Re: Should Muslims Celebare Basant Festival?
so many ppl dying, n nobody’s doing anything..now i think it shdnt be celebrated at all under these circumstances..![]()
Code_Red,
I would agree with you 100% since I'm from Lahore as well. I don't know why are we still fighting about Basant's origin when we dont' celebrate it as a "HINDU" festival. Guys, try to understand. It's celebrated for the welcoming of Spring and it has nothing to do with the religion of Hinduism. Yea, we in Lhr, are culprit of going over the limit and we should sort out the reasons. But talking about having a ban on Basant, is complete nonsense and if you go to Lhr, you will see why Lahoris are crazy about Basant. Nobody intentinally flies a kite and says,"today, my thread is going to get someone's throat." No one has that attitude. People celebrate with their families and there's a huge get together and if you think that's wrong, than I don't know what are we goin to ban next? May be, Ludo or chess or even card playing(not necessarily juwa).
I guess our mullas really need to find jobs, as the more time they spent on job, the less controversies would be created. I mean Islam is such a simple, beautiful religion and when we make comments like Basant is haram and all that, it just outrages me. Don't we have anything else to fight on?
Umer
Ok, so now as i have clearly stated my (our) perspective of kite flying and basant...
Let me state frew ground realities and few developments which has made this beautiful festival into an ugly monster.
Involvement of Establishment :
kite flying is a game for commoners, poor people of lahore. It was confined to old city and old localities of lahore in the past, people used to do it privately with family and freinds ...
But now due to involevement of govt. and multinationals it has turned into a commercial event. It has highjacked totally innocent and colorful kite flying festival and turned it into bunch of slumber, drunken dance parties (kanjar khana) . All the Bast*rd politicians and beaurocrate who do not know how to fly a kite or hold a string go there and get drunk in these lavish parties.
Secondly due to patronage of govt and uncheck growth of kite flying basically from congested areas to all each and every locality of the city has created hovac and unforseen hazards, all due to inefficiency of local and provincial govts. Earlier people who wanted to celebrate basant used to go to their relative's house in *Androon shehr *(Walled city), Mozang, samanabad etc and other such areas which are congested and now it has spread to posh localities, due to which hazzards to passerby has increased beyond imagination.
Due to these reasons, Myself and many more adherent fans of this sport and festival do not assosiate with this Ugly festival(govt sponsored basant). This is not Our Basant. Therefore I demand and support a complete ban on kite flying in city and this so called basant to stop killling of innocents and our (tax payer's ) money being wasted on lavish drunken slumber parties.
Code_Red, (Also, fellow guppies plz. do correct me if you don't agree with me!!)
I would agree with you to leave Basant as a festival of common people. But my question is that Basant is becoming a huge part of Punjab's economy. There are 1000s of people who associate their earnings with it. It's not that kite flying kills people. We definitely have problems. The most common one is the flying of kite with "metal" thread in the beginning of the "dore." That's the one which creates millions of rupees worth of damage to electricity and people's electronic equipment as well. Also, the dore which goes over people' throat, it's sometimes also the action of laziness. Recently, a kid's throat was dismantled from his neck and one can't imagine what is goin on with the family. It also arouses a lot of questions that should we really fly kites @ all? My suggestion would be to limit the areas where we can celebrate the festival so everyone is part of harmony and we could avoid these deadly mishaps. Also, attributing Islam to Basant is just plain wrong. If that's the case, than there are lots of things going wrong in our "Islamic" nation which are way more important that Basant. A poor person who works hard all day doesn't need anything but roti for 2 times. If that's not the most important thing, than we are on the wrong track. I am not saying that Basant has 100% good attributes but can we just celebrate it as part of being in Lhr and not associate all these lavish parties and stuff with it.
Some more refrences showing it is hindu festival
Refrence:
http://www.hinduismtoday.com/hpi/2006/2/3.shtml
Ref:
http://www.rediff.com/election/2003/feb/21mp.htm
With so many draw backs.
viz Being Hindu Festival-Kite flying on basant being related with haqiqat rai–loss of lives-- etc i fail to see how any one support this ugly festival-
Still the question remains unanswered. We in Lhr celebrate it just for kite flying not for Hinduism reasons. Now, kite flying in my view is ok as it's Jashne Baharan not the celebration of some Hindu religious festival.
Umer
Umer,
I do not know what do you call this? Ignorance or something else?
Basant has claimed lifes innocent people, it has caused damage in millions - and those “pecha” moments turn out ugly (i.e. personal).
Islam clearly forbids this. Educate yourself and your friends on this (no offence)
Jazak’Allah Khair
You are right Umer :k:
Our basant has nothign to do with any religion, people are hell bent on establishing a link for more than half a centurey but it is a lost cause ![]()
and those who hate kite flying, may do so to their heart content, I do not have any objection. But if you regard kite flying as ‘haraam’ and all other sports (cricket ,football, motor racing etc. ) okey then it is pure hypocrisy.
