Side dishes and salads for BBQ

we are having a big BBQ on sunday! with about 70 people.

My mum is making chicken, bihari kebabs, prawns and fish, and chicken kebabs.

She has left the side dishes and salads to me…

and i have no idea what goes well with BBQ food.

Everyone coming loves desi food so i dont really want to make a bland pasta dish or anything.

Ideas please!

thankyouu

xxx

Re: Side dishes and salads for BBQ

Pasta salad goes well BBQ's as well as American potato salad...these two are a hit at desi BBQ's and not bland at all!

You can also have chaat as a side dish...

oooh potato salad sounds good i will look up recipes for that one!

anymore suggestions anyone?

For the bihari kababs.....since it's a desi dish.....the sides can include a chutney (mint or imli) or raita.

You can also include a salad as a side. A creamy pasta salad marries well with BBQ. If yo season it well with a good dressing, it won't be bland at all and it provides a contrasting yet comforting texture to the BBQ. Examples can include a cole slaw.....potato salad......a macaroni salad, etc. Or you can even make a simple salsa type salad with finely diced tomatoes, onions, cucumbers.....with lemon juice.

Other sides can include as...Corrupt Angel....suggested above......chaat. You can make a dahi chaat. Since you're having plenty of meat......you can include vegetarian dishes as sides.........such as pakoray.....potato cutlets (aloo tikki)....spring rolls.....a vegetable stir-fry? I think a vegetable stir-fry would be AWESOME. You can add soy sauce and chilli sauce to give it more of a chinese flavor....or you can make a it desi-flavoried vegetable stir-fry.

RV aloo tikkis sound good as does a salsa!

Thanks guys!

^ You can just buy the frozen pack of mixed vegetables from the grocery store and make a stir-fry out it. It'll save you time.

People go crazy over a good punch as well, Alvena ;)

You can buy a carton of sherbert ice cream.....single colored or multi-colored.

And in a punch bowl...add fruit punch, gingerale, sprite....and put chunks of sherbert in it. The grown-ups and the kids will enjoy it.

Grilled vegetables, esp cherry tomatoes, chaat with lots of mint, a potato salad is not too bland.

Egg salad sandwiches

Cold Pasta salad

Greek Feta salad

Macaroni salad

Cutlets

Spinach dip and Hawaiian bread

You can do a display of various chutneys too...I did that once and it was a big hit. I included mint, spicy green, sweet imli, tahini, garlic sauce, raita, salsa, etc.

Basil fried rice with chunks of pineapple

Spinach salad

Caprese salad

Shrimp cocktail with cocktail sauce

Its all I can think of right now...:)

I love a good selection of salads at a bbq, my faves are:

Cherry tom, mint and red onion
Celery olive and Feta Cheese
Coucous with roasted veg
Potato salad made with sour cream and chives

Also like:
Mexican rice
chargrilled veg
Jacket potatoes done on the BBQ
Corn on the cob done on the BBQ

Mint cutney
Cucumber raita
Cooked tomato chuyney with chilly

How do you make it? Please share.

Yes definitely go for cous cous- with roast veg or spicy chickpeas.

Salads

Bombay Potatoes

French bread pizzas

Coleslaw

Mixed beans with red onions, mint and cherry tomatoes

Garlic bread

Fajitas

Potato wedges

Chips/french fries

Sauteed mushrooms in a sauce

Baked potatoes with different fillings

Wow thanks guys!

So far im thinking-

Potato salad
Salsa
Tabouleh ( like cous cous)

Some nice Punch/ Mocktails

Some potato wedges/fries

And some sort of rice- mexican rice sounds good!

Anyone have a recipe?

i dunno about anyone else, but I like me some simple pilao & raita as an accompaniment to barbecue, esp desi style barbecue, in addition to all the salads, and grilled corn etc.

Hmm.....I say make it easy on yourself and do either the salsa or the tabouleh instead of both. Or if you want to do both....then get a bag of chips to go along with the salsa. :) Overall everything sounds great. Best wishes!

Ahem... It has come to my attention that there is something lacking here.

What can be lacking in the mouth watering variety of side dishes mentioned on this page?

WHAT IS LACKING????

Either everyone has forgotten what I have taught them in the past 5 months OR they are deliberately refraining from mentioning it and therefore allowing me the honour, in which case, here goes...

***************CHEESE AND CRACKERS!!!******************

I shall be traumatised if I find out there was no form of cheese board with crackers or sliced baguette with pickles and olives, a bunch of grapes and some sliced apple...

cheese and crackers, at a barbecue....oh ney yaar

RH::::::::::::::

Cheese and Crackers ki amma...apne husband ko kuch aur bhi khilati ho???

Hey! I do the world a favour and allow them to have the beneficial knowledge to grace their tables with cheese and crackers, and yet...

Ho hum, one day my dear children, you will understand the value of the understated cheese and cracker.

Afro - Cheese and Crackers definitely YESSSSSSS at a bbq, ESPECIALLY when the guests r hob-nobbing around waiting for the meat to be grilled to perfection. A cheese n cracker with an olive will go down a treat with a virgin mojito. Trust me lady, it works.