Siblings

I feel like our relationships with our siblings are perhaps the most significant to our lives, and yet they are rarely the topic of discussion. I really feel siblings are perhaps the greatest gift a parent gives a child. They are people who hopefully inshAllah will share most of our lives.

What do your siblings mean to you? What is your relationship like?

I have two younger brothers. I find that their opinion of me and what I do/think/like/dislike/feel matters more to me than ANYONE else’s. Not my parents’. Not my spouse’s. I don’t know why. That doesn’t mean I listen to them more than I do others, but the desire to be someone they look up to and are proud of and happy to be with is very strong.

Re: Siblings

Well i have really good relationship with my siblings. We all respect each other and moreover..each other's opinion. We might disagree strongly each other on certain things. But we respect and care about each other. I think the most i get along is with my sisters. They are best!. I can talk about anything i want. So it's all aight!

Siblings

my brother and I have sort of drifted apart, the way he sees the world and feels about it has changed and our outlooks and opinions have changed which has led us to sort of drift apart. We meet each other fine but that ache to just see each other or hear each other's voice is gone mostly because he has the I'm not a kid anymore yaar and I can only see him as that. I miss him so much now especially reading your responses. We will call each other randomly because but its not on a daily weekly basis. However, i don't think he realizes how much he means to me and how much i want him to be a part of my life but right now he is having fun living his life and when the sun sets and the friends go home, i hope he knows I'll be there just like I always am.

I love my brothers. We don't have a lot of age gap so the three of us grew up doing a lot of things together. They both pamper me a lot and always always try to help me out. I love them, I dont know what I would do without them!

I have two younger sisters.
I had an alternating best-friend and worst-enemy kind of a relation with my younger one and we both treated our youngest one as the 'baby'.She has been my confidante and I know she turns to me incase a trouble arises.I turn to her even if I need an opinion on a simple thing.As much as we used to fight when we were kids,we have been close and now since she lives a few hours away,it is a lovely thing.

My youngest one is 10 years younger and I always thought she was baby of the house and too young to understand me,but that wasn't the case.My relationship with her is precious,and different than what I have with my other sister.Too bad she lives in Pakistan,so that has become a factor now.

There are not many things as valuable and beautiful as siblings and I have always had a great relationship with mine and look forward to it staying that way,despite physical distances and however life makes us evolve.
I absolutely want my daughter to enjoy the joys of a sibling one day too,Inshallah.

Awww Devilious :flowers:. I think thats the beautiful part about siblings, you all have your own life, opinions, personality but at the end of the day blood is thicker than love? Or is it just love. Siblings will give you the best and honest opinion, and you can fight, argue hate, scratch each other all day long , but at the end of the day noone takes it to the heart and you just have a good meal together. I love my siblings, they are so unique in their own way. sometimes annoying and mean but I never really take it to the heart because I know we love each other wholeheartly.

i looove my siblings :)

ur right. There is no other relationship like the one you have with your siblings.

I have a younger bro and a sister. My bro and I dont have much of a gap but the sis is 6 years younger than me. As kids, the bro and i were like best friends.. we did everything together. Growing up however, the sis and bro became better friends and they knew a lot more about one another than i knew about them. Well in the sense, I knew less about their personal lives.. however they both knew everything and anything about mine to the point my brother used to think "God help this child....". LOL

Getting married and having kids has changes us majorly.... its brought us a lot closer together. And its a relationship that i find hard to describe. We have always cared about one another.. but the fact that sometimes we acknowledge each others goodness now and then, without even meaning to, is a new and special thing for me. Its different.

Hearing the bro being proud of the person/wife/mother i have become makes me really happy. I dunno, it makes me feel like I have done something right... and this matters to me so much. Having my sister ask me for advise or even ask me if I can get her something... like as though shes still a kid.. makes me feel really special too. Its like we just get one another.

I remember something a few years ago.. where I disagreed strongly with a decision my family was making. My bro spoke to me and he said... at the end of the day, we only have us 3 for one another...we have to be support each other regardless of what happens. And that....that was the moment that changed a lot of things for me, relationship wise with my siblings.

I have just 1 elder bro, n he is everything to me , love him n miss him too much, it has been more than 2 years since I meet him, but v daily talk to each other.
like every brother sister v tease each other and of course the funy fights.

Awww.. i love this thread.

I have two younger sisters, one is a yr younger than me, and another one is five years younger than me. Sister no.1 and I are so close, we're like best friends. lots of common friends etc. she knows me so well, even more than i know myself. we cover up for each other and support each other. together, we also protect our lil sister.

with lil sister, who is now 15, we teach her the right values, guide her in sch work etc.

cant imagine my life without my dear sisters.

also, my mom is the oldest amongst her 2 sisters and 1 bro and my mom and my khalas talk often and about every thing under the roof despite living in different countries.

i feel that sisters' relationship grows stronger over the years and a sister is a gift from God indeed. :)

I have one younger brother, he thinks I am great and awesome and that its just a joy for him that he's related to me

phoonks a dua on himself

I am a sandwich child. Elder sister and younger brother. I love them to death.

I have very good relationship with both of them specially with the sister (as she lives in same city so I get more time to interact with her). I did not get much time to spend with my younger bro so my relationship with him is more like younger-bro-elder-bro relationship instead of friend (which I would have preferred). He is 7 year younger than me. when he was in early teens (when he needed me most), I was busy in my professional education and right after completing the edu, I moved to US.

PS:

Had that statement come from a guy, (I value my sister's opinion more than anyone else...) tu phir daikhna tha. Ager single hota tu single hee rehta bechara , aur ager married hota tu looser kehlata :)

^ Maybe, D6C, but like I said, I guess I don't "listen" to them. They don't interfere in what I do, but it's just that I want them to be proud of me, and if I think something will disappoint them, I will reconsider.

I totally understand my PS is (perhaps true but is) on lighter note

and the blog that you edited my post for is not private. Is it?

love my 2 siblings and you are right Sahar02 that it's best gift a parent can give a child.

My sister who is only a few years younger than me is probably the one person that I can be a 100% honest with. I talk to her everyday. Even though we are two different personalities - we GET each other and there is no judgement. We have spent 90% of childhood together. We are really close and that BUGS a whole lotta people.

My baby brother who not a baby anymore. We have gotten much closer over the years as he's blossoming into his mid twenties but I will forever be his big "appa".

^ I know! I love being an “Appa”! Even my brother who is only a year younger than I am calls me Appa. And now both their wives do too, as does my nand. :wub:

^ some of my brother's friends call me "appa" and his betrothed also calls me appa :)

my siblings are like my best friends - all 3 of them. My sister is someone I can confide to about family and relationships. My one brother is like my rock. Always there for me in think and thin. The other brother is the emotional one in which we can talk about anything.

May Allah SWT protect them and keep up together in this Duniya and the Next. Ameen.

we used to be close, but then they got married

lol Sahar.. i know what you mean! I am like the “baji” of the community cus my younger sister calls me that… and now my close friends (who are younger) call me by that too…

munchkin cant wait to be called “Baji”. I find that adorable!