sitting positions/ postures at work

salams

how do u guys behave when u r sitting on ur pc at work…?

do u ever take off shoes/chappalz off and sit ‘taangein opar kar k on ur chair’ while working on ur pc…? i always take off sandalz and sit taangein or one taang oopar kar k… :smiley: coz i am a paindoo and its comfortable… :smiley:

if u have to stretch do u go to the restroom or just stretch sitting on ur chair? i look around and if noone’s watching i just stretch right there sitting on my chair :smiley:

do you always sit upright in ur chair or do u sometimes slouch or kind of slide into ur chair? i try to sit upright to keep good posture but i usually end up slipping into my chair and typing like that one or two hours into work… :smiley:

r u overall very conscious abt your posture, the way u r sitting etc or r u generally laid back…? i am conscious only when any guy colleague is around my cubicle warna i am generally laid back and be my paindoo self :smiley:

i know all this might seem unprofessional but i think its ok :stuck_out_tongue: coz my job is not a public dealing job, its just my coworkers and me in the office…though the boss can see us from his office but luckily he’s a laid back person himself… :smiley:

what abt u guys…? :slight_smile:

Can't really say I've paid much attention. But I do know that I wouldn't take my shoes off though (I spend a lot of time in court)

no shoes are always stay on... common courteously to fellow workers.. I don't want them to take their shoes off..

if it is just stretching then in my own cube, who cares who is watching they can feast their eyes if they want too :)

unfortunately I slouch.. after reading this thread I am sitting with my back straight like teer ka kaman... posture is very important as we grow old in these very chairs... my PM, who is a health freak... "how will you ever play football with your kids when they grow up if you keep on sitting like this..."

I dont have a job but thanks to gs m spending countless hours front of the computer so I can relate some how shoes r already off so need for that, the computer is in my room, so I have everything on my computer table from my cell phone to book bag, and sometimes even food

^ that is one hell of a computer table... u just need to add a shoe rack to it and you are all set...

:rotfl" ^ I didn't mention everything, I got a shoe rack right in my closet

I have or rather had a customer service job. So we would sit on these high chairs unless customers were around. If we wanted to stretch, we had a little cubicle thingy to chill at and also a patio for ppl who smoked. Sometimes if it wasnt so busy, I would take my shoes off and sit at my chair reading GS :D

I watch out for my posture while working but would slouch once in a while, if uncomfy in the chair, would take the laptop and sit on one of the sofas in my office. I stretch at my desk..why bother going somewhere else

dont have issues with taking shoes off due to courtesy, but more so because someone can come running anytime to talk about something and its unprofessional to be sitting in the office with the shoes off.

timeslots in the day when I am working on something and not available to meet. the door is closed and I can do what i want. No surprises

I have a high back chair... and I usually sit by having the whole back supported by the chair. If, for some reason I push forward (to pick up phone etc) and keep working like that, within a few minutes I'd realize that there is pressure building on lower back and I will need to slide all the way back on the chair. The height of the chair is adjusted so that the elbow is bent at exactly 90'. A while ago an ergonomics expert checked out our whole office and approved everyone's offices/cubicles etc and gave us all tips on how to have the best posture.

I don't take the shoes off, except may be if I am working on a weekend and its late evening.

For stretching and breaking the monotony I have a dart board in my room. A colleague next door has a mini putting (golf) in his room. So we alternate between the two and its fun.

as far as comfort in sitting goes...may god bless herman miller for making the aeron chairs.

thx all for replies..interesting :D

I have an aeron chair, that I adjust according to my comfort. I do not take my shoes off, but once or twice I take my wedding ring off for few minutes. Sometimes I go to work in shorts in summer mostly with sandles on but still no point taking sandles off.

Thanx to Altec subwoofer and 5 speakers 450 watts sound system I not only rock my own desk but also annoy my collegues sitting around me. I am known as "DJ Naj" in the company anyway.

Come on guys this is how things work for Sys Admins in Netherlands, this is not North America. BTW, our Departmental board member sits only 20 metres from our office and sometimes comes and listens to our music with us. She is American though.

like pretty much everyone has pointed out (in not so many words) that maintaining posture perhaps has got a lot to do with the type of work that you do, to main bhi is se agree karta hoon.

Once one of the clients commented on us I. Bankers being so prim and proper with our dressing and postures jis par mera Dept. Head (jo ke kaafi shughli hai) kehta hia ke ‘janab yeh to hamara uniform hai’ :smiley:

We have a small team of 12 people around me and we sit in an enclosure. We do not have separate cubicles (not yet!) for all of us, thora se bara ho jaon ga to mil jaega :D…us main bhi then I generally maintain a proper posture at work (and most co-workers around me too). Angraaein lene main koi tension nahin hai bethe bethe he le lete hain…taking shoes off is a big no no… (baqion ko jaan se thori maarna hai! :hoonh: )

I am an aberration though, main to apni desk par pari cheezain he theek karta rehta hoon to phir proper posure maintain karna to kaafi zaroori hua na mere liay :rolleyes: (I was reading in one of my hor(r)o(r)scopes ke jo log apne huliye par kaafi tawajjah dete hain woh kaafi insecure hote hain :stuck_out_tongue: