I know skin lightening/ whitening is a controversial topic but has anyone had skin lightening done? I know some clinics in Pakistan offer glutathione injects and laser for lightening.
Just want to if you have had it done what where your experiences? and which clinic is best for permanent skin lightening?
thanks in advance:)
Re: skin lightening
Skin lighting procedure are not permanent. It lasts year or two.
Dr. Khurram is known dermatologist(Morning show doctor).
yeah I've heard of him, which city is he based in? the rest of my body is really fair but my neck and face is like 2/3 shades darker :/ something which I hate!!
Because of sun exposurrrre. This is normal. Most desis have this problem.
Solution?
Sunscreen. Protection from the sun. Good skin care regimen and lots and lots and lotsssssssssssss of water.
Because of sun exposurrrre. This is normal. Most desis have this problem.
Solution?
Sunscreen. Protection from the sun. Good skin care regimen and lots and lots and lotsssssssssssss of water.
I live in the UK hardly any sun :p plus I hardly go out lol. I drink lots of water and have been practicing my skin care regimen since the age of 13(I'm 19 now) Fair skin tone runs through my family, my face was really fair (I was known in my family for being the 'chitti motti' child ;)) till I started menstruation at the age of11. Since then my skin has gone an ashy grey colour and there is a significant difference between my face and the rest of my body. Whenever, I go Pakistan it worsens and looks super dull and my lips turn a grey colour opposed to my natural pinkish lips...this time round my cousins were like 'yaar tumhare rang mein bohat farakh agaya hai dr se check karwao lagta hai koon ki kami hai'. I know it's a minor problem for some but for me I have been insecure about this issue for the past 9 years it's messed with my confidence.
I live in the UK hardly any sun :p nce.
Common misconception. 75% of the sun's rays are said to penetrate an overcast sky. The sun is there even when it ain't there. Ideally sunblock should be worn then too. Google Kojie-San soap. It's all-natural and made of kojic acid which is an exfoliator and a lightener. You can try to get it from your local Southeast Asian market. Or you can order it off of Amazon for under $10. There's a seller on Amazon that sells this soap and has the highest number of reviews (can't remember seller's name) but that's the one you should click on. Order one bar to see how it goes. Soap seems to melt fast, so as soon as you're done store it in covered soap dish, the kind that has a lid. When you apply the soap, it will tingle. Try to keep it on your skin for at least 5 minutes before washing it off. If your skin is used to treatments (as mine is) then you can go 10-15 minutes before washing off. But start of small and as your skin gets used to it, you can increase the time a few minutes. You should notice some difference in your skin tone and clarity within 1-2 weeks inshaAllah, buy everybody's skin is different. It should hopefully appear brighter. And the exfoliation from the soap will allow moisturizer and other products to penetrate your skin more effective, so you can use a moisturizer or serum that contains a lightening agent such as hydroquinone or arbutin or licorice etc. I think hydroquinone is banned in UK buy not sure. One precaution that you must take with ANY skin lightening product is to always apply sunblock 15-30 minutes before leaving the home in the daytime, even on a typical cloudy UK day. You can apply the soap to your neck as well, but then also make sure to apply sunblock to neck. Vitamin E is also said to lighten; you can break open a capsule and apply the oil and vit E is also found in oils like olive oil etc. As others have suggested, make sure you drink plenty of water and eat a healthy diet.
And one thing to keep in mind is that skin color changes. Seriously. I was dark as a baby, then really fair afterward, then super saanwli during school years, then lighter during mid teens, etc etc. In some individuals skin color fluctuates. The more important thing is not to be gori chitti, but to have clear and healthy skin. Unfortunately our cousins from "back home" will still make comments even if a girl's skin is darker but glowing and clear. One my cousins is fair-skinned. She went to Pakistan after many years and a cousin remarked that she wasn't as chitti as she was when she was an infant. And mind you this cousin is FAIR, people think she's Caucasian or any race but Desi. But the chitti cousins back home still commented. But in commenting they forget about their own problem areas such as being overweight. They will openly express whether you've gained or lost weight, whether your hair is less or more, whether your rang is glowing or otherwise conveniently forgetting that people CHANGE as time goes by. So, some amount of confidence is necessary too, OP. Don't base your self-worth on cousins' comments.
apni chamri main khush rehna seekhiaye.. apni chamri par fakhar karain... aur apnay ander burdbari paida karain....
Thank you soooo much! Will definitely look into this soap ![]()
Could it be hormonal? You mentioned the changes after hitting puberty. I think you should ask a GP about this. The solution could be as easy as incorporating a certain food/nutrient into your diet.
^Yes, consult a doctor or dermatologist. Rule out health problems and dr can tell you about possible treatments which may be more effective than home remedies.