of my friends noted that when they come for a party they expect my home to smell like biryani and qorma but it does not and the take a note of it and then they care to ask and then when they go back to their homes , they take advantage of my experiences.
Many non desi have pets which can make home smell like hell but since they have pet they make sure that they take care of the issues which come with the responsibility of owing a pet.
I work at a company which has many office building in the office campus and one of the buildings smells like mold all the times and nobody cares. I try to avoid to go to that building as much I can.
I dont know mirch man, the smell of masalas is pretty hard to get rid of. I used to occasionally cook desi stuff when i was in an apt, but i refuse to contaminate my lovely new house with masala! its like a repellant, repels the cute mosquitos away.
good tips!
U can also get rid of the smell if u sprinkle cinnamon powder on orange peels and place them on a baking tray and turn u're oven on.. the smell is yummy!
i do something similar, after i'm done cooking, to deodorize the kitchen, i boil a pot of water, throw in a cinnamon stick, lemon/lime skins if i have any (or any other citrus at hand) and let it boil a couple of mins, takes the clinging onion/masala smell out right away. saw martha stewart do it!
1- u have to buy less of those candles shamndles #2- $50 dollar ka perfume laitay huay kuch masla nahen hota, outfit say matching jootay bhi zaroori hotay hain, alikin kaam ki cheez dekhtay hai foran price par aitraaz hota hai.. #3- you will use less perfume because your clothes will not smell like shaljam gosht #4- you want to go even cheaper? go get any charcoal filter from home depot and tape it to a fan.
oye its evebn better kay bacchay, aisay hi bol rahay ho or did you actually try the filtered fan or my approach of attaching filter to existing fan?
bolo bolo...:ASA:
abay just because it has charcoal filter, it got to be better ..
we never used it cause just box fan and daytime cooking only worked for us. But we just bought an air purifier that has charcoal filter and we run that also sometimes while cooking .. and it works great
abay just because it has charcoal filter, it got to be better ..
we never used it cause just box fan and daytime cooking only worked for us. But we just bought an air purifier that has charcoal filter and we run that also sometimes while cooking .. and it works great
shabash...good job.
ab yeh goodnews ko bhi bata doh
yeh sab auntiyan khoob adral, lehsan say salan banati hain, saarian in ki kabhi dhulti naheen hain..they absorb all odours and that is why then they overdo it with perfume and then its a disaster.
O common....what is soo wrong with desi smell?? You are desi, if you don't smell like desi food then what would u smell like? Yes I know sometimes it sticks to your clothes and stuff....just simply wash off and light up some candles.....i can never imagine NOT cooking my biryani and qormas just becuz my house will smell.....house is to live in and make use of. Not just for sajawat and decoration for other gora like people to look at.
O common....what is soo wrong with desi poop smell?? You are desi, if your poop don't smell like desi poop then what would it smell like? Yes I know sometimes it sticks to your clothes and stuff....just simply wash off and light up some candles.....i can never imagine NOT pooping just becuz my house will smell.....house is to live in and poop in. Not just for sajawat and decoration for other gora like people to look at.
so in short are you saying your clothes smell like qorma?dil par baat lay li or are you just representing all desi aunties whose banarsi saris smell of garlic? :D
dekhain ji, if it was no big deal then we would have fragrance companies making stuff like eau di qorma, and itar ppl selling itar-e-haleem. But that is not the case.
if the smell is excessive, it is a turn off and needs to be controlled, thats the reason people have exhausts, air freshners, windows etc etc. This thread is only about better ways of controlling the smell.
You can live in a house and make use of it and still have it aesthetically pleasing to sight, smell and sounds.
My place never has the food odor - One hour after all my cooking is done.
Here's what you need: A fan right next to your gas stove. Leave it on Exhaust till you are finished cooking. Then turn it to "intake"... leave all your windows open for that hour. In the mean time - go ahead and finish up cleaning the kitchen floors with fresh smelling cleanser... finish up the rest of the work. close all the windows, turn off the fan ! and wola! all the smell is out
oh and don't forget to shower immediately - otherwise you would be smelling like garlic/ginger paste and will be spreading it everywhere you go - lol
^ye I hate opening all windows in winter - so I don't open the windows...
I have put up a thick curtain on the kitchen doorway (since there is no door)... that takes care of the smell staying in the kitchen room... while my exhaust fan is on. I also close all the doors to other rooms... and open it AFTER - I am ready to put the fan on "intake"... I know this cools up the place - but it's so worth it, if you do it for at least half hour.
But but but but perfume/candle buying is fun!! khushi hoti hai perfume/kapray lete huway. And not all of us douse ourselves w/ erfume cz of cooking smells
If u burn a candle close to the stove while cooking the smell wudn't permeate thruout the house.. during dawats I burn "oud" or an oil incence burner...
U can also get rid of the smell if u sprinkle cinnamon powder on orange peels and place them on a baking tray and turn u're oven on.. the smell is yummy!
It will spell of cinnamon?
And the idea with the water in a pot and a cinnomon stick, it will smell of cinnamon instead? I dont like that smell!!