--Showing off Non-Stop

Re: --Showing off Non-Stop

why not? do not our speech and actions really reflect our inner selves, one or the other way? And obviously such acts and attitudes of showing off show you dont have much to offer from inside of yours....

hello :phati:

guess wat!! u wonttttttttttt! blv

i bought new shoes…omg,and and i got a new purssssse

and we’re buying a new house…like whoa!

:lifey: hamara beta achi job kerta hai na

:rotfl:…and why is it not Gucci bag, and Manolo Blahniks:faizy:…and the new house better have the sea side view:D

err so is it showing off when its a name brand that you got really CHEAP?!?!

The reason why such issues exist in our societies to such an extent is bcoz we are far from the teaching of Quran adn hadith... if b4 showing off, one stopped to think whether or not Allah SWT is pleased with it or not, MOST ppl would think twice...

The Prophet of Guidance (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) told us about the signs of a person’s success:

“Allaah does not look at the outward appearance or wealth of any one of you, but He looks at your hearts and deeds.” (Narrated by Muslim from the hadeeth of Abu Hurayrah).

“Verily, the most honourable of you with Allaah is that (believer) who has At-Taqwaa” [al-Hujuraat 49:13]

“But spend not wastefully (your wealth) in the manner of a spendthrift. Verily, the spendthrifts are brothers of the Shayaateen (devils), and the Shaytaan (Devil-Satan) is ever ungrateful to his Lord” [al-Israa’ 17:26-27]

“And those who, when they spend, are neither extravagant nor niggardly, but hold a medium (way) between those (extremes)” [al-Furqaan 25:67].

“O Children of Adam! Take your adornment (by wearing your clean clothes) while praying [and going round (the Tawaaf of ) the Ka‘bah] and eat and drink but waste not by extravagance, certainly He (Allaah) likes not Al-Musrifoon (those who waste by extravagance).” [al-A’raaf 7:31]

The punishment for showing off may come to pass in this world, not in the Hereafter. Abu Hurayrah reported that the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: "Whilst a man was walking arrogantly admiring himself and his clothes, Allaah caused the earth to swallow him and he is suffering in it until the Day of Resurrection." (Reported by Muslim, no. 2088).

Personally, I show off (not in a bad way) when I buy good things on a sale.... :) I bought my Mum an Abaya which was originally $90, but then new stock came and they were clearing out stuff, and she go it for $50! Subhanallah!

^^ Thanks for sharing ...very informative:)

Honestly I don't know any desis who show off like that! In fact, I know more who will cheapen the price when they mention something they bought... i love to talk abt how i got something cheap/for a bargain, and if i feel i paid alot i just dont like to mention how much it costs!

I've met a lot of people who show off. One example sticks out like a sore thumb. One of my friend's mom is was like that when I was in high school. My son goes to such as such school. My son's GPA is so high. My son has such a good job. My son leads such a productive life. The worst thing is that my parents believed this bull**** and they were constantly on my ass saying "oh why can't you be more like such and such". I wonder if I should tell them that the fat aunty was lying about her son. Maybe tell them that he had a sub 3.0 GPA. That he drinks and smoke. Occasionally does cocaine. But I didn't want to do that as I like my friend. It's not his fault that his fat mother is a lying POS.

Well showing off abt kids is different than showing off possessions (what i was referring to).but yeah i hate when parents do that, it really kills the kids self-esteem.. :(

I feel for you bro, hated it when my parents did the same thing to me.
Falanay Dhamkanay kay bachay blah blah blah...

ANY? find that hard …no impossible,…to beleive…where do u live?? id like to move there!:halo4:

@ Pinks. JazakAllah khair sister for sharing a beautiful reminder

@ Topic. People show off inorder to seek respect from others, but they forget that the real respect lies in obeying Allah and the Prophet (saw) who lived a simple and pure life.

May Allah bless us with the wisdom to protect ourselves from Munafiqat (Showing to others what we are not in reality)

once i made a good grade, so i showed it off.

Ok id like to edit my statement…
i know parents who’ll brag about thier children, that’s understandable…it’s only wrong when it’s used to make someone else feel bad.. my mom had a friend like that, she was constantly bragging abt her damn kids, and ok fine, we weren’t as great as those kids and i don’t know them so i can’t even say that they were “bad” but i know it reallly pissed us off…
Ive knwn ppl who’ve actually bragged abt themselves, that they are soooo great!.. I’m NOT joking!
But as far as expensive, material stuff, i havnt’r eally seen that yet..i know i will show off abt my shopping, but only if i got it really cheap/a good bargain..so yeah i guess we all hav a lil bit of showoff in us..

Oh and i grwoing up i had very limited contact w/ desis (still do)… i thank my parents for that :halo:

okkk i do it ..

but i only do it when some smart ass relative or friend start it .. i used to just stand there listening .. smiling nodding // but now.. i totally know how to act bored by their gibberish and then out of no where start a whole new topic that is abt my hubby’s work and my kids..

so much funnnn

:grin:

:cb: