Hey there cookers world wide! I need help on finding a good recipe for shrimp. I have jumbo shrimp and my hubby loves shrimp plus we have not had it for ages. He requested I make shrimp today fried with basin. Any ideas on what I can do? I would like to keep this dish basic and simple and Desi as possible. I have a hectic schedule and won’t be cooking dinner for at least another 5 hours. So any ideas on what I can do? I have only the very basic Paki/Indian spices such as: haldi, namak, laal mirch powder, laung,elaichi,ginger/garlic paste, bay leaves, garam masala, kaali mirch and some fried prepackaged onions and other few spices. what I can make from this? I want to use the basin to cover the shrimp if possible and fry it or should use a big bagona and not a frying pan? Any ideas for a quick recipe that won’t take more then 45 minutes to 50 minutes max would be ideal and helpful. Thanks!!
Re: Shrimp Recipe
ANY ideas? Thanks
I had the same problem today. I wanted to make desified shrimps and found an interesting recipe online: Spicy Prawns with Aubergines and Potatoes
I tried it today and it came out yummy!
Here’s what I made (looks sort of dark bcuz of the eggplant but was yummy!)
Here’s the recipe: Chachi’s Kitchen: Spicy Prawns with Aubergines and Potatoes
The only thing I did differently is: I added red chilli powder with rest of the masala and while frying the shrimps I also stirfried some sliced green onions.
Thanks for the recipe. I'll use it next time. I don't have all these ingredients unfortunately. I can't just run to the grocery store cuz these days my hubby and I don't have a car and it takes 15 minutes to walk to the train station and then 10 minutes from there to get to the grocery store.Plus its raining. But this one is interesting enough I'll try it some other time..
But I would like to use besan(highly suggested by my husband) to cover the shrimp and fry them..any recipe for that would help. Thanks again
Hey phooljari, why don't you make him sweet and sour shrimps gravy? I mostly serve it with chinese fried rice, both take very little time to make, except the frying of the shrimp.
If your husband likes besan, you can just make shrimp pakora. Just whip up a regular besan batter that you would make for pakoray, like say besan, with salt, red chilli powder, some zeera, or even powdered zeera (cumin), some chilli flakes and a quarter of a tsp or so of baking soda. (That just makes the batter very fluffy). Since it's with shrimp, Im guessing you could add some chopped chives, minced garlic or even some corn kernels.
But obviously, this will serve as finger food.
Also make a dip to go with that. Do you have any fancy sauces lying around? My fave in this case would have to be the mitchell's chili garlic one which is mostly available at most desi stores. If you don't, just take some regular ketchup, put in some chilli flakes, and minced garlic and try to whip up a tangy flavor to your liking. Another option could be mayo dressed with sour creme, evoo, chives, lemon juice, s np,... etc
Oh and for sweet and sour shrimp, just fry your shrimp in a nice fluffy batter. I mostly don't use besan for that, instead all purpose flour (maida). Take like a cup or so. add salt and pepper and baking soda to that, and finally an egg. Now take 2 tbsps of corn flour and dissolve them in cold water and add that to your batter. Whip up all of this. Also drizzle some oil to make your batter extra crunchy (when you fry it).
Just heat up some oil in a wok. Wait till it's hot, and dip your shrimp (washed, de-veined and dried on a paper towel) in the batter and into the hot oil. Make sure you don't fry it on very high heat. Or else you will just quickly burn the outside of your shrimp and get the color you want, but the batter will remain uncooked inside.
So fry up your shrimp batch and put on a paper towel to drain out the oil.
Next for your gravy, take a pan, heat up some oil and fry some finely diced garlic and chilli flakes. Now put a cup of ketchup and stir. Add some vinegar and salt/pepper. If you have some chicken stock lying around, add it to the gravy. I mostly just use the chicken cubes and dissolve them in a cup of boiling water and add that to the ketchup gravy. Also add a cup or so of tomato sauce. (I jsut add tomato juice). You can now add sugar to make it sweet, I mostly add pineapple juice. (like the juice in canned pineapple) to make it sweet and some sugar. Lastly, add some chopped chives and garlic. Also take a tbsp of corn flour and dissolve it in water (cold) and put that in the gravy to thicken it.
I mostly add diff things to balance out the flavor I'm wanting. I've honestly never measured anything so you will have to try it out yourself. Just start with less of every ingredient and add to it if you find the flavors lacking.
Lastly, when you're ready to serve dinner, just slightly cook your fried prawn in the gravy for a few mins and serve it with rice. Or serve the fried prawn separately, and the gravy separately. Hope it works out for you!
Thanks for the ideas! I don't have any sauces lying around nor do I have ketchup. Actually I have some sweet and hot sauce but I don't like that as it tastes more sweet than hot..for some reason my hubby likes that. I'll try your recipe some other time. I am looking for shrimp as a main course with rice. Maybe I'll just fry it with some spices and besan covering it. Thanks again.
Why don't you make shrimp pakoras. The recipe is the same as regular pakoras and it's very yummy! Besan bhi istemaal ho jayega aur shrimp bhi.
Only thing - it's not an entree - so you'd be making dinner as well.
Yeah, unfortunately I haven't thawed any other meat and I'm going to stick with this shrimp fried in spices and besan as an entree with rice. I had a long and busy day and all I could think of was "shrimp with besan" as my husband told me to make it as the main dish for dinner. Next time I'll make these as an appetizer and make some other main dish. I am also making daal. I guess the shrimp can be a side dish and the daal the main dish. I have absolutely no more time to think of anything else. I have an hour till he gets home and I have already mixed besan with spices and covered it on the jumbo shrimp. Now I shall cook it. I'll post a picture some day this week. And people, don't ask for the recipe. It won't be that great I know but trying does not hurt. Its just basics spices mixed in besan and water then poured evenly over the shrimp and fried. Wait, can I bake it in a oven instead? I'll do half and half and get back to you all with the results. Thanks everyone..
I heart Long John Silver's batter fried shrimp. I'd want that recipe. I'm too lazy. So much better to just buy it.
haha,Long John Silvers!! I have not been to that place in over 10 years. Where I live I don't think we have one nearby..I think the closest is 2 hours away..eeks! anyways, thanks for your help everyone. I will post a picture of my shrimp later today. I have a few leftover. I did not eat it cuz I got sick later that night and just had juice and crackers. But my hubby said it was okay, not great but just okay..hmph..I tried! As I said I did some in the pot on the stove and a few in the oven. Of course I put the shrimp in when the oven was mega hot so the shrimp cooked inside and not the batter outside so had to leave it in longer than I thought..k back to work for me..bye
shrimp biryani !
shrimppppppppp biriyani sounds awesome. If only I could make the kickass shrimp biriyani my khala makes..shes ans awesome cook. I should get pointers from her..
phooljari786,
I do not know if I’m too late. However here is a recipe for besan-fried shrimp. If you’ve already cooked your shrimp…perhaps you can use this recipe next time. The “gram flour” in this recipe below is basically English for besan. And the pomegranate seeds are called anaar daana in urdu. The pic looks yummy!