Showing Off Your Bump

It's not the women who have problems with the pregnancy....they are pregnant any way. The men in our society are not that comfortble with it or in other words a lil 'embarassed'....Its very hard to see
any desi walking with her pregnant wife in the last few months/weeks....especially back home, they are like out-cast at that time. 50% of the time men are just happy with the outcome. Like...women are in total pain for 9 months and the men tend to act like nothing special is going on and if they had to do it they could have done it without any "dispaly" or "shouting".

since its on display, its there, the effort to hide it is like denying the fact that you are pregnant, but Akif this dosent mean that you go around like Demi More ...

Abay Demi Moor baychari nay kia bigara hai tum logoN ka? Her body, her choice, kapeesh?

As a father of 2 daughters and a Son, I think we men owe our Heart, Wallet and many other things to that women (Only your Wife). She is going thru all that just because of you and suffer so she could bring your child to you. So, if your wife is pregnent go out and buy her good cloths, jewelry and other expensive gifts or just give her your credit card and let shop.

Originally posted by Muzna:
** That's precisely what I am referring to......why is it immodest to show your bump?

I'm not advocating leotards here.......let's keep that much clear....I just wanna know why women are taught to be embarassed about bringing a child into this world.

Muzna, actually there is a lot of superstition invloved in the society, mostly pregnancy was kept a secret as a fear of "jaadu" or "tonaa". but things are changing a little, but still a very long way to go. It is now culturually entrenched in us, so it will take a while.

[This message has been edited by mangelo (edited June 05, 2001).]

jeez - like Akif said why be an extremist on both sides?
You cant hide the bump but thats no reason to shove it in everyones faces ???

I have seen pregnant women covering the bump with dupatta or something as a sign of respect for the elders like their fathers ...

Suitable comfortable slightly loose dresses should be worn, what do you suggest - small vests that cover half the bump and leave the rest of it naked...?

I wouldnt go round hiding my bump but I wouldnt wear tight clothes and prance about either...

There should be a simple balance...

tight vests?
who said anything bout a tight vest

i never said anything bout tight vests or extremely tight clothes where all your stuff is bulging out or as Boss mentioned doing hi five with the baby

Pretty colorful, slightyly fitting clothes no way are ‘shoving it in anybody’s face’

as for ‘tight’ real ‘tight’ clothes

reality check
pregnant women cant even stand tight clothes
its cuts off their blood supply and makes them uncomfy

but to wear rags …wait, shamianas is pretty depressing not to mention the women already helplessy fat, immoblie and totally restless to give birth

so yeah wear pretty dresses that have pretty colors and pretty designs and be happy

and as for this ‘hiding the pregnancy so as to not jinx it’

urmmm wouldnt a oversize belly spell it out itself that the person is pregnant

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

Why there is so much urge in showing off bump?

This question shouldn't arise as if it is a taboo or not if the religion is followed. Khair.

What is the definition of beauty and attractiveness? Can pregnant women not look beautiful and attractive in baggy clothes or do they have to show their bump to prove some point.

If it is just for fashion then why not go out half naked like the western women showing showing everything. A desi girl would look far more attractive in a bikini then a white gori.

Why married women have to look beautiful to other people rather than their own husbands?

so why do u comb ur hair, brush ur teeth and wear deodrant when stepping out of the house

after all biwi to ghar main hay
bahir doosri aurtoon ko kya dikhana

rite

this statement that when a woman does haar singhar its for men to see and notice is absolutely ridiculous

what bout doing it for the self

i would rite more but it would be wasting my time
i wouldnt even respond but somehow your post seemed totally out of the place

Its all bout feeling good bout yourself
boosting some energy and cheering up

Not flaunting bodies for display to men

grow up will ya

Originally posted by Mem Sahib:

I have seen pregnant women covering the bump with dupatta or something as a sign of respect for the elders like their fathers ...

...**

respect?....just for fathers ....why is that...means like, he will not mind if you are pregnant, rather he should be happy.

I don't understand this crap of feeling good by showing someone boobs and hips. roll eyes ^ infinity

I think people can't just argue then they should avoid pointing finger (i.e. using "you") It seems to me that they don't have any arguement to forward. I say to them

Get a life.

unless and until your family members have somehow mutated and grown their hips and boobs on their stomachs ....

as for arguments
as long as you dont fall really low and bring drag somebody's mian baap into the disscussion its arite by me
them should really 'get a life'

I agree

Arent you guys getting carried away? I mean, a woman dressed modestly while pregnant, in the public doesnt mean she is displaying herself. Secondly, as I said, there is more to the hiding of women while pregnant then just showing the "bump". Its the fear of "nazar na lag jayay" and so on.

acha baba, raam ho jao, ab ghalti nahiN hogi.

I never meant to offend you. Khoosh

Yeh zaban hi aisi hai, kay haathooN ko majboor karti hai. mera koi qasoor nahin

I will try to avoid all such posts.

Jeez Help me almighty!!!

Ok Anchal you made your point.
Thank you

Can we drop it
jeez you dun half know how to draaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaag it all out!!!

revived.

Anchal, did you post the pics in image? I can't see them!

hi ppl.we have sum really heated argument here over whether to show the bump or not. the answer is we are an Islamic society and islam forbids to wear clothes which outline your figure...whether it is pregnancy bumps or anyhting else..to wear clothes which expose ur figure is disallowed so why fight for the right to show the bump in a modernized society.

shahreen, i think i did. I dont remember. Burhapay ka asar hay.

from personal experience, i tell ya, Nine months is a looooooooong looooooooong wait. The first 3 month might pass by in anticipation but the minute the second trimester sets in, all you wanna do is get the baby out and you still have six months to go.
To top that wearing yucky clothes for nine months just cause its modest. WHAT MODESTY? You had sex, you are pregnant now you wanna hide the fact? Utter Rubbish. What next hide the baby cause its the result of Your sexual life.
Wear fun clothes, all sorts of colors and styles rather then those atay ki borian.

PS. nobody is talking bout figure hugging tight tight clothes to begin with

Generally the first five-six months of pregnancy it's not clearly visible and a lot of women keep wearing the same clothes they wore before. Even if you have new clothes the bump tends not to be obvious. It's only in the last trimester that it becomes really necessary to get a new wardrobe. And at that point often energy levels are down.... so who wants to worry about going out?