i think there is a great deal of emotional attachment of sikhs to the religious sites in pakistan.
i think pakistan govt must facilitate and encourage sikhs tourist or pilgrims to thier holy sites across pakistan. this will not only provide good will but also generate great amount for the pakistani economy
Re: Sikh pilgrimage of pakistan
*Originally posted by kabir: *
i think there is a great deal of emotional attachment of sikhs to the religious sites in pakistan.
i think pakistan govt must facilitate and encourage sikhs tourist or pilgrims to thier holy sites across pakistan. this will not only provide good will but also generate great amount for the pakistani economy
chalo isi bahane aana jaana bhi laga rahega.. padosiyon ka... ;):D
So True - :k:
I agree! There are quite a few historical Sikh sites within Pakistan. A very good friend of mine is Sikh. Her grandparents were born in Pakistan .... in fact, the majority of her ancestors were Sikh Pakistanis from the province of Punjab. After the partition, they left and went to the Indian part of Punjab. Due to the hostilities between both countries, the grandmother has never returned to Pakistan to visit her homeland (the grandfather has died). It's sad and unfortunate. She's really old now and mostlikely will never return to Pakistan. She has many fond memories though.
I don’t know how recent this article is - the date is just April 24th.
http://www.expressindia.com/fullstory.php?newsid=20842
Musharraf offers free passage to Sikhs to visit Pak Gurdwara
Pakistan government is ready to provide unrestricted passage to Indian Sikh devotees who want to visit gurdwara Kartarpur in that country without a passport or visa.
President Pervez Musharraf has offered to provide Indian Sikhs with a corridor, which would be fenced on both sides. No passport or visa would be required, but pilgrims would have to return within a few hours the same day, Pakistan Sikh Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee co-Chairman Sham Singh and senior officials of the Pakistan evacuate trust said.
Gurdwara Kartarpur in Pakistan is at a distance of three kilometres from gurdwara Dera Baba Nanak in Gurdaspur, with river Ravi separating them. A bridge which joined the two gurdwaras was bombarded during the 1965 Indo-Pak war.
Till 1960 there was unrestricted passage to Indian Sikh devotees to visit gurdwara Kartarpur, crossing the bridge.
With the opening of free corridor, Indian pilgrims would be able visit gurdwara Kartarpur throughout the year.
Hundreds of Sikh devotees from across the world had congregated at gurdwara Hanslabad in Lahore recently, where a temple marks the birthplace of Guru Nanak and at a temple in Nankana Sahib near Lahore to celebrate Baisakhi. Nearly 100 Indian Sikhs had been given special permission to cross into Pakistan through the Wagah border for the occasion.
Keep these kaffirs out of Pakistan. What'dya say people?
*Originally posted by Kareem: *
Keep these kaffirs out of Pakistan. What'dya say people?
I say keep you out of Pakistan. Keep you out of Britain too, come to think of it. In fact, stay away from Europe please :D
Kareem, you have serious issues.
Have a bigger heart.....
Sikhs are nice people..... more than welcome in our country. Inshallah Pak and India will have stronger relations in the future. Its because of people like you that there is so much hatred in the world today. Grow up.
I wish we had more Sikhs that were running things in Pakistan. Maybe then we would have some stability.