Now There is One and only Valid argument against this game on which we all agree, that it is claiming of innocent lives. Which should be stopped at once. One can not have fun at the expense of innocent people.
I am and many other lahoris are disgusted at the attitude of govt. They are responsible for this mess and they are giving bad name to this whole festival, because they wanted to capitalize poor people’s only time of joy in whole year when they can have fun and it does not cost a fortune to them.
( basically, if you are not from lahore you may not know that this game is not expensive at all ).
If youngster who want to do stunts on bikes do it in stipulated (racing tracks)area then at maximum they will hurt themselves, but if they are allowed (or encouraged ) to do the same in heavy trafic on city raods then they will cause huge loss of life and property. Same was the case with kite flying.
It was restricted to poppulated areas of Lahrore, where streets are narrow where there is almost no chance of cutting throt because you can ride bike on a snail’s pace.
People who wanted celebrate it, used to go there. Now for past few years govt has officailly allowed (and encouraged) its mushroom growth to all parts of city without considering its drawback.
It should be banned for few next years as a punishment for govt and people.
And then it should be restricted to open areas out of city Like jallo park etc.
Question for Umer579 and Code_Red....
Basically, both of you have the same point that Basant festival has nothing to do with Religion and as Umer said "Now, kite flying in my view is ok as it's Jashne Baharan not the celebration of some Hindu religious festival"
So, I would like to ask Umer that do you know that Why NOW its called Jashne Baharan.? According to my knowledge I belive preety much that It has started by the name "BASANT" and now people have given it a name "JASHNE BAHRAN" as you said..but the reality is not that...Why not people celebrate when the "GERMIAN"(Summer) comes?why only "BAHAR"?WHY NOT ANY OTHER SEASON?
it's now cultural event...plz don relate it with religion!!!
Basically, both of you have the same point that Basant festival has nothing to do with Religion and as Umer said "Now, kite flying in my view is ok as it's Jashne Baharan not the celebration of some Hindu religious festival"
So, I would like to ask Umer that do you know that Why NOW its called Jashne Baharan.? According to my knowledge I belive preety much that It has started by the name "BASANT" and now people have given it a name "JASHNE BAHRAN" as you said..but the reality is not that...Why not people celebrate when the "GERMIAN"(Summer) comes?why only "BAHAR"?WHY NOT ANY OTHER SEASON?
It is basant like it has always been.
Lame govt tried to encash this fun fesitval few years back and make it show case for outside world so they tried changed its name from controvercial Basant to Jashan-e-baharan and celebrating by decorating parks and roads with flowers and colourful banners.
Since common people are least bothered by govt and their adventures, They still celebrate basant, no one calls it jashan-e-baharan
Bahaar (spring) is the best time for kite flying due to moderate weather and cool breeze, most suitable for kite flying
What is really funny is that the word "jashan" itself is not Islamic. It is derived from the Avestan* yashna which is the same as Sanskrit yagna (meaning pooja). Yet, the brainless government thinks that using authentic Farsi words will give it an Islamic tint. What a bunch of jokers.
Asslamu alikum
for those who said Basant is not Haram
App salal allaho alyhi waslam nay fermaya jis ka mafhoom hay
jo jis Qoom ki shabahat ikhtyar karay ga usee qoom k sath us ko qyamat k din uthaya jaye ga
by all proves & history every one know hinduz introduced BASant &.yellow dreese & kite flyings is speciall acts of this event
and now days these all similarties we can find easily when muslimz celebrate this occasion ..according this hadees anyperson can anlyise . dat nothing is diffrent betwen hindus Basant & Muslims basant ...so we shud not celebrate this !
*For those who said they celebrate this event for Fun .& they havent any intention towards religion *
*app salal allaho alyhi waslam nay fermaya *
10 muharam ka roza rakho kion is din hamray bhai mossa ko firoon say nijaat milli lakin 10 kay sath 9 muharam ya 11 muharam ko milla lo **
**takay YAHOOD say mushabihat na ho jayee
so dear borthers & sisters ... just read this hadees ..our prophet peace be upon him teach us that dont do anythin which similer with kuffar even in Ibadat
so how can we celebrate basant which is tottley &purely hindus Rasam
how can a Muslim Feel Fun ? when he/sje knows that Islam dont allowd it for us !
who celebrate it they do nothing but
Kuffar ko hunsnay ka moqa daitay hain k in hee jaisai muslmanoo ka hum nay khoon bahaya tha or ajj yehe muslman hamray is Din ko qayamat tuk zinda rakhain gay agar hum na bhi hoon .... hamesha is muslmanoo kay zareye hamara Karnama yad arahay ga!
