can someone plz give me a recipe for sindhi biryani, my hubby loves rice dishes and to b honest im pretty tired of making pilauwant to try something different
Shinoo- the one in ur pic looks fab iis it poss to have ur recipe??
Re: Sindhi Biryani
Mutton or beef 1-1/2 kg
Rice (easy cook - saila chawal) 1 kg soak in water for 5 hours
Red chilli powder 2 and half tablespoon
Halidi 1 teaspoon
Garam masala - ground 1 tablespoon.
Aroma masala
Grind Jaefal, jawatri,
zera and sufeed illachi
seeds
together to make a powder
2 tablespoon
Salt 3 teaspoons.
Ginger garlic paste 3 tablespoon
Tomato 1 Kg Cut into small pieces
Put all these things with meat, add some water, and cook on low heat. When meat is tender. Dry up the water and keep the pot on one side and put some 30 grams plums (aaloo bukhara).
Take two onions and slice them thinly. Fry this till light brown in one cup of oil. Then take out the fried onion from the oil. Take 200 grams yougurt, some mint leaves and some bullet chillies and mix it with the fried onion.
Boil 2 and half times water of the rice in a large pot. Then put the soaked rice in the water and add 3 tablespoon salt in it. When rice are about too cook, drain out excess water.
Then put a layer of rice on the cooked meat and masala, The add a layer of the yougurt paste. Then put rest of the rice. Add oil (the one in you fried onions). Oild should be warm not hot. Sprinkle kewra water and zarda colour liquid on the biryani.
Simmer it for 20 mins.
Note: The meat and masala mix should not be cold when you put rice layers on it.
thnk u will try it but can i substitute the meat for veg ya chicken?
Yes. But then you have to cook the tomatoes first separately.
Sweetu here is Sindhi biryani recipe in urdu 4 u,i made this Sindhi biryani for my dad especially and belive me it was awesome and yumilicious.
thnk u but english main translate ho sakthi hai i can read urdu but thas like sooooo long i will faint
biriyani bhi sindhi aur punjabi hoti hai:vivo:
Hi sweetu, I don't think mine is sindhi biryani?!
I posted the recipe in my thread btw. Here it is again:
Thanks Shay :-) You should contribute!
Ok guys here's my Biryani recipe. This is exactly how I make it!
4 mugs of rice Approx 1.5 kg of chicken (legs and thighs/breast) Around 6 big potatoes
250 grams of yoghurt 4 big tomatoes 4 medium onions 1-1.5 cups cooking oil Bunch of mintleaves Around 5 green chilli Aalu bukhara (optional) A few tspoons of foodcolour 1 lemon
1.5 tbspoon garlicpaste 1.5 tbspoon gingerpaste 3 bayleaves 4 small cardemoms (green) 4 big cardemoms 10 blackpeppercorns 8 laung 3 pieces of cinnamonstick 1.5 tbspoon whole cumin seeds 2 staranise 2 pieces of jaiphel 0.5 piece of nutmeg (grated)
1.5 to 2 (heaped) teaspoons red chilli powder 2 tbspoons corainderpowder 1 tbspoon cuminpowder 0.5 teaspoon turmericpowder Around 2 teaspoon salt (correct it later if necessary) 1.5 tbspoon of (laziza) biryani masala
1- Wash and soak the rice for at least 2 hours 2- Heat the oil in a heavy based pan and add one sliced onion. Fry till golden/dark brown and take them out on a plate. Keep aside 3- Add the rest of the sliced onions in the oil, fry till golden brown and add the ginger and garlic paste. 4- Now add the bayleaves, cardemoms, blackpeppercorns, laung, cinnamon and fry. 5- Add the whole cumin and the chicken. Fry till everything is nicely coated. 6- In a seperate bowl add the yoghurt. Then add chillipowder, coriander powder, turmeric, cuminpowder, salt, biryani masala, anise, jaiphel and the nutmeg. Mix well. 7- Add the yoghurt mixture to the meat and stir well. 8- Add water, enough to cook the chicken. 9- Either fry the halved potatoes seperately in some oil till they're almost done or add them to the chicken mixture and let it cook with the chicken. (If you eat your biryani without potatoes then just skip this whole step) 10- Once the chicken is cooked and water has 'evaporated' add the cubed tomatoes and stir till oil seperates. Now add a bunch of mintleaves, green chillis and the alu bukhara (optional). Your masala is ready.
11- In a big pan boil water (fill it till 3/4 of the pan). Add the soaked rice. Boil the rice untill they're almost tender. Should still be a bit of a 'bite'. Now drain the rice and wash them quickly with cold tapwater so they cool off (stop the cooking process).
12- In another pan add half of the rice. Make it even and add the juice of half a lemon and foodcolour 13- Add the chicken masala and then top with rest of the rice. 14- Add the rest of the lemon juize and some more foodcolour. Now finally add the fried onions and cover the pan tightly with foil. 15- Let it on 'dum' for around 20 to 30 minutes. 16- Mix the rice and ENJOY eating!
Hi sweetu, I don't think mine is sindhi biryani?!
I posted the recipe in my thread btw. Here it is again:
It is very much Sindhi biryani.
How do you guys incorporate aloo bukharas into the biryani? When and are they sweet?
Yes they are sweat and sour. Put them once you have boiled the meat and masalas together i.e do not cook them, just let them cook in the steam after boiling and tenderising of the meat.
and i was about to put fresh alubuharas in my biryani
, only to b told by my hubby that they r different n come in packets
The recipe looks cool...I will give it a try...