Sleeping problems!!!

So my neice who was born a week ago mashallah, spends most of the day sleeping and so keeps my sister awake all nite…my sisters basically tired already as she had a c section aswell and is not well herself..

how do you train kids to sleep at nite during this time?

What can help her stay awake during the day?

She drinks milk like for literally 2 minutes and knocks out as if shes on drugs..bless her :slight_smile:

Re: Sleeping problems!!!

the sad truth is.. nothing

a newborn is way too young to sleep train... and u have to feed on demand.. its only at 6 months when tehy start solids that u can start to sleep train a baby

ure sis will just have to toughen it up... i remember my beginnings as a mom VERY CLEARLY cuz my son was born mashallah with a huge appetite and all i remember doing was feeding.. most newborns sleep during the day and stay awake during the night... not much can be done cuz like i said.. they are too young to knwo the diff between night and day..

plus a newborn's tummy is very very small.. a lil amount of liquid can fill it up really fast .. so they breast feed very often initially..
like my mom says.. ma banna asaan kaam nahi :D

Oh no....lol..i thought there wud be a easy answer heheheh..

yeh def.....thats why there is jannat under mums feet.....

tabu!

congrats! mashallah i didnt no ur sister had a baby already- congrats on the birth of ur neice, may Allah tala bless her with a long happy life and protect & guide her always ameen

pray for me im 34 weeks today so not long to go aaahhh! x

wow mashallah time has flown hasn't it :D

Inshallah you will have a very smooth delivery...will remember u in my prayers.. :)

Thanks for your duas darling....she was born last week via a c section unfortunately..but alhumdulilah both are fine :)

Do you know what your having yet? God you must be so excited...Im so excited for you :D

she's too young to be sleeping and must be fed every 2-4 hrs.

but you can help encourage her to sleep between feedings by giving her a gentle warm bath, keeping the lights low at night, and avoiding stimulation.

at one week tho it's just too early to do much. i used to have trouble waking mine for feeds, but i had to.

yeh i think sister gnna try giving her a warm bath tonight and see if that keeps her asleep for a few hours at night....when the lights are off she opens her eyes...if they are on then she keeps her eyes closed....

it is sooooooooooooooo hard 2 wake her up when she knocks out...i tried the best i cud yesterday....was tickling her and moving her around...but noooo she was out of it lol

?^ we changed diapers to wake ours up:D

my phuppo who runs a daycare recommended keeping her in dim light during the day, to encourage being awake during the day and more sleeping at night. we didn't need to but i guess it's worth a try.

yeh changing diapers wakes her up....and then she cries...u hug her and she knocks out again lol

hmm, yeh thats gd advice, will try that..thanks

oh another suggestion, but it does not work with all newborns. if your sis can pump and someone else can do the night feedings for a day or two, just to give her a chance to rest. ammi did that for me a few nights, and it really helps.