** just shame on us**
i dont want to convence to u ppl and also dont want to speech ... every one knows reality ...but wat a poet said
Dil na chahay to Bahanay hazar hay
Ankhain band hon to din bhi rat hay
^ Informative Thread PG - keep up the good work :k:
^ jazak Allah
Nouroz is celibrated in many countries. I think it is also a kind of BASANT.
The problem is not with festival Basant. It is with "the way people get indulge in it " they bet!!! they make the MANJHA so cruel that it takes lives.
Basant can be celibrated if it is only with normal TAGA (thread) harmless for others. Todays DOOR is killer. So we should not celibrate basant. It is not a question of being muslim or not .It is for all Pakistanis either hindus, christian or what ever one is.
many in india dont know what is basant may be it is pujabi celebration since
some parts of tropical south dont have spring season . i am sure arabs dont celebrte either since desert dont have spring season?
http://www.alhudapk.com/audio-video/presentation/basant/default.asp
A must see
http://www.alhudapk.com/audio-video/presentation/basant/basant.pps
Wslaam Itsme01,
I am very open minded and I’m not offended at all when people suggest something other than what I believe in. Same is the case with you. I would agree with you that Basant has gotten over the limit and quite frankly, the “intensity” of Basant is downgraded due to the sanction of the Pakistan Supreme Court and now the recent “ban” of Punjab Govt.
I would reiterate myself that flying kites is not wrong as long as you do them in a proper manner. Basant used to be a time of happiness and get together for families in a cheap and easy way. I believe it’s still the case but times have changed along with people. Flying kites was never in the news until the late 90s when the people who make the “thread” started to use extreme sharp “manja”; that’s where the killer instinct started really. I’m very much against the “metal” strip that people use so they can “catch” a loose kite since it causes millions of Rupees of damage to WAPDA, in essence to Pak Govt.
Now, let’s get back to the topic of Jasn e Baharan. Someone mentioned that it’s a Hindu festival. Let me just go back and rephrase “Code_Red” in a different manner. The game of Cricket was started by English who used to be our conquerers and the language of English in which you and I communicate is not ours as well. In the early 1900s, our mullahs told us to refrain from learning English, thus keeping us always “nascent” to the learning of the others for years to come. Now, my question would be that should we stop learning English and playing Cricket just because it belongs to Englishmen?
Plz. don’t relate Basant to religion or infact as some relate it to Hinduism. “Deeds are based upon intention.” Flying kites just for fun and getting family together on Basant, in my mind don’t have anything to do with Hinduism. Hindus might have a some religious aspect to Basant but do we deal with Basant in Lhr with regards to solidarity with Hindus? I don’t think so..
The term “Jashn e Baharan” simply refers to festival/celebration for Spring. As you all know, it’s the Spring time when the farmers in both Pakistani Punjab and Indian PUnjab start to harvest the crops and seed for the new ones. It’s the time when the sunflower blooms and comes to it’s full gloom. Now, if we make it a celebration on a state level, what’s wrong with it? Jashn e Baharan was given its bloom by the Gen. Musharraf govt in the year 2000 when there were concerts all over the country and Basant was celebrated officially. At that time, no one really seemed to complain but the molvis. The same molvis who were mad at Sir Allama Mohammad Iqbal when he wrote his “Shikwa” and when he wrote “Jawab e Shikwa,” the same mullas were praising Sir Iqbal by leaps and bounds.
One might think that Code_Red and Umer579 are obnoxious. Well, I am very much shocked when I hear news that a kid died due to the “sharp dore” or someone jumped off their roof in catching a kite. One can’t imagine what the parents will be goin thru but I don’t support the complete ban on kite flying. What I suggest is having a “LIMIT” on it. Now, most of you would go “how”? There’s a simple answer that Punjab Govt is following. The ban and the Supreme Court’s sanction on kite flying would reconvene on March the 15th and after that atleast till the beginning of next year, no kite flying. Let the people of Lahore learn some lesson and come with new policies to fly kites for a limited time in certain areas. Now, that would definitely restrict the # of killings but what about the families? How about if we tell people to not to use “sharp/shaper/sharpest” thread but just fly kites for fun just like we play Cricket except in case against India when it’s for passion rather than a game..
Once again, the intention to celebrate Basant is not religious rather a way of joyce for ordinary people. Residing in the US, I learned one thing and that is “liberty.” Liberty is defined as the will of people to what they wanna do and let them do it. But liberty comes with the term and that’s what I associate the most not only with Basant but everything else in life as well and that is “responsibility” and “moderation.”
Again, If any of you disagree with me, I am more than glad to discuss it and may be I can change my mind but I am more restrictive of Basant now than ever before just bcz. what’s been in the news…
Umer:nono: