Simple cooking tasks that you find hard to master

I absolutely cannot make a fried egg…I always either burn it to a crisp or turn it over too soon and end up having to turn it into scrambled egg instead.

Which basic cooking tasks do you find hard to get right?

Re: Simple cooking tasks that you find hard to master

I just can't "puff" a roti. It happens once in a while... maybe 1 out 10.

I haven’t yet figured out what I am doing wrong.

Boiling milk - it always boils over or else sticks to the bottom
Making that perfect sunny side up egg - always too oily

And you need to open some jars to start cooking, I can't open most, so yeah there's that too

I cant make round rotis :(
Fried egg: I can make a perfect one, Allah ka shukar hai!

The only time an egg will turn crisp is if the oil was too hot to start with. Make sure the oil is medium hot so that when u put the egg in u cannot even see the white for a few secs and then it gradually becomes visible. Let it take its time to cook. Instead of flipping over just drizzle some hot oil on the yolk to cook it a bit.

As for difficult to master cooking tasks...my boiled rice cannot be relied upon.

One fried egg is NAP but when you have to cook 4/5 and each to come out perfect ... not that is skill.

means I am a skilled egg frier :roman:

Sometimes the egg sticks to the pan. I found the solution to this a couple of weeks ago but haven’t tested it yet. Heat the pan first then pour in the oil and fry. I will try tomorrow morning. Insha Allah.

Aren;t those frozen sheemaals the yummiest thing?

FF, what are sheermals?

They are these semi sweet naans, high in calories and fat but irresistably scrumptious. You can find them in the freezer of desi stores along with puff parathas etc.

mashed potatoes

Sometimes the egg sticks to the pan. I found the solution to this a couple of weeks ago but haven’t tested it yet. Heat the pan first then pour in the oil and fry.

Be careful, if you heat the pan too much, the second you pour in the oil it will start burning/evaporating.

Try a little salt instead to see if it helps with the sticking.

Ahh .. why not use the ones that come in a box. :ahaa:

i always told my mom to be proud of me for making an egg!