sister us visa(serious help needed)

her us visa which her husband applied for her is delaying and delaying…my bil said her file is lost again he opned her file 3 times but every time it got lost …1st time it was her mistake she didnt sent him few papers so it was lost (neche chali gai hai as he said )but then again and again what ever the reason file is missing now he said i cant apply to open it 4th time?

my question is cant the file open 4rt time?? is it any law?i m not sure but may b we have to pay $ to open it
what to do now?if we wait then unlimited wait for interview then again wait when they issue …

2nd advise i want from you people is my bhabhi’s dad suggest us to to for us visit visa in us embassy and ask them full story with marriage certificate pics and his passport copy along with casefile no sponcership application paper and ask them to issue us temporary visa untill she got imigrant visa because she si a wife of their citizen and also tell them that its has been delaying for 3 years now usually it wont take this much..or ask them to locate file in usa and make that sponcership fast…

what do u say…should we go for ths…???is it a good idea

we are very worried about her marrige…and visa

Re: sister us visa(serious help needed)

sounds like a daal main kaala to me

3 years sounds way too long. I don't understand this whole closing of the file and reopening business.

If papers are missing, then immigration services would notify your sister's husband of the missing documents and request them. Then it would be his job to put them together, send again. I don't think there's a limit on how many times you can send the papers. May there might be a limit if the applicant is completely rejected and not applicable for a green card. Not sure.

If he's having a hard time understanding what papers to send, then he needs to go to an attorney. They can handle these things. If he refuses to do that, then there's something really fishy here.

No offense but something sounds fishy about the husband.

check the status online...ask him the case #, go on USCIS website, enter the case #, it will tell if you if it was filed, not filed, in review, etc. For a US citizen, it should not take 3 years, normally it takes 1 year...

Something doesnt sound right to me.

He probably doesn't want to bring her over...?

Does sound fishy!

yeah like said u can check status online .. dont mean to scare u but sounds like ur jijoo's acting shady .. know wat i mean ? ..

It’s for her own good that the cat purrs :chai:

yep do what Lusi said.. there is no way that she will get the visit visa especially if she is married to a US citizen!That'sjust the rule of thumb for US embassy!

What stage is she stuck at? if it's after interview then your BIL doesn't have much say in it but if it's still at USCIS or NVC stage, it's all in his hands since all they need is the right paper work from the couple!

Your BIL is a US citizen applying for a visa for his wife?

There is no such thing as "neechay chali gayi hai file"...that kind of stuff doesnt happen here because people can sue the government left and right for it.

Your BIL sounds fishy to me.

There is a scenario when the applicant misses an appointment like an interview date or fingerprint date, in that case the file can get delayed because then the file goes back in the queue and gets back in working only once it is up in the queue.
That can be an unlimited delay. Also once the file goes down in the queue, you can not do anything to bring it back up.
But that would be in your sister's hand as she will get the letter at her address for any appointment.

I am not sure if the case ever closes. I remember I sent somethign wrong with my initial application and they sent the whole package back to me.
I sent a new application with things corrected. Had they sent it back to me 3 times, I could send back the application 3 times. The fee was also returned since they never started the processing so no addiitonal $$ were needed other than the regualr fee.

Also as others suggested, you can check the status online. Or even call USCIS and ask them. Your sister will need mostly her details and her husband's DOB and SSN ( I cant recall what other information is needed, may be husband's Alien number) But try calling in and your sister will know what details are required to ask for a case.
There is no need to go to US embassy and they cannot help you with the case. They have the information on a case when it comes to the embassy not when it is still with USCIS.

If a permanent visa has been applied, it is discouraged to apply for any other type of visa. In any case USCIS will know an immigrant visa application is under way and they will not proceed with any other visa application.

What is the status of your BIL. Do you know if he is a US citizen or a greencard holder. For a greencard holder it can take many years. For a citizen usually a year if everything goes right.

maybe the lawyer is dodgy as it happened with some one I know ...the guy(unfortunately he was from pakistan too) messed them around for quite a while, minting $$$..now they have a gora lawyer and most of thr work is complete..
check all the areas of descrepancies...

actually its 2 years and 1 month ,she got nikahofied in 2009 early months when he applied then after 10 months he asked us for pastport but unfortunately our grandfather passed away and we got bussy in that thing and then batwara of property etc then she changed her name in id and made a new pastport with his name .it took 4 month to send him when he asked ... i know our fault..then he said they objected on birth certificate that her name is not written on it only baby girl is written so then we fix it and sent a new bith certificate with her name written on it and 4 pics as well as he asked pics too....he said when u didnt sent pastport copy on time that is why file gone down (neche chali gai hai)in the que and other files who recently applied are up..that is why file got delayed...but now 8 months gone we sent him pastport and birth certificate ..we understand our mistake that we sent him pasport late 4,5 month and we were ready to wait exactra 5 more months for our mistake and we waited..but now its 8 montsh nothing hapened he didnt recieve any thing as he say and lawyer he hire he said file is in queue ..u have to wait for your case turn...the file in process..i m not sure lawyer can do anything to get file up in que?????? the file must b at USCIS or NVC stage because she havnet call for interview or medical yet.....
now what we do...if the file goes back in the queue what we ,he or layer can do to bring it back up.how it will get up in the queue :(

