I think Pakistan should give India a taste of its own medicine, and be on the giving end for a change after all that time the rest of ICC was sticking it to us. Every country out to impress India was canceling tours left and right, its about time we only return the favor.
The recent incident of Shiv Sena members, attempting to dig up the pitch at one of the venues can be used as a perfect excuse to call off the tour on the security grounds.
India and its board are in for a major windfall, they will make a lot of money and we should make sure this does not happen…
Yeah we will have to bite the bullet. The thing is cricket in Pakistan does not have the same fanatical following as it is in India, where they burn the whole stadiums down and even test matches are sold out.
In Pakistan, you must have noticed the almost empty stands and indifference of the larger public, discounting the fanatics on this board, at the whole series and Pakistan's poor showing.
Furthermore, its not that all the needed infusion of cash from the last series has done anything for the betterment of the game nor the public. It has only stuffed the coffers of the few officials on the board and their bosses and thats it.
So what we, rather the board officials and players lose the appearance fee and sponsorship. Its not benefiting the public in anyway. Besides this is not a economic nor a sporting decision. This would be strictly predicated on politics as was India's decision. Like I said just returning the favor......
Why sholudn't Pakistan visit India? We should, after all India did come to Pakistan last year and it was a very sucessful tour. The people of Pakistan were very hospitable towards the Indians and it was a great series. It also helps to lower the tensions between the two countries. So let the tour roll on.
Your assertion that other countries cancelled tours to Pakistan to impress India is simply not true and their is no evidence to support such a theory.
.....hahaha..what the hell...not to tour ......so your just frustrated about whatever profit india makes and hence a cancellation in the tour...i am sorry but that was officially the dumest of reasons.....and what the hell do u care if india makes profit.....ehhh didnt pak make tons of it as well when we came....anyhow we have enough of other resources other than having cricket matches to boost our economy....bottom line ...tour shoud move forward in the name of cricket, entertainment, bilateral ties, and not because some a;hole such as urself is getting all worked about teh money.....(hell dont host the asia cup next yearr then , what say u now! )
and yeah ....dont ever open a thread like this for all the stupid reasons and in addition.....dont make up stuff such as the cancellations from other countries just so u can make your thread seem worthwhile......
lol…yes too much typing on aim really does take a toll on one’s vocab…chalo, exclusively for you i corrected it…now do you get my point or should i also include some commas and period’s…hehehe…j/k (spell’s also like just kidding…lol)!!!
He does have a point. To all you here are so eager to jump the gun, I still say player safety is paramount. If there is even a slight threat to our players, then call it off. I hope this isn't the case, it will be a sore loss for all cricket fans!
his point is not based on safety threats…it is based on political tamasha. he only mentioned the “safety threats” to suggest that it be falsely used as a defense in order to execute the tamasha. this is pathetic and a disgrace to the sport. millions, if not billions, of fans all over the world will miss out on what should be a great series for no reason at all, apart from childish games.
i agree that the players’ well-being is far more important than a game, and should remain the top priority. however, i don’t think there is any legitimate threat, and i doubt the PCB will either.
leave politics out of this plzzzzz, i have missed pak-ind cricket for too long with all de government tension and we also have to even the score, rememeber they thrashed us in our pichli gali so got to return the favour.
indians better provide tight security for our lads 2 we provided security that is normally reserved for only presidents, so come on, no havaldars and their batons'
whatever.....your going totally tangent to what the guy who started the thread was talking about; we were talking about getting cheap politics involved in this not some hindu-muslim nonsense so please get back to the point here!.....which actually is that pakistan should tour.....as far as security is concerned i have my fingers crossed and hoping that all sails well.....i mean after all INDIA VS PAKISTAN hai bhai who would want it cancelled just 20 some days before tour starts .....and if it does happen i wud have to put my 200 bucks someplce else :(........but it will not :)
As Far as Security is concerned I cannot deny the fact that there are a few fanatics who will try to disrupt this historic tour having said that, I am positive the Indian Government and BCCI will make all efforts to avoid any ugly situation.
My one and only concern at this time is that we may not measure up to the Hospitality and warmth showered upon the Indian team and visitors, by the Common man of the street Pakistani Cricket fan.
That kind of Hospitality can only be possible when we learn to keep politics (Shiv Sena/BJP) out of sports. I for one have my fingers and toes crossed.
So the bottom line is off the field the Indian fans must do what the Pakistani fans did and on the field the Indian team should just do what they did in Pakistan in 2004.:D
By the way here is some refreshing news for the Pakistani Cricket fans planning to visit India.
India signals it’s ready for invasion by Pak cricket fansLeaving boards to sort out venues, Delhi tells mission in Islamabad to issue 10,000 visas, car passes for Mohali
**NEW DELHI, FEBRUARY 12: **The cricket boards of India and Pakistan may still be wrangling over venues, but the government is already off the mark.
The Indian High Commission in Islamabad has been given the go-ahead to hold visa camps in Lahore and Karachi for the Pakistani fans who plan to come here. Some 10,000 ‘‘cricket visas’’ will be issued and spectators will be allowed to cross Wagah on foot.
Sources said that the High Commission will also be authorised to issue some special car passes for Pakistanis to drive across the border for the match at Mohali.
The special cricket visa will be valid for the duration of the match, with two extra days thrown in for travel. So, Pakistanis coming to watch Test matches will be given a seven-day visa and those who plan to take in a one-dayer will get a three-day visa.
The tour gets underway in March and Pakistan is slated to play three Tests and five one-dayers, though the details are still being thrashed out.
The first Test is expected to be played at Mohali. To make things easier for those crossing the border on foot, the government has decided to ply special buses from Wagah to Mohali.
In addition, special trains will run between Attari and Chandigarh.
In case a one-dayer is played in Delhi, plans are being drawn to run buses from the Wagah border to Delhi. For issuing visas, India will, more or less, follow the same guidelines that Pakistan did last year when the Indian team toured. Basically, a person needs confirmed tickets for a match before he applies for a visa. But it has still not been decided how the 10,000 visas will be apportioned between various locations. India has already decided that those above 65 or below 12 will get visa on arrival at Wagah.