Before going further I will answer the question myself, Yes unfortunately we have to. And then I can think of another question. Had it been someone else not performing just like him, would Pakistan have continued with that player? The answer I guess is No and Yes. Some people will give the example of Imran Nazir.
Imran Nazir has been a failure in this tournament and yes I know he played some strokes in the BD game, so what? With the kind of reputation he carries in Pakistan domestic Twenty20 curcuit, he shoud have scored couple of quick fire fifties uptill now. But anyway he is still in the side probably because of 2 reasons. One is his reputation as a dangerous hitter in the format of the game and secondly obviously is Salman butt. If they are not dropping Butt, then when is the justification of dropping Nazir?
So now I come back again to the topic of discussion which is Salman Butt. Why we are continously seeing him in this side. With Nazir, atleast I can say that he can hit the ball but with Salman I can’t even say that. The guy is simply not suitable for Twenty20 at all. And I fail to understand why Pakistan is willing to jeopardize their chances of winning the Championship by having this weak link in the squad. Is being the vice captain of the team a good enough reason to put your team at risk of defeat. Just because someone can speak English should not result in his automatic selection. What do you guys think?
Re: Should we see Salman Butt anymore in the tournament?
without beating around the bush I would say in simple and short statement "He should be dropped straight away regardless of being a vice captain". This is a unaimous opinion of the nation and cricket gurus.
He puts so much pressure on the rest of the team with his batting style... and he doesn't even look like he WANTS to change.
Please drop him!
Yasir Arafat got dropped after one poor over against India, despite batting pretty well lower down the order as well as bowling a superb over at the death against India.
I hope Butt saab gets dropped to include either Fawad Alam or Arafat.
butt was a disgrace yesterday.
he was just stood there watching the ball. wtf????????????
they should kick his backside out of the team and send him bk to lahore so he can stuff his face with food.
Salman Butt is a liability in this team. He deserves a kick up the butt. He is a slow starter, wastes far too many deliveries and then gets out without making his stay count. He may still have a role to play in tests and 50-overs game (because here he can afford to bide his time for a while) but twenty-20 does not suit his style of play at all....not to mention his crap fielding!!
Yasir Arafat is not the answer either. He's not really an all-rounder because he's neither good enough with the bat nor with the ball to justify a place in the team. He gives far too much width to batsmen and can easily be smacked around for 9-10 RPO by quality batsmen. Like Sami he bowls atleast two loose deliveries per over and thus relieves any pressure that's being exerted from the other end. He may have bowled one very tight over against India but that alone is not a good enough reason to play him
If the selectors had not blundered by dropping Yousuf and Razzaq, this problem would not even arise and we won't be having this debate. because then I would have opened with Imran Nazir/Afridi and Kamran Akmal with Younis, Yousuf, Misbah and Malik coming in at 3,4,5 and 6 >> 7 (Afridi/Nazir), 8 (Razzaq), 9 (Actor/Tanveer) 10 (Asif) and 11 (Gul)
If Butt sahab has thori si bhi sharam, he will pull himself out of the team. He can call it injury or whatever to save face, I don't care. He should realize how his impact on each game is so negative for his team. Then again, when can we accuse any of our national cricketers to have any degree of sharam.
yes! you will still see Salaman. He will still be giving interviews and appearing in press conferences (the job that he was sent for) so we will see him till the end of the tournament unfortunatly.
I don't see why we have to keep Salman Butt just because he is our vice captain or he is the best opener we have. Frankly, if this is the best opener we can have than it is sad. Moreover, I do not see him active on the field. Afridi, Asif and Younis look more active and can play a good role in helping Malik do his captaincy.
He probably share his room with Afridi or Malik and probably thats what keep him in the side. Otherwise there is no other justification for keeping him in the side. His fielding is worst than any one else, his running between the wicket testify for his sleepless nights, his batting is no where near the Twenty20 format, and he is not a an alrounder, plus Pakistan don't lack openers in the squad... rather they could open with:
Plus they have plenty of good players who could easily fit into the side such as Fawad Alam, good batsman, good bowler and excellent fielder. May be they are keeping Butt just for match fee and some financial benefits.
