I guess, it shouldnt be any different to have siblings/family members moving to other areas of the world… but for me, it is slightly different. I guess, moreso cus of the state pakistan is in at the moment… rather than the lifestyle change
i have a younger sibling.. Mashallah an aerospace graduate, soon to be Phd holding person.. whose due to get married in the near future and is moving back to pakistan…
how do you as a sibling feel happy for them, yet being totally terrified of knowing of what could happen… i dunno. Im finding it so hard to digest… but I HAVE to be happy for her…
Re: siblings/family members moving back to pakistan
it can be tough on many levels,
the distance means that you will not be able to see her as often, although i must say that with videochat, facebook etc it is so much easier to stay in touch and be involved in each others lives than before.
and then the stress factor, just that if things go wrong then what? my parents spend time between UK, US and Pak and we are so stressed when they are in Pakistan.
You have to look at it that they are making a choice that is best for them, and be supportive, yet be that outside voice that helps them look at things they may not be seeing, whether it is danger or preparedness to leave if things go crazy.
^ yeah its more the stress of being there. She along with my bhabhi and two nieces were there just for 5 weeks, got back a day ago, and i was stressed constantly due the sitation there... shukar hai they didnt go out (moreso cus they couldnt with the kids) but still ya know..
I know, shes making the right decision according to what she thinks... she has to and her fiance have to think about their life ahead.. and im sure they have thought things through.. its still a hard choice ya know... especially when u know ur kids will be growing up safe (safer) than her kids there with a lot more facilities if things ever go wrong.. its hard.
U want the best for ur siblings... u want them to have everything u could think of, more than what u have got... khair, im sure there are a lot of people in the same boat.
My inlaws are like ur parents too.. they move between Aus (on visit visas) to abu dhabi to pakistan.. and when in pakistan, its just stress again.
When it comes to parents, the stress is more about their health and how much care they can get in an emergency situation...
We can say a lot of bad things about Pakistan and how hard it can be to live there , but in the end it is OUR COUNTRY . Situation in Pakistan is bad , but inshaAllah soon it will be back to normal and for better .
America do spoil us , when it comes to living standards . It definitely is a hard decision to make if you have to move back , but people living in Pakistan are humans like us . I know people who moved back and now mashaAllah happy with their decision . In Pakistan you can live as good as or may be with more luxury if you have money . This is true for any other part of the world . In the end it all boils down to making an informed and wise decision regarding where you want to live in Pakistan, and what resources you will have .
Well she sounds mature enough to decide what’s best for her but I agree you can’t help the stress. My father lives alone in Pak and despite being pushed constantly just doesn’t stay more than a month with bros. We are stressed by the situation and also the fact that there’s no one to take care of him. It just breaks my heart to hear from someone that he’s lost weight and getting weak.
For this very reason my bros were planning on shifting to Pak, but here my father is quite persistent again as he doesn’t want any of them to be living in the current situation. Double standards enough? The debate leaves everyone stressed out with no solution so far
^ damn... its hard. Some relatives of ours have moved out of pakistan and when they ask their parents to do the same... the parents say "humne tho apni zindagi guzarli hai.. baher jaa kar kya karna hai..."
like seriously? what is that supposed to mean?
i go into depression thinking that some of these people have not seen anything beyond their own shaher... they dont know about what exists outside of the world they live in. To some it may be an awesome world.. not knowing what else is out there... for me, its like torture. I want to see and do everything
^oh he's been around a lot..He loves to travel and has seen the world, almost.. it's just that he can't settle anywhere outside of Pak. If we insist a lot he does stay a bit longer but then is so miserable that we finally give up and let him go. He says he's happy there, and we know he is but we can't help worrying either and don't want to impose anything on him.
^ so sorry! i didnt even mean that bout ur father..!
yikes.. i actually meant just general people who have never been beyond their own city... i feel the same towards people who've spent their whole life in one state and never been beyond it... for them, even NZ is a BIG BIG thing.... uff
My parents have been living in pakistan for about 5 years. they have their life set there. I would love for htem to come back, especially now, but our situation here is pretty stressful and complicated now...there's so many things to consider, but mainly, where would they stay and what would they do? My parents have their life there and we have our lives here.....