Shubh Kumbh Mela

To all my Hindu brothers and sisters my heartiest greatings for the Kumbh Mela, the largest human gathering on the planet.

20 million souls are to be there to celebrate the Kumbh Mela this year, can you believe it? There is no other religion in the whole wide world which can boast such a large number of folloewers getting togeather in one place with a common purpose.

I have to admire the Hindus for this even though I’m a Sikh.

Hajj?! for muslims. every year there are over 30 M gathered to perform hajj

...not to mention the 1 million plus that perform umra on a daily basis.

Just out of curiosity, what is the common purpose with which those 20 mil get together? Its a mela, so im guessing its a mela....a fun fair. Correct me if i am wrong.

30M over an year..... but here it is 20M over days....

Hello Banta??? You need to reply.I don't know much about Kumbh Mela.. Please shed some light on the event for the sake of 

me and eastern....

Its a MELA not a religious gathering. ITs fun, and fun with some flirting here and there and well…you get the idea.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

V~V~VHe came, He saw, He conqueredV~V~V**

----*High Priest-OF-Painful Truth*----

Shubh Kumbh Mela is organized every 12 years , right or wrong?
Banta, more info.

Belief is not what mind possesses, it is what possesses the mind!

Hajj doesn’t take place over a year! That’s Umrah

Al-Imran-3:160 *~~“If Allah helps you, none can overcome you: If He forsakes you, who is there, after that, that can help you? in Allah, then, Let believers put their trust.”~~ ***

Check out some exiting images from the mela:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/hi/english/world/south_asia/newsid_1106000/1106050.stm

If this mela or funfair attracts 20M after 12 years... what's the big deal?

Hajj on the other hand is performed every year with atleast 25-30M people and the number is even increasing.

If you follow the rules, you'll miss all the fun. :p

kis ye wohi mela hejis men har koi gum jata he… har movie men eik bhai isi mele men gum jata he aur aakhir men milta he..

Adha india isi mele ki wajah se guma hua he…

apparently madonna, sharon stone, richard gere and demi moore are attending kumbh mela. may they attain salvation. (khaleej times)

Hmmm.. ignorance.. of what happens there.. especially since you can check out details on the news websites.

check www.cannel4.co.uk/kumbhmela

Kumbh Mela (mela used in the term as gatthering not a fun fair).. happens at a place called Kumbh near Allahabad..

The Hindu belief is that at the confluence of Ganges (or ganga), Jamuna (or Yamuna) and Sarasawati rivers (which happens at Kumbh) whoever bathes in the water at that particular time period is cleansed and purified of sins etc… something of the same concept as Hajj.

So it is a religious gathering.. and since so many people are gathering.. they enjoy themselves as well..

This Mela festival takes place every three years, at 4 different locations. Therefore, each location gets it once every 12 years. The Kumbh Mela at Allahabad is the largest of the 4 because it is at the intersection of the 3 Holy rivers.

Numbers is irrelavent, what matters is that we understand what each of us believes in

Several people have mentioned 25-30M figure for Hajj. Could someone tell me where this figure comes from?

Originally posted by Awam ki Awaz:
Several people have mentioned 25-30M figure for Hajj. Could someone tell me where this figure comes from?

Exactly my question? 20 to 30 mil that's a lot of people. Lets see the entire population of New-York city is 14 million, that would amount to twice the population of New-York squeezed in Haremen Shareef!

Few hundred thousands is a correct possible figure for hajj. I don’t know why people exaggerate things of which they have no knowledge of.

V~V~VHe came, He saw, He conqueredV~V~V**

----*High Priest-OF-Painful Truth*----

the error lies within an extra zero added to the numbers.

it was more like 2 million.
http://arabia.com/article/0,1690,Life%7C15841,00.html

read for confirmation