I'm still a Salman Butt supporter. He is a kid of the new generation of Pakistan; I think he has a different and more modern approch to the game than the other players. Granted that 20/20 requires fast starts but lets concede his position on the playing 11 as experience. He believes in strokes rather than slog shots. I feel he understands how to play the game in the right manner which is steady cricket.
Even though it might be frustrating to see him out there rite now i say lets just tolerate him under the notion that he's gaining valuable experience; he's experiencing winning and i think it'll only help his confidence and ultimately Pakistan in the future.
I must say that video of him and his friends is a disgrace far beyond any ducks he makes on the field.
But video doesn't lie, and prove that he got this skill. Plus regarding your first post, WC is not a time to gain experience rather it is time to use skills, if he doesn't have then he might wait for next WC and gain it before next WC.
Right now if Pakistan got more deserving player such as Fawad Alam then why not bring him in the side. He gives Pakistan not only a good middle/lower order batsman but also an excellent fielder and good left arm orthodox spinner.
Salman problem is not just batting or lack of hitting rather his poor fielding, his lack of throwing ability , his lack of running between the wicket, all suggest that Pakistan will be better off with playing Fawad instead of Butt, but since it is Pakistan so no one could use logic since everything is run like the selection of the team.
shukar hai…but the replacement is equally bad if not worse :halo4: ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Pakistan’s Salman Butt to miss semi-final against New Zealand today http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\09\22\story_22-9-2007_pg2_8
CAPE TOWN: Vice captain and opener Salman Butt, currently under a bad patch, will miss Saturday’s (today) semi-final of the Twenty20 World Cup against New Zealand and is likely to be replaced by Yasir Arafat. The left-handed batsman from Lahore scored just 74 runs in five matches. “There is a strong chance that Yasir will play in place of Salman,” a team source told APP here on Friday.
Salman, who was the top scorer in the Twenty20 tournament in Nairobi, is under heavy criticism for not coming up to the expectations and his maximum batting effort was seen against Bangladesh in the last match of the Super-Eight in which he scored 21 before being run out. He started the tournament by making 13 against Scotland and 17 against India in the preliminary round matches and in Super-Eight matches he scored 12 against Sri Lanka and 11 against Australia. Yasir has played two matches of the preliminary round, scoring 17 against Scotland and 12 against India and was dropped in all the three matches of the Super-Eight.
Team source said the team management now wanted to give a chance to Yasir but making a change in a winning combination at this crucial stage was not wise. “Salman has performed outstandingly in Nairobi tournament and then in practice matches before the Twenty20 Cup and his performance against Bangladesh is not bad and he is doing a good job in the role of vice captain,” he added. Against Bangladesh, Pakistan promoted the hard hitting all-rounder Shahid Afridi in the batting order as a make shift opener who opened the innings with Imran Nazir against Bangladesh and then Salman batted at number four. Afridi scored highest (39) in the match that Pakistan won by four wickets.
Sources said Imran Nazir and Mohammad Hafeez were also under a bad patch and they had not shown any notable performance. “It is not the right time and approach to make an experiment because we will be playing semi-final and we need experienced players like Salman with us to motivate the players,” he said and added, “having a make shift opener will serve no purpose and is not the solution of the problem and it can put the middle order under pressure in case of failure of top order.” app
I'm still a Salman Butt supporter.** He is a kid of the new generation of Pakistan; I think he has a different and more modern approch to the game than the other players.** Granted that 20/20 requires fast starts but lets concede his position on the playing 11 as experience. He believes in strokes rather than slog shots. I feel he understands how to play the game in the right manner which is steady cricket.
Even though it might be frustrating to see him out there rite now i say lets just tolerate him under the notion that he's gaining valuable experience; he's experiencing winning and i think it'll only help his confidence and ultimately Pakistan in the future.
Even Salman himself cannot come up with a phrase like that for himself. Unkil, you can be a good PR manager for celebreties. Keep up the good work.
For me, he is one of those Farhats, Hafeez, Nazirs and Hameeds we have been trying for last 4 years or so. IN TILON MEIN TEL NAHI.......they all are same.
Moreover, Butt is there to fill in for Lahore's representation in the team. We all know how happy LCA is on Malik's nomination as captain. So to keep the heart of cricket in Pakistan happy, Butt saab is chipkoo with the team.