Sikhs in Pakistan

This article pertains to Sikh communities in NWFP. I believe the largest Sikh community in Pakistan is in Punjab.

June, 1999
Pakistan/ Peshawar

Sikhs in Pakistan

http://www.snsm.org.my/library/media/media_1999/9906.htm

Persecuted by Aurangzeb in the 17th century, or sent scurrying to the hills for refuge twice in the twentieth century, the Sikhs who have joined the Pakhtun tribes in these mountain regions are a breed apart. The tribal principle of sanctuary to the Amsaya, or protected one, was what eased them into a region known for its traditional and rigid view of Islam. These anomalous “tribesmen” - their beards rolled, wearing distinctive colourful turbans - are now part of the landscape, under the protection of one Pakhtun clan or another.

Says Charanjit Singh, a Sikh trader: “The Sikhs have an ability to completely integrate into the local culture.” Jadran Afridi, a medical practitioner affiliated with the Pakhtunkhwa Qaumi Party (pqp), says that the Sikhs here speak local Pakhto dialects fluently, treat their womenfolk as tribal Pakhtuns do. “They are as illiterate and hard-headed as Afridis and Orakzais, and they are just as dependable in personal loyalty. Their hospitality is proverbial; every household keeps separate utensils for their Muslim friends.”

“There was a time when hardly any Sikhs remained in Peshawar,” says 70-year-old Gian Singh, visiting old friends. He’s from Tirah, also in NWFP, where he moved in from Jalalabad after Najibullah’s fall. “But now their families in places like Tirah are growing large, and business up there is shrinking.” This has pushed many Sikhs down into Peshawar or nearby areas. “There must be close to a thousand Sikh families - about 10,000 people - living in Peshawar and the tribal areas,” estimates Sona Singh, head granthi of Gurudwara Bhai Joga Singh in Peshawar’s old Dabgari district.

Saroop Singh, who owns two shops and eight acres in Bara, is typical of the new generation of Sikhs who have discarded their roles as Amsayas in search of independence and a better lifestyle. “Economic pressures have weakened the ability of tribal clans to prevent outsiders from acquiring land,” he says. “Many Sikhs who made money in trading have bought land; but agriculture is rain-fed, and there isn’t enough arable land to go around.”

The first casualty, even for the new generation, is education. Five years of religious schooling in Gurmukhi is about all the education most tribal Sikhs have had, and it’s promptly discarded when the exigencies of practical life take over. According to Sona Singh, the head granthi, every Sikh settlement has at least one mohalla school to teach the Granth Sahib, though not science, history or other subjects. “The aim is mainly to keep the religious rituals alive,” he explains.

But the Frontier Sikhs believe they have had a better deal than the Mona Sikhs in Pakistan. They feel particularly indebted to General Ziaul Haq, who gave them the Gurudwara Bhai Joga Singh and allowed them to buy property in Pakistan. Some have been to India, but have chosen not to settle there.

“Life in Pakistan is better,” says Saroop Singh, who has visited Delhi and Ambala several times. “There is more respect for the Sikhs here.” Like most of the Frontier Sikhs, he believes that Khalistan will become a reality some day. When that happens, they say, they will gladly begin the long trek back.

Azhar Abbas

Interesting article, dude :k: Thanks for sharing.

Brother RF,

Though, I'd like to see recent reports like that you have posted but anyway, thanks for sharin' this article with us. :)

Thanks Moona and PT :)

Just to let all you Pakistan-haters know that Sikhs left on their own volition and those who stayed were not massacred.

*Originally posted by RajputFury: *
Thanks Moona and PT :)

Just to let all you Pakistan-haters know that Sikhs left on their own volition and those who stayed were not massacred.

Particularly all the rich ones who owned businesses and big pieces of land...they left with their own desire while some poor folks here and there in the no where land fo rural pakhtunwala working as kammis loved it so much decided to stay. I heard all the bhangis in Karachi also decided to stay as they loved the tatti-khanas of karachi more than of Bombay.

Rajput, yaar you are one of the saner ones...thorha parh liya kar.

*Originally posted by ChannMahi: *

Particularly all the rich ones who owned businesses and big pieces of land...they left with their own desire while some poor folks here and there in the no where land fo rural pakhtunwala working as kammis loved it so much decided to stay. I heard all the bhangis in Karachi also decided to stay as they loved the tatti-khanas of karachi more than of Bombay.

Rajput, yaar you are one of the saner ones...thorha parh liya kar.

Mahi jee, come on now, the article mentions the Sikh community being involved in Business. Even in Kabul (before the Taliban) there were plenty of Sikhs involved in trade. The article is from the website of Sikh Naujawan Sabha, and is not a pro-Khalistani. I don't know the Karachi-bhangi situation, but I know for a fact that Sikhs in punjab are not in a horrible state.

My point here is that, we would welcome and like Sikhs to visit and live in Pakistan. There may be some bad memories left over from the partition, but I believe it is time to move on.

Rajput, my only objection is to willfully leaving one's home...no one did..Hindus, Muslims and Sikhs. Other than that i am pulling your legs.

I think the Sikhs that did not have the protection of tribals, such as those in the cities, like Peshawar were the ones to leave.
Some may have left just out of fear.
Intresting story, I know an old Sikh gentlemen who was from Peshawar and went to India. A few years back, he met a Pathan and started speaking to him in Pashto to the shock of the pathan. This Pathan actually went back to Pak and told his grandfather about this Indian Sikh who had lived in Peshawar. It turns out that the Sikh guy and the grandfather of the Pathan were old friends who hadnt seen each other since partiotion. So the Pathan later came to the US and met the Sikh guy again in his store and told him about his grandfather who had known him years, back to the surprise of the Sikh, who then had a formal meeting between the two over the telephone I believe:)

*Originally posted by ChannMahi: *
Rajput, my only objection is to willfully leaving one's home...no one did..Hindus, Muslims and Sikhs. Other than that i am pulling your legs.

Well said..no doubt. What I wanted to impress was the point that we should look beyond those horrible times. Sikhs, believe it or not, are more tied to Pakistan than any other Indian group...just wanted to convey that you all are welcome from our end :)

can anybody tell the status of hindus there?i know there are a few hindus living in theera(loi kotla agencies)as tribes and along with other tribals.a few of them went to afghanistan to fight agaisnt u.s army after a call from hasrat nabi(pistol maulana) and his terrorist outfit sipah-e-sahabah.
a few sikhs also went to afghanistan and i do not what has happened to all these people :D

Nothing beats a Sardar / Khan combo !

*Originally posted by funguy: *
Nothing beats a Sardar / Khan combo !

;)