Skin tone and marriage

Re: Skin tone and marriage

I think this preference is because people want their kids to be fair so they choose a gora partner.

Khud bhi kalay, bivi bhi kali to bachon ko andheray mein kaise dhondengay? :(

^In my extended family I noticed amongst the elders if one person was very very pale they often married someone darker so the kids ended up 'in the middle'..

I don't think it's necessarily 'shallow' to have a preference for lighter skin because I don't think it's that different to wanting someone tall or slim or whatever else.. to me it's about personal preference..

What I do have a problem with is only fair skin being considered beautiful..

I’d love em all the same ;).

I think more than wanting a fair wife the guy and/or his family want fair kids.

Fair skinned baby girls more so. I don't think people have a problem with their boys being a bit on the dark side. However girls being dark means rishta trouble down the road. It's a never ending cycle I guess.

naa…its not never ending. Untill the darkones get eliminated with this un-natural selection :hehe:

The average NC number of the population would improve down the line.

Its a preference of some men.
Just like most women want tall men even if they are short as midgets themselves.

If that’s the case the average would stay the same, the standard deviation would get lower though.

To be honest, I don't see this preference for fair skin anymore (thank god)!

It was prevalent in my husband's grandmother's generation (she is 95 and goree chitee). It's one of the reasons she liked me right off the bat (cuz of my fair skin) ha!

My MIL is dark skin toned while my FIL is gora chitta. Somehow his mother who clearly has a preference for fair skin still allowed the marriage to take place.

Most of my husband's gora chitta male cousins are married to much darker toned girls. The girls are absolutely beautiful though. Guys and their mother's these days care more about how pretty the girl is rather than her skin color, trust me.

I'm fair and my hubby is med toned. Our daughter is darker like my MIL and I LOVE her caramel skin! I LOVE LOVE LOVE it! :)

^im afraid it's still very common, even in this day and age. For example, when one of my aunt found out I was going to marry a white guy, first thing she said was 'chalo acha hai, bachay tu goray hongay. thats the first thing she even before inquiring about his faith..

We have this gorgeous black girl that works for our corporation, she is amazingly toned and dresses really nicely, you should see the jaws drop when she walks in. she could literally walk on tounges if she wanted to, why the obsession with skin color. Kind of racist to me.

I was not aware that this thread would get so many posts! I especially agree with certain things that some of you have written (that can actually be applicable to individuals of all skin tones, ethnicities and/or races). For example:

:flower1:The only thing that I would change is from the second quote. I would replace: “We should be able to love our “wheatish” skin tones” with “We should be able to love our skin tones,” whatever they may be.

I would prefer marrying into an entirely different race. Most people I have come across are too shallow. The obsession with a fair complexion is just ridiculous and not to mention close minded.. I have had a few men say blatantly they liked me for my fair complexion and I am thinking WTH is that all what you saw in me?? If I turn to a darker shade which is going to happen as I age I am not desirable anymore. A girl's personality, ethics or brains has no value whatsoever. I personally dont have a "preference" I would rather like a man who can engage in intellectual conversations and is mature

I think it has to do with preference. Diversity comes in different packages and I don't know where I'd place myself. My ex-bf skin-toned was gora color and my fiancée is gora too while I'm olive...

I would have given preference to tanned man too but I didn't selected him based on skin color.

I have gotten the fair compliments too... It is really weird in our society because people tend to be shallow about it and pick girls based on skin color. I didn't even approach men who wanted a gori Larki. Compare to Pakistani skin toned, I'm olive and bit fair than most but I would not be considered totally gori. It was surprising to me that people would put me in gori category when I'm not so skin tone is also based on personal evaluation.

I do think it is more to get fair skinned grandchildren. It is an insane obsession.