Soundarya its not closing it is that file gone back in que or gone down..others spouses file are now in process and her is delayed but still in process so to make it quick he reopened it..i dont know he said this.nothing is missing we provide him all papers but her file is delayed...

Lusi u gave a great idea ,i,ll ask him then check myself..tthnaks alot i didnt know that we can check ourself from here

Gemini it's still at USCIS or NVC stage...i m not sure wheres exactly ...interview ka tu kuch pata hi nahi hai...

Reha yup he is a pakistani but a us citizen came to pak 2 years back for nikkah..and took nikkah nama along with him,
oh reallyy??what can i say...

Saad
i dont know ,he didnt sent some thing wrong but on 1 paper they objected something and they ask some thig which we give him late.he is a citizen i saw his us papsport even i have a coloured copy of his ssn card and pastport

Girl on ice initially he was doing at his own when it got delayed he hired a lawyer.lawyer said file in process ..u have to wait for your no as he told my father..

thanks for your valuable advices and sugetions
i m not sure is there something fishy or not...i hope not....

Ask your BIL for the case # and you should be able to check it online in Pakistan. Try not to make it sound like you're suspicious of him or anything because it might not be his fault. Inshallah nothing fishy is going on.
The INS can really screw you over sometimes and give extra Red Tape-associated crap to Middle Easterners because they know there's nothing we can do about it besides just wait.

Ive never heard of this queue business. People dont wait in line...its not like that here.

He can sue if it takes too long...I know someone who did.

I just dont know if I believe your BIL.

If you send an incorrect document, the case is going to get delayed as compared to other cases.
If you are comparing the timeframe it took others with the timeframe of your sisters case then since the documents were not accepted, the case will take a little longer.
Birth certificates in Pakistan are or may be were not the most accurate documents. I had a different spelling of my name on my Pakistani birth certificate than all of my other documents. Whatever document my husband sent me I checked it before submitting it because submitting a wrong document definitely causes delays. The time the document reaches the officer, the time taken by him to check it and then return it and all.
T
he timeframes you have mentioned, out of those 2 years, your own mistake added delay of 4 months the first time and then again 4 months with the passport.
Probably BIL did not sumbit the document right away and then postage time so half of the delay is your own fault.

I have never heard of officers letting the case files sit in some queue. May be it is a term the lawyer is using so your BIL used the same terms of queue and the file going down.
May be what he meant was that since the case was not compelte with all the required and correct documents, the officer is going to work on it again when the correct documents are sent in.
I know of someone whose case after being all finalized and everything was put on hold because of one document not conforming to the requirements of USCIS.

There are many websites that have the whole process details. I used one (visajourney.com). You can check this or just google for the IR1 process.
Your sisters case would be an IR1/CR1 case. You will underatnd the process if you go through some website.

Once you have the case number and you check what stage it is in, you can have all the required and correct documents ready.

Once the case is with NVC, and if you have all the docs ready and your BIL pays the fee online and all, the process after that can be pretty fast.

oh i c...may b he used that term jjust to explain us..but may b u r right he is may b careless or i have no idea ...but if u sent incomplete or wrong papers then must b complete papers applicant would b their first preference and rest get in que for there turn???

No, it is not like complete or correct applications have preference.
Priority is based on relationship and spouses have the highest priority.
Applications/cases are worked on as they come in and as they get assigned to a case officer.

Lets suppose My case, your case and 1 more case was assigned to an officer. Mine being the the first one reaching the office.

• The officer starts working on my case but finds documents as incorrect or missing, sends me a letter informing me what to do next or what further documents to send or whatever.
  • The officer then starts working on your case as there is nothing further to do with my application.
  • I send in the missing or corrected document and the officer will start working on my case again, (even if not immediately) but he/she will start it again.
  • If I take too long to send the documents, the officer willy keep on working on other cases/applications that are assigned to him/her.

So you see the longer I take to submit correct or required document, the longer the wait is for me.
I think if I remember correctly it took us around 6 months with USCIS, the case was then sent to NVC and things happen really quickly with NVC if you keep on sending everything fast and on time.
I ll suggest again to check the website to learn the process or recommend it to your BIL.
I never hired any lawyer. The process is very simple and easy.

Also check this