Singapore/Dubai

hubby is planning a trip from USA-SINGAPORE-DUBAI-LAHORE with my pregnant self and 3 yo daughter inshallah.

we will be staying here in Singapore.

Accommodation in Singapore: Park Avenue Rochester

can anyone recommend things to do or places to see in Singapore? what are some must dos? we will be here for about a week. also, what about halal/zabihah places to eat?

can you guys recommend affordable hotels to stay in Dubai and things to do/see with a toddler while pregnant? we will be staying in Dubai for 4 days in mid- November.

Re: Singapore/Dubai

aaah Singapore my fav place. What to do depends on your interests but you do not want to miss

• Singapore Botanic Gardens
  • Sentosa Island
  • Science Center
  • Just roam around on Serangoon Road
  • Visit Sultan Mosque
  • Shopping. Shopping is fun (and cheap in Singapore)

Halal food is not an issue at all in Singapore and you will find tonz of places Mashallah. Dont miss on trying biryani at restaurants around Sultan Mosque and food in little India (Serangoon Road)

This is what I replied in your parenting thread.

Last time we went to Dubai, my daughter was just under 2 years old and we stayed in an apartment in the marina area, as it was easier to have a kitchen to warm up milk n have a microwave etc there. There was a kids pool in the building and we spent most of our mornings there.

What area are you thinking of staying? What sort of budget to you have? Jumeirah beach is a lot more expensive than Deira/Bur Dubai. Go to hotels.com and search for accommodation. I also never book anything before checking reviews on tripadvisor. I would recommend you stay in a hotel apartment so you have amenities of hotel and apartment.

As for things to do, some of the things we did were;
Burj Khalifa and musical fountains
AquaPlay at Mirdiff mall, my little on loved it there
Magic planet, an indoor play area with rides, at Mirdiff mall and a few other malls
Creekside park
Wild wadi water park
Al Mamzar beach park
Dinner dhow cruise
Speedboat ride at creek

A few other things were desert safari and iFly dubai but wouldn't recommend these since ur pregnant.

Dubai is my favourite holiday destination as there is so much to do there and all he food is halal. You have to try Ibrahimis restaurant and jimmys killer prawns. But check out tripadvisor.

I ve visited Dubai but now i think i havnt seen it...Wow...

Any reasonably priced hotel/apartment recommendations for Dubai?

I've been told to look close to metro stations, particularly the Al Barsha area.

so far i'm considering Al Marmara Apt Hotel, Doubletree, Ibis, White Feather Apt Hotel. Has anyone stayed at any of these or live in the area to give me pros/cons?

What is a reasonable price to pay in November in USD? Is $850 USD for 4 nights reasonable? It seems a bit much to me, but not sure. We are not looking for something grand, just clean and spacious and convenient location for hubby, myself and toddler.

Please help!

In Singapore, go to the Fika Cafe, located just off Arab Street. I thought the food was pretty good - halal Swedish food. Or maybe I liked it because I was tired of Nasi Goreng and Nasi Ayam.

Stuff to do in Singapore for a week:

Visit Orchard Road- Whole stretch full of malls and having boutiques and high end stores.
Sentosa- This can take you one day. Go in the morning, try to cover at least one beach and perhaps Underwater World/Adventure Cove etc. Take the cable car!
Universal Studios- This is in Sentosa too, but you definitely to come back a different day for it. You may skip it if you have been to US parks.
Little India and Chinatown- Visit these places if you are more into seeing some traditional parts. Walk to temples and take photos. Chinatown has a Buddha Tooth Relic Temple and Little India Sri Mariamman Temple that are nice to photograph.
Arab Street- a quaint little area. Check our Sultan Mosque there.

Little India, Chinatown and Arab St can be covered in one day if you start your day early! oh and go to Mustafa Centre at Little India. It's a 24 hour big mall. It has every indian/desi and some pakistani grocery item ever. Basically a mall that has EVERY THING. A must see.

Halal food is available every where. You may want to try fast food since the US doesnt have halal fast food. Do note that Subway however, isnt halal.

Oh and I disagree with Decent. Singapore shopping is not cheap at all. Compare prices to the US, and you will be shocked. Little india and some small places may be cheap, food is not that expensive too, but shopping for clothes, make up, home ware, furniture is definitely way more expensive than the US. Dubai may be slightly cheaper.

thanks for the tips rosedreams! i also heard shopping in Singapore was wayyy more expensive compared to the US, but I guess its all relative :). I’m not really there to shop, but would like to see what its like. We’re going to Dubai and Lahore afterwards, so I plan on doing most of my shopping in Lahore :).

how safe and easy is it to use the metro rail in Singapore? Do you know if it goes to most of those locations? We will be staying further west at Park Avenue Rochester Accommodation in Singapore: Park Avenue Rochester and I’m wondering if the metro is safe and easy to use while being pregnant and with a toddler.

Singapore/Dubai

Sorry if I'm late in replying. The train is absolutely safe if you're with kids and pregnant!

I was comparing it with Dubai and not US. I am sure shopping is cheap in Singapore than in Dubai :)

Been to Singapore many times and lived there. It's majestic in all senses.

If you are planning to roam around Singapore,you do not need to be apprehensive about any road side restaurants because all hotels in Singapore keep up Government standards and everything is clean and hygienic.You do not have to feel worry about the safety and security aspects of Singapore.It is foul proof and the Police assistance is imminent.

Clothes,apparels etc may be costly in Singapore.

But Electronic gadgets such a mobiles and Cameras are cheap.

Mustaffa shopping mall(Little India) is a famous mall in Singapore,owned by a Pakistani also Sim-Lim square for electronic items.Mustaffa is just a walkaway distance from Little India and Farrer -Park MR.T.'s.

There is an India/Bengali outlet called Niranjan's (for electronic things,if you are looking for without warrenty items.,it is so cheap)....It is situated near Farrer-Park M.R.T station,Little India,along Race Course road.

[quote=“nabz”]

thanks for the tips rosedreams! i also heard shopping in Singapore was wayyy more expensive compared to the US, but I guess its all relative :). I’m not really there to shop, but would like to see what its like. We’re going to Dubai and Lahore afterwards, so I plan on doing most of my shopping in Lahore :).

how safe and easy is it to use the metro rail in Singapore? Do you know if it goes to most of those locations? We will be staying further west at Park Avenue Rochester Accommodation in Singapore: Park Avenue Rochester and I’m wondering if the metro is safe and easy to use while being pregnant and with a toddler./QUOTE]

Singapore Metro runs to almost all the places.If you are intending to stay in Singapore for many days and if you are planning to take Singapore Metro quite often,then you better avail a Metro Card .It costs you 12 Sing $ .Otherwise the normal one and please do not forget to get your One Dollar back after each trip. :slight_smile:

Singapore Metro is very safe and I am sure you will not face any problem.

Try to avoid morning rush ours and evening rush hours.You can get SBS as well.

There are free Metros connecting various terminals of Changi Airport…Also Changi airport is connected by Metro.

O.K another point to note is Singapore has `queue’ system. :hehe: It is there at Cab stations aswell.

Halal food is not a problem except Chinese quarters.Anyway,you can have a touch of all dishes.