can someone tell me which one is best for the money??
Olympus 28-120mm SLR 35mm Camera
Specification
Olympus 28-120mm SLR 35mm Camera
Warranty:Months
Labor/Parts 12/12
Item Height in Inches 3.4
Item Width in Inches 4.9
Item Depth in Inches 4.9
Brand Olympus
Film Format 35mm
Camera Style SLR
Fully Automatic Yes
Focus Automatic
Picture Format Multiple
Red-Eye Reduction Flash Yes
Self-Timer Yes - 12 second delay
Date/Time Stamp Yes
Zoom Range 28-120mm
Battery Type 3 volt lithium (DL123A or CR123A) x 2
Included Accessories Strap
Other Features Built-in twin flash system, large LCD panel, quartz date, dioptric adjustment, programmed auto exposure settings, spot metering and exposure compensation, multi-coated lens
Specification
Canon 28-90mm Zoom SLR 35mm Camera
Warranty:Months
Labor/Parts 12/12
Item Height in Inches 3.5
Item Width in Inches 5.1
Item Depth in Inches 2.5
Brand Canon
Weight 12.9 oz
Film Format 35mm
Camera Style SLR
Fully Automatic Yes
Focus Automatic and manual
Picture Format Classic
Red-Eye Reduction Flash Yes
Self-Timer Yes
Date/Time Stamp No
Zoom Range 28-90mm
Battery Type Lithium CR2 x 2
Included Accessories 28-90mm lens, 2 CR2 lithium batteries
What are the model numbers?
For some reason I don't like Olympus. I would rather go for Nikon. Currently I own the N2020, bought it 10 yrs ago used for $300 (there were no digital camera then so the prices were high), with at 28-70mm zoom, still works like a champ.
Ooh, sorry, didn't see the links.
I'd go with the Canon. The Olympus doesn't let you change the lense, not sure about manual settings** on it (don't know if you want that or not). The Rebel on the other hand is a proven model, preferred by a lot of photographers.
Why waste your money? I know two brothers here. They both wanted to buy cameras. One bought Canon SLR, the other bought Minolta Dimage X digital camera. The first one would keep giving himself tasalli that he got a camera with much better results blah blah. After one year, the one with the SLR, gave up and bought himself a 4.0 Mega pixel digital camera and shelved the SLR (with great results, no doubt) in the top drawer of a cupboard. Now he totes his digicam all over the place and takes as many pics as he wants.
Its a true story.
So, you can go through the purist route ("SLR has better results etc" and then move to digital camera once you have seen the advantages) or you can go directly and buy a good quality digicam right away.
If you really do want to go through the SLR route, lemme know and I will ask this friend of mine to sell you his SLR. Dil pashuri karr lo, bhai. Phir line pe aa jaana.
Thanks Tofi sahab, i know cannon is good too but its more money too..with tax its gona be like 300 bucks hmm
faisal i do have a digital camera..i bought it a year and a half ago and paid over 300 for it..its sony cyber shot 3.2 mega pixel..i dont like it that much..plus i also have olympus film camera and sometimes the quality is good and sometimes its not
so i just wanted something that would give me great quality pictures..u can always scan them if u like the photo
so how much that brother wants for that used camera??
*Originally posted by Sheraz CT: *
so how much that brother wants for that used camera??
Let me find out from him. It had darned good results, and hardly used for more than a year. Now sitting back in its box.
In that price range, go for the Cannon. It is a very good first SLR and should be more than enough unless and until you get into serious photography..which will take some time.
these are bulky and not easy to lug around everywhere, but definitely gives you much more flexibility and ability to get creative. For most semi serious photographers the cannon will be more than enough.
My first SLR was a Canon Rebel, and I learnt quite a bit on it. I did not use it all the time, and it was not fun to lug around on vacations, but the results were more than worth it.
if you want to be able to take pics, and have a camera handy and practicality is your motive, go for a small digital camera, if you are looking for flexibility and are interested and proceeding beyond a pint and click shooter to a serious hobbyist, then the cannon will be a great start.
ya mairay maula.. iss zamanay main someone wants to buy a film camera? qayamat kee nishanyaan hain..
o bhai sahib.. just get a Canon A75 digital P&S aur bus.. yeh iss kisam key unknown cameras kay peechay mut paRo.. or do u like paying for flim and development forever?
if u want a film camera that bad get a point and shoot.. the tiny Yashica T4 is portable and gives reliable results..