Sindhi Language on Identity Card

Re: Sindhi Language on Identity Card

I mentioned in my earlier posts that Urdu as a subject was introduced to us in class 6 , it has different alphabet, so a person who was taught in Sindhi may not read Urdu properly.

My only point is when I've facility to get my id card in my own language (which can pronounce my name and addresse properly), why should I don't have it. Why should I put my own and my areas identity on risk by adapting a language which can't convey names of those places properly.

:k: This!

bhai jaan, ID card is for others to identify you, or for you to prove your identity to others, its not for reading your name and home address with proper pronunciation and be happy about it : p

Its not matter of just being happy about it. How do you feel if your name is Ghalib and you are called Galib. Your name is Farooq and its written as Pharook?

And besides, English has far less alphabets than Urdu and can not pronounce several words properly, but the language on passport is still English.

(I would personally like to have it written both in Urdu and English though, like Germans or French do).

Ab kya Muqawwee sahab wahaN bhi Sindhi maiN banaeiN kay apna passport?

Its not the decision of myself to have id card in Sindhi. If there is that much need to abolish Sindhi id cards, lets the political parties come up with this agenda before people and know their worth : D

Why should one be denied right of being recognised properly in his / her own language? Did Sindhi people impose this on non-Sindhi (living in Sindh) to have their id cards in Sindhi? Then whats the need of making fuss about national cards being in Sindhi?

what rough percentage of our Sindhi speaking country men are likely to have such names?
and don't you think that this wish to have proper pronunciation of name actually somewhat kills the core purpose of this document?
but then as i said earlier, i've never really seen any Sindhi ID card in my life living in Sindh, and out of all those years i've spent 2 years in a semi-govt organization in administrative support position, working with names and addresses was an overwhelming part of my job, and never faced any difficulty with anyone complaining about their name not getting "pronounced" right in writing.

so may be its not that big an issue, i would let my Sindhi friends have their ID cards in their local language and be happy : )

PS: would you mind telling your last name? may be in PM if not here, just bit curious

Aapko baar'ha jawab day chukay haiN kay kiu zroori hay that national assets like ID card should be in national language.

Aceones nay to bohat hi acha jawab diya hay.

Ab aap baar baar ek hi baat ko repeat kiye ja rahey haiN "Why should one be denied right of ....". Kaha to hay kay no one is being denied the right of anything.

Language ko literary aur cultural level pay zroor farog milna chahiye.

Uskay saath saath yay bhi zroori hay jab sab log mil kar ek mulk banatey haiN, to phir yay regional politics say baahir nikal kay national level pay sochna chahiye.

Mustansar Hussain Tarar مستنصر حسين تارڑ

j/k.

you lived in Sindh and you didn't come up with castes like Dahiri , Manganhaar, Muhano, Umrani, Jakhrani, Jiskani, Shahani, Sindhi Memon, Chaa-run, Nizamani, Babbar, ChajjRa, Haisbani, Mangrani, Bhagat, Aadwani, JaamRo, Waggan, Dawach, Jalbani, Mangriyo, Wassan, Junejo. These all caste name contains one or more than two Sindhi alphabets which can't be catered by Urdu / English alphabets. So if people got them that right on their id cards, I don't find it a big deal.

PS: My surname is one of those surnames mentioned above.

I have already read your biased comments, so don't want to indulge with you in any debate on this issue. For you all people living in rural Sindh are illeterate, so why those illiterate got a right to have their id cards in their own language.

and please refrain from your chawwani wale jokes like in post no. 49.

*Dahiri , Manganhaar, Muhano, Umrani, Jakhrani, Jiskani, Shahani, Sindhi Memon, Chaa-run, Nizamani, Babbar, ChajjRa, Haisbani, Mangrani, Bhagat, Aadwani, JaamRo, Waggan, Dawach, Jalbani, Mangriyo, Wassan, Junejo

If they can be written in English, how many of the above mentioned can not be written in Urdu?

Just curious.

Read it again:

These all caste name contains one or more than two Sindhi alphabets which can't be catered by Urdu / English alphabets. So if people got them that right on their id cards, I don't find it a big deal.

ooooh ok now i got it, thanks for explaining

have heard most of them. mostly these are not part of official name so that's why people don't face the problem on Urdu ID card probably. and if i'm not wrong you are pointing to that sound which is "aRay+noon-ghunna" kind of? like...
Umrani = Umra[NR]eenN
Junejo = Jun[NRaiN]jo
right?

I've been to Hydrabad and gharo many times, and some other areas. also ObaRo, if we talk about pronunciation, people even pronounce Pakista[RN] also, m i right?

PS: Aadwani??? is it same as Advani of india?

No surname become the last name in ones id card, thats why a person not aware of the castes of the area may not distinguish it.

Yes Advani is Sindhi caste.

Kindly refrain from twisting the things to suit your arguments now.

You brought up the issue that people in rural Sindh are illetrate and can not read or write in Urdu and I just wrote that education is fundamental right of every Pakistani.

Kindly check your own posts in this thread before accusing others for something that they have not said.

Muqawwee: that makes sense about surname, i agree

o hello bhai saab. who said this:

And BTW, the people in rural Sindh you are referreing to are unable to read and write EVERY language, I bet they can't read the card even if it is written in Sindhi.

I'll never ever accept that not knowing Urdu is illiteracy.

Its just not surnames.. many villages / town names face the same problem. If we allow all record to be in urdu and English, our next generations will not be aware of proper names of these places. Its our heritage and maintaining id cards in Sindhi is a simple way to keep it in intact.

hmmm i don't agree with this. promoting local language and heritage is all good, but there are other better forums for this. Reducing the effectiveness of a National Identity document is not the right way to persist the right name of oneself or their village/ town

but anyway, not a big deal. i'm out