small business and credit card payments

I had a small question. How do I go about accepting credit card payments for my small business( Based in Canada)? I looked at paypal, and thats no good. they charge 2 1/2 % of the total transaction, which I don’t really like, and seems a little high.

Do I need to talk to the bank (where I have my business account)? Do I need to talk to someone else?

You would always have to pay a fee (a age and transaction fee) for every transaction that you accept. Plus the gateway charge. There are a few vendors that don’t charge a monthly fee but they charge a higher percentage. e.g. https://www.2checkout.com/

yean .. its the damn percentage charge / transaction that kills you .. i guess you just pass it on to your customer ..

One more service provider , you may want to consider is PaySystems (paysystems.com). Also, this company is based in Canada.

which is why some desi grocers have a 'minimum charge' when paying by Credit Card..

I am however surprised how Manzoor bhai (desi grocer) can give me a $1 worth of haree mirch and let me use my card to pay.. heheh

Because the amount of Mirchi you get for $1 would cost $.01 to him. :)

*Originally posted by Baba G: *
which is why some desi grocers have a 'minimum charge' when paying by Credit Card..

I am however surprised how Manzoor bhai (desi grocer) can give me a $1 worth of haree mirch and let me use my card to pay.. heheh

BabaG, how come you have credit and don't have $1 cash? Isn't that kinda of an oxymoron?

naheen yaar.. i dun use cash.. i keep the dollar bills for vending machines and strip.. . ah oh well vending machines.

i've realized the best option is Paypal.com. they charge 2.5% flat, no signup fee...

with others, its a signup fee, and 2% - 5% (more sales = lower percentage).

BabaG I knew exactly where you were going (or are going to go). :hehe:

Nomaan, the only issue with PayPal is that the customers have to sign up with them too and then fund their account and only then can they pay you. All of that is a bit discouraging for some and you loose sales.