Excuse me, have you ever been to Lahore? It's without a doubt Pakistan's cultural and historical capital. Just because some loonies based in Lahore are making trash doesn't mean Lahore is not worthy to host talent and influence...most of the talent originates there. So quit the silly Milwaukee phrase you keep using b/c it doesn't make sense.
The city and its surrounding areas have an evironment that is not really conducive for modern forms of creativity to thrive -- note I said "thrive" -- while talent can originate there, it needs to go elsewhere to develop and shine. I dont want to start giving you a list of examples now.
Like it or not, it actually is Pakistan's Milwaukee. They even support the most conservative parties there.
Talent has both originated and shined in Lahore during the nineties e.g. look at the dramas that were made in that period. Like I said before, there is a shift towards Karachi but it's not for the reasons you are suggesting. Lahore is full of creativity, if that creativity isn't being utilised then we have to blame those that have stood in the way for personal gain.
Which party in Pakistan isn't conservative? They all take turns to rule the country, fill their bank accounts whilst ensuring that the masses have no say.
This isn't the first thread you have opened to portray your absurdly prejudiced thoughts.
we are talking about lollywood here not bollywood...anyhow no bollywood should not be banned as they have quality movies.
I know what the thread is about, but why these double standards? You call pakistani movies cheap and I agree they are cheap and should be banned. But similarly, the majority of Indian movies is cheap and is getting more and more disgusting and bold day by day. So either both should be banned or none at all. No double standards please.
This isn't the first thread you have opened to portray your absurdly prejudiced thoughts.
That is solely your opinion, and probably a prejudiced one. Think: Can you have a movie industry in a place where the largest congregation of the faithful happens after Hajj? Probably not. It simply doesn't go with the dynamics of the area -- not that I have any problems with them. It's just a bad fit for film makers who're probably at the extreme end of the liberal spectrum, the world over.
@zapatista-i dont think majority of bolly movies are cheap....if u think they are cheap fine thats your choice. i am a pakistani so i am more concerned with what pak makes. though i am not in favour of when bolly makes vulgar movies but its their choice.
we are talking about lollywood here not bollywood...anyhow no bollywood should not be banned as they have quality movies.
Quality movies? Are you talking about ripping off quality movies? Bollywood has no originality. Unfortunately judging from your avatar you are another one of those Pakistanis who are bollywood fanatics. Slowly indian culture is taking over pakistanis thanks to bollycrap.
I hate bollywood trash which is taking over our youth!!!!!
since the language is easy to understand, ppl take advantage of it!!!!!
Bollywoods 99% of movies now a days are vulgar and cannot be viewed with family. Every movie is a copy of 3 to 4 hollywood stories or korean or japanese so as to speak
i have strictly prohibited my husband not to put indian songs and movies on tv with kids around. I dont want my daughters to grow up with the indi sh!t influence!!!!!!
This is a useless thread by all means. It is not leading towards any progressive reforms needed for the Pakistani film industry to thrive. Stalker if you have a problem with what the Lahore movie industry makes then go ahead and make a movie on your own that is better to support your cause, but to say that a city is responsible for the way the Movie industry has turned out is pathetic to say the least. It is the people who are to blame if more people in Pakistan start to think about film-making as a respectable profession then no matter where they are they will make great movies PERIOD!
Are you serious? Everything from the movie titles ("Araeen da Kharaak", "Humayun Gujjar") language (loud, even when its Urdu), the wardrobes and the number of cows and the macho-twirled-moustache display in every movie is being dictated by where its coming from. The people come from that place, they represent that city, and that is what I can form a judgment on.
I'm ready to make a film, if you're ready to finance it. I say, let's get going!
Although, I am quite skeptical about the way 50m has been donated to the film industry while the teachers / professors of government schools / colleges / universities are paid next to nothing for providing education to Pakistani children. So, teachers / professors with good international experienced are discouraged to teach in government schools / colleges / universities, I would provide some valuable suggestions. Chances are quite the opposite of those suggestions would be made to happen by iindia through their control over Pakistani affairs but I would state that anyway. So, just incase anyone has doubts about my writings about iindian terror, hypocrisy, authority on Pak soil would not be doubtful anymore.
In Karachi, there again would be a strong chance of this industry falling into the hands of indian mafia which goes by the name of MQM. I suggest Islamabad being the capital must be made the centre of silver screen where artists of all kind must pass some tests in their own fields based on international (NOT INDIAN/BOLLYSH!T) standards. Any artists dreaming / sleeping / eating / drinking / doing bollysh!t must not be accepted to dirty the reformation of Pakistan silver screen process. Tough international standards must be strictly followed. Then all the ‘gems’ carrying a good dose of originality, free of sickly bollysh!t diseases & exposure to only international media (NOT DISEASED INDIAN MEDIA) must be enolled in a 6months intensive course of the field of their interest / choice (script writing, production, post production, sound engineering, acting or any other film making related fields). An exposure of international media / film production must be given to all those candidates. This Pakistani silver screen centre cum academy offering short intensive course with hands on experience could be affiliated with some nice French or Australian film academies which are not yet plagued by bollysh!t material (I believe Hollywood has already been plagued by bollysh!t so affiliation with New York film academy is out of question).
