Single Friends

As many of you who have been reading my writing for the past nearly 10 years know, I come with lots of problems.

One problem is that I keep bumping into successful, educated, NICE, moral, honorable girls (no, they’re not money obsessed, just because they have a job. :rolleyes: ), and they all have the same problem. They are single and are having difficulty finding guys who are understanding of their careers and their requests for an independent life.

Every time I get together with them, it is one story after another of bad rishtas - where there was some problem or the other during negotiations and they didn’t go through with it.

And invariably, I am expected to help them find guys.

First of all, I don’t have time to find a boy for you. If I did, he’d be mine, thanks.

Secondly, I fear that if I introduce them to someone I do know, and things don’t work out - I’ll be blamed for introducing them to a bad person.

Third, if I do pass on a rishta option to them, and the guy has something wrong with him, I’ll be accused of keeping good rishtas for myself and passing on the bad ones to my friends.

:rolleyes:

I really don’t feel like being caught up in all that, so all I do is listen to their complaints.

And even that I need a break from because it’s not like I’m not going through the same crap. So, only so much listening that I can do.

I do care for these women - they’re good women - and they deserve to meet people and it sucks that every time they meet a guy they’re told all kinds of stupid things like “you need to be home by 2” or “I’m looking for someone who will cook fresh parathas every morning from scratch, because my mom does that for me” or “I’ve had about 6 sexual partners, but you’ve never had a bf have you??” (all true stories)

:rolleyes:

My question: In cases of friends looking for proposals, do you help them out or do you stay out of it, for fear of being slammed if the proposals don’t work out?

o god..how depressing

Re: Single Friends

help them when you yourself are in the same situation?
You can help them by giving them no's of rishta karaney wali aunties.

What? I don't have those numbers and neither do I want them.

I am pretty sure I saw some numbers on GS .
Give it to them .It might help them.

First of all .. let THEM know as to why you are in this same situation as them , once they knw of it .. snce they re your frends .. they ll understand that .. its difficult to find good ppl and it takes time .. and effort .. and if your taking your time to find the right person .. and doing sabr that one day someone good will come into your life .. and so with them knowing your situation .. they will understand that they arnt alone ..and just have to look harder and keep trying .. it will comfort them that there are other ppl in their situation or alike situation ...

this way .. you wont have to tell them the harsh way that you dunt have time or you dont knw ppl of good .. nor you wont have to tell that look for good ppl yourself .. aur iss mein jhoot bhi nahi ho ga if your in 'similar' situation to them .

Good luck

If I didn't know someone I could personally vouch for, I would simply tell them I don't know anyone, sorry.

10 years on this forum??????

The kind of problems you post, its clear this forum has been of no help to you.

For everything you just said above, the best answer for you is clear. If you’re single and interested in finding someone for youself, it is stupid of your friends to be asking you to find someone for them. Beyond stupid. Make it clear with them that if you find a suitable guy, you’ll pursue him first.

If I were to introduce people, I’d leave it all upto them to handle it. If they are kids about it, well then… I haven’t met them yet.

(Yes, that sentence is supposed to read the what it does.)

okay, first of all its not your obligation to find rishta for them.

One of the thing that i have learned in life, never ever poke into someone's matter for the reasons that you have mentioned. there is no point of doing that. and if you really feel like doing it .. then you can do it like .. you can let someone know somebody .. by saying .. I just know him, i am not sure how he is or what kind a person he is ..its your call not mine .. ..

You give them each other's numbers/info with a disclaimer/fine-print that you can not be held responsible for any shortcomings. you can also read the disclaimer QUICKLY just as they read on TV

I have helped friends find someone, but I found both in the guys and the girls cases that when they were unsuccessful with a match for an extended period of time, it was not just due to the types of matches that were being proposed, but also with their own demands.

one of my best pals i had t tell him, dude you are looking for a mix of mother teresa and cindy crawford, but you yourself are not edhi and brad pitt..he was very mad at me, but later admitted that as much as it hurt it made him think

This other dude i was helping, could never figure out what he wanted, ended up marrying someone and then promptly got divorced in less than a year

another dude i was helping gave me some criteria and then when i introduced someone to him, his criteria increased..

a girl got mad at me a few years ago saying I was not really seriously helping her, and I had to tell her that I had been trying to introduce her to people since late 90s, including my cousin who she liked but they did not click...with other guys and she would always find some issue, and those guys are all happily married and have families. at one time I had also introduced her to dude 1 and dude 2 in the example. anyhoo I told her look almost all my friends are married, those who are not married include dude #2 and you did not like him, and those who are single are not interested, what can I do. She did not like hearing the facts, pretty much cut off communications, stopped coming over, and last time I reached out, there was some statement of how we are not real friends anymore. its sad really but what can i do if someone just wants to lash out

The challenge is that when you introduce such finicky people to your family and friends and they act in the way of these examples I gave you, it puts you in a tough spot, you end up upsetting one or both individuals and it just becomes a headache.

^ X2, may be she was interested in you and you were not realizing that. you kept on introducing "other" guys to her :)

no amigo, that was never the case. i know it

you treat your friends exactly the way I treat mine. :omg:

And I like the way you both treat your friends :hmmm:

it was after months and years of seeing him be confused, reject very good girls, educated, smart, good looking because well they did not have the look he was looking for. and then getting all down because when he did find someone he liked they were not interested. I had to sit him down and talk about that when he is looking for a total package, the girls are as well, and while he is a nice guy, a doc who will be making half a mil etc, he simply is avg in looks and sub par in grooming and dressing. it resonated with him because he started taking better care of his appearance and grooming etc.

a friend has to be brutally honest sometime..yet still deliver it in a sensitive manner