Im getting married inshallah on the 14th April 2007 (dats not exactly fixed it can fluctuate) and since im working 9-5 on weedays and recently started this job I only get 14 working days off from now till end of April 2007. This gives me 10 days free holidays in Christmas time as my office is closed for 5 days + the 4 days wkends on either side.
I wanna go to India for my shopping, but I have NO body to go with, my dad is bzy in his job he wont get days off and if he does he can only go for max 3-4 days and rush back and I AM NOT ruining my 10 days and rushing everything……also my dads the type who’ll run around and rush and wont know the right places and worst of all he haggles so much and would walk out if there not giving something for 25% of its original price….sorry but that’s a NO NO I am NOT rushing round like a headless chicken
My mum works too and she has 10 days off for till end of 2006 so I WANNA take her. Me and her never been out anywhere together and this is a golden opportunity that I can spend some motherly daughter time with her before I get married off as I don’t live with her.
Initial plan was that me and my phopho would go and she gave my dad thumbs up that she’ll take me as she knows everything about India and we don’t. Now that the time has arrived to go she’s backed out and said she doesn’t know anybody and that she cant make it coz of her business and that her staff needs her and she has 2 little girls to look after, their baby sitter’s taken holidays etc etc.
My dad wont let me and mum go if phophos not going so im stuck both ways. Phopho offered that she can get me things for me from PK she knows designers and everybody but I HATE the stuff from there. You either get boutiques that are very expensive or cheap ‘maal’ its this or that. Phophos rich but im on a tight budget here she doesn’t understand that.
I have an Indian friend she lives next door to us. She said India is the best place to go she might come with me to visit her parents so she can guide me or she can tell her brother to meet us in India, he’s a designer himself with his boutique and he knows how to haggle with sellers so he can help me and my mum. Phopho is making it out as he’ll cheat you and sneakily charge you more then you pay. Theres all types of rape and kidnapping going on in India blah blah blah. I know shes right but does that mean I shouldn’t go just because of that?
no bodys gone india before inour family and I wanna be the first one so I can come back with nice things and show everybody that’s its not a bad place and that I CAN DO SOMETHING alone with my mum…
daddy say baat karwaou
lol if ur dad is not agreein with anything then no matter what ppl over tell u .. its not gonna make any difference anyways . . .
Oh wow this is the first time I heard anyone say that indian 'kaam walay kapray' are better than Pakistans'. I have always found indian party wear to be of inferior quality and very typical in style. Anyhow I think your friends brother would be a good option. Just go to india and have him show you the good places to shop or then ask your indian family/friends here to give u names of places/ boutiques where you can get good stuff from and then just go there.
No offense but from what i have seen you can get really nice stuff from Pakistan for very reasonable prices.
India's saris are known but the shalwar kameez from India is just not my style.
i didnt want to offend anyone so im realllllyy sorry
its jus that ive bin PK 3 times no and din like any of the stuff may be coz i havnt gone to the ryt places, im tired of going PK PK PK everytym i want summit different for once.
I REALLY need someones opinion who has gone india and what they found was it worth or not to go etc etc…
my pix mashallah came out really nice but im not allowed to upload them at work they dont have facility and i dont have net at home…so i have no way of postin them…
sowwy…
maybe wen i’ll get married inshallah then it’ll be all in a bulk theek?
you wanna go to india for 10days or so for the shopping??
have you ever been to india? do you know the right places and right people over there who can assist you in your shopping spree? don't waste your time, money and effort if you dont know anything. if you really wanna go then I think you should go to some trusted indian boutiques in your area and get the guidance from them about where to look for the quality stuff in reasonable prices in india
another thing you can do is to select the stuff from the magazines or net sites and go to the Indian boutiques or designers, pay them some advance and have them to get you the thing within X number of days and see if you like it or not. good luck
where in india are you going? which cities? i dont think you should have a problem on your own if you do some research prior to going. I've got some friends in Delhi - i could ask if you want.
You can get such nice outfits online even, id rather invest the money in hair and makeup which either makes or breaks the look. For an outift that will be worn for a couple of hours, not worth it.
I honestly don't think it's worth it. You'll be venturing into new territory, you don't know the place, you don't have relatives there that know what good shopping places there are. And you have limited time & budget and you also want to tour around and not only shop. You have 14 days which includes travel time. Unless your getting only readymade stuff (I'm highly picky about readymade), the hassle of darzis getting things done on time is a very sticky situation. There's a lot that can go wrong and it will definitely not play out the way you want to. Personally I'd rather not deal with that especially if its my wedding clothes that I'm going for! I'm surprised as everyone else in the thread that you couldn't find something of your liking in Pakistan?!? There's so much out there, perhaps you should give it another thought rather than toss it aside.
Ashi WHERE in Pak do you go ? Seriously! you can find the most gorgeous stuff in Pak, i'd suggest u go there, not because true indian stuff cant be good but only because its such unfamiliar territory and u have no clue of anything. You said you dont get good stuff in Pak, well if you end up going to Pak, then ull know where NOT to go ;) Seriously, lots of ppl here can assist you on places to shop in Lahore and Karachi and even islamabad etc.. unless u have like super horrible taste , u can definitely find hot stuff in Pak..