After intensive training, the reliable talent should be given a chance to sport their talent. If what they make are bollysh!t plague free productions which depict the ‘real’ social life & issues of Pakistani people so that indian media’s & indian terrorists’ only aim of tarnishing the image of the whole Pakistani nation through large scale media propaganda on national & international level could be countered. These productions must be so sophisticated & good quality so that they could compete in the international market & beg some international awards. All such producers & their teams then could be given Pakistan’s ‘pride of performance’ which iindian sh!t licking Pakistanis like reema khan, meera & the likes do not deserve.
Licking iindian / bolly sh!t must be made a crime severe enough not to be promoted as an artist just like the 20 years old trend within bhindian industry itself. A tit for tat from Pakistanis.
But none of that could ever happen if we do not fork out those pakistani traitors who are turning Pakistan into a ghetto india (just like aemrica) with each new day upon indian instructions & manipulation. So, the focus must be also on spotting those culprits who are enforcing bollysh!t on Pakistani tv hchannels / broadcasts from behind the scenes. Those culprits must be forked out, jailed, hanged or deported to india.
Stalker thats where you are mistaken. Think of these trashy films as costume dramas, b/c in reality none of this exists. Even the villages are more up-to-date than we give them credit for. Just b/c some idiots are refusing to back away from making trash (that may have been successful in the sultan rahi era) does not mean Lahore as a city is to blame.
Quality movies? Are you talking about ripping off quality movies? Bollywood has no originality. Unfortunately judging from your avatar you are another one of those Pakistanis who are bollywood fanatics. Slowly indian culture is taking over pakistanis thanks to bollycrap.
yes there are many quality movies...and a lot with original and great stories...unfortunately judging from your posts u are another one of those pakistanis who are jealous of bollywood. for once plz wider ur thinking.
WHy would I be jealous of bollycrap? Should I be jealous at their talent for ripping of movies? Their movies openly show their hate for Pakistan. Just seeing another brainwashed pakistani turning towards indian culture. Indians are snakes they have a big smile on their faces but inside every indian hates Pakistan in some way.
^^ Aashiq no point dear. Havent I said at several occasions that Pakistanis are stupid? Only those who are blessed to learn through trial & error are smart enough to understand indian hypocrisy. This is one such Pakistani. I have stopped wasting my time on them. It is just like, there is no point advising anyone because a wise person does not need it & a stupid would never understand it. How they term it 'jealousy' instead of admitting their naivety.
Ok so now we have to point fingers at each other in order to prove our dislike for another nation? How are we going to fight them if we can't stop fighting with our own people?
Perhaps this is one reason they find it easy to take over our minds since we are so weak within ourselves. We can't even get along on a message board, how are we going to survive as a nation?
The people are to blame not the city for example, one doesn't blame Los Angeles if someone from Hollywood makes a pathetic movie, you blame the writer and director of the film. I am only saying that if educated people from Lahore enter the film industry they can bring a solid change however we need to improve the infrastructure of the whole industry in order bring a positive change to it and if we don't then no matter where the industry resides, Karachi or Lahore, it will never get up on its feet.
WHy would I be jealous of bollycrap? Should I be jealous at their talent for ripping of movies? Their movies openly show their hate for Pakistan. Just seeing another brainwashed pakistani turning towards indian culture. Indians are snakes they have a big smile on their faces but inside every indian hates Pakistan in some way.
because u r jealous, ur denials wont work. if u dont like it fine go ahead but dont stop others from liking it because its just entertainment. "Their movies openly show their hate for Pakistan"-lol what a rubbish comment. just seeing an other jealous of bollywood pakistani (wish i could change this :( )brainwashing pakistanis and others. a lot of things will become good if for once you change your thinking. u dont have to like their films. if u think they are rubbish, not good, copied etc etc fine thats ur opinion but keep that to ur self coz when start to preach this to those who like/love bollwood u emerge as a jealous person.
^^ Aashiq no point dear. Havent I said at several occasions that Pakistanis are stupid? Only those who are blessed to learn through trial & error are smart enough to understand indian hypocrisy. This is one such Pakistani. I have stopped wasting my time on them. It is just like, there is no point advising anyone because a wise person does not need it & a stupid would never understand it. How they term it 'jealousy' instead of admitting their naivety.
have anything to say, say it on my face....not behind someone's back like a coward. i dont really see the problem. u dont have any culture/country problems when u watch hollywood. ek zamane main ptv pe english films aya karti thi...kya kabhi kisi english channel ne koi pakistani movie dikhayi hai (sirf ek woh bhi recent times mein)...u have no problems against that. our channels do show english stuff. infact we used to have programs where they used to discuss hollywood films/celebs. kya us waqt dekh ker khayal nahi aya ke pakistani channel pe hollywood kya ker