Should Public Mass be banned?

Simple question. Christmas and Easter are normally times when Public mass is head in some countries. The Public Mass in Bethlehem is by far the most famous. There are others held in Lebanon and Egypt. The question is would these countries be well within their rights to ban them?

Re: Should Public Mass be banned?

Yes - why not as some wise man said on another thread ... Roads are for traffic not for prayers - similarly parks aren't build for religious activities either.

I am assuming this is in reaction to what France did ??

But what u r talking about only happens once a year. You don't see it everyday of the year !!

Actually it doesn't happen once a year. It happens far more often than that.

praying five times a day and and holding mass a couple times a year(planned) where the public knows in advance that this event will take place are two different things.

france is on the other extreme atheist side though, nothing outwardly religious is allowed to be seen, i've never seen a muslim in my city praying on the roads all of a sudden when the call to prayer has to take place. then again there isn't an overwhelming muslim population here, i don't have a problem with it personally but i tend to be a bit clumsy so if a muslim person was to start praying on a busy street while i'm walking on it, with my luck, chances are i'll trip over him/her not looking down while walking. it's just being aware of public space i guess.

France is atheist?

This is how people spread misunderstanding without having actually seen how people do it.

^i've seen it many many times, sirji i'm not ignorant, but you really need to see how i walk to understand. :Danyways
let me just add that people close to me are muslim, i've educated myself on islam and still doing it but i still feel that a busy street isn't the place to do it just so there isn't any distraction when doing namaaz. he/she needs to be completely engaged in it

well france isn't atheist as such but no outwardly symbols of God/religion are really allowed right?

If majority of those countries gets offended and this public Mass is against the religious beliefs then those holding those mass should be told to go indoors.
Religion is a personal affair and it should be kept personal , why does someone wants to show it to the whole world what they believe in and how they practice their religion. unless they are specifically asked by someone to demonstrate it to them they should keep it personal.

i agree the relationship with God is a private thing for me too
although when the religious event is planned i don't see any problem with it

How does "praying on street" become an attempt to showing to the world what they believe in, have you checked their hearts if their intention is to show off or really pray?

Can you first decide exactly whether you have seen it or not?

I would request you to take off your the-whole-world-is-out-to-get-Muslims goggles then you will see that my post is not about praying in the streets.I have already expressed my POV in other two threads on that topic
This post is about public mass out or religious jalsa jaloos out in the streets.

captain ji i've never seen it being done on the road!

i know for a fact that my friends go to the islamic center to do namaaz, or actually at work they have a room just for that.

i would think a noisy road with so much traffic(human and with vehicles) or any public place is the last place a person would pick for such a calming and peaceful act.....how did i confuse you? :p

I've never seen people in Lahore offering Namaz on the street. Sometimes the masjid gets filled and the people have to pray outside, but that's another thing.

Also, about the mass, I'm a secular so I'll say it shouldn't be banned. And yes, France did go against its secular values by banning Namaz on the streets (regardless of whether many Muslims were affected or not).

I am not of that view, but I do believe that the slogan of being secular is just an empty container.

Now again, please decide whether you have seen someone offering namaz on the street, if you have never seen it being done they why fear that you being clumsy will trip over someone praying on the street.

that was more like light humor, gosh you're so serious!

i have no problem with people offering namaaz on the streets, i have a feeling that the french government is testing the muslim population just to see how far they can take it, why take it as far as banning it. say that's common courtesty that's all.

may be 1% empty and 99% full.if you dont think they deserve to be called secular you can call them semi secular , but still they are best in treatment to people belonging to other religiones . not to talk of so called uncivilized world of ours .

Tu kiya Muharm ke jalson jaloson aur zanjeer Zani per bhi pabandi lagey gi?wahan??

Should be banned if it is out in the open, creates traffic or other problems, and is a recurring thing.

i will support you ,but i would also like to add " it should be left to the govt. and people of that country, what suites them and what the traditions had been from past history" , not by some disgruntled and angry people who openly defy every where local traditions and culture including some angry people who have agenda to prove secularism is a bad thing .