Sleeveless

Re: Sleeveless

I do agree that boutiques in Pakistan still need to realize that a good majority of women living there don’t do sleeveless. I’ve honestly never seen an aunty there wearing anything sleeveless and I myself have never had the guts to wear any of my sleeveless outfits there. I’m actually not big on sleeveless anyways… so I’ve always made sure whatever I buy has the attachable sleeves. It mostly has to do with comfort and I’ve never done sleeveless in Pakistan or India for that matter. I just don’t want the extra attention from aunties.

I could but why? I have other pics with sleeves. I had finally worked out my arms and lost a lot of weight and so was touting my guns and took a pic. I don’t take many pics, and it’s the one good pic I have. Meh, I just don’t think it’s such a big deal.

Desi women shud realise armpits are not most beautiful part of their body.

^ especially if they have darkened armpits…:smiley:

aap na mehram khawateen ki baghlon mein kion taank jhaank kertay hain?

baGhalgeerii se to bahtar hai…

chor chorii se jaaye, taakaa jhaaNkii se na jaaye! :smiley:

Because it will make you look more shareef and therefore more likeable to potential rishta aunties or anybody looking at your profile pic I guess. Isn’t that the reason why you posted here? Because people weren’t responding much and you thought that maybe it wAs due to your sleeveless dress? Well it’s obviously your decision and I don’t think anyone should tell you what to do but changing the pic probably would solve your problem :blush:

Short sleeves are also haram but many who have a problem with sleeveless are strangely ok with those..

Short sleeve is haraam too? That mean girls can not wear polos or wife beaters. Didnt know that.

What if for rishta, girl shows up wearing full sleeve but tight pants that say JUICY. You think aunties head will explode?

What’s the point though in PCG pretending to be someone she’s not for an aunty’s sake? Do what makes you feel comfortable.
Because if you “hide” an aspect of yourself for a rishta - they might have certain expectations of you that maybe you’re not comfortable with. So I would say be yourself.

Errm, so you are saying that all the boutiques/designers/tailors of Pakistan must be white kaafir Americans, cause they are the ones who are actually stitching sleeveless only clothes for our otherwise sharmeeli ghabreeli desi muslim khawateens.

I say this must be a yahoodi saazish

I was in Pakistan this summer and did not see an overwhelming supply of sleeveless outfits. For every one sleeveless outfit there are 9 sleeved outfits. Nor did I see women walking around in sleeveless attire . Yeah, many women wear very, very short sleeves, almost cap sleeves.

At formal functions and hotels I did see women and those in mid 20’s or so wearing Western sleeveless outfits and formal sleeveless Pakistani attire.

Oh , and I’ve seen your pic in the matrimonial group, as I have been a member from the beginning, and you look fine.

i haven’t seen any girl/women wearing sleeveless in weddings/functions etc. here in us. Even in my extended fam. And we are not hijabis or anything… pretty fashionable bunch. Wonder why ..maybe its just different taste

Forgot the coffee mug when I went to get coffee. So paper cup it was. The lady put on a sleeve for protection from heat. I don’t use sleeves - unnecessary waste. Cup not so hot that it can’t be help with bare hands. So conserve what one can.

Guess that makes my coffee paper cup sleeveless.

But it didn’t raise it’s hands.

see-through sleeves [that i see anchors on Pakistani TV channels] are no better than wearing sleeveless. imho

are armpits beautiful on anyone?

Just pointing out that extra 2 inches of skin showing with sleeveless probably won’t make the difference between the girl going to heaven or hell :hypo:

Are armpits even shown that much? Most desi girls have long hair and don’t walk around with their arms up..

Personally i am not in favour of sleeveless because it shows the armpit which is a body part that should be hidden for modesty purposes. Thus, i consider it more immoral to wear sleeveless than shorts sleeves. I avoid wearing cap sleeves as well. For me, it is a mater of rudeness to show your armpits or even a potential display of it in public.

Leaving religion and morals ettiquetes aside, I really don’t think sleeveless asian clothes are elegant at all. It is way too kabbaddi and ga-on type for my taste. not feminine realy…however, sleeveless western clothes can look good and decent.

sleeveless is haram… so is short sleeves… so depending on how religious the auntie is, that could be one of the main reasons why. And I personally just dont think sleeveless looks elegant at all. I think all outfits look better with sleeves. And a personal pet peeve of mine is half lining!!! No offense to anyone who gets half lining, I have close family and friends who do, but to me it just looks so odd and incomplete! lol. Thats just me. But yah, sleeveless is haram islamically so that would be my guess as to why aunties don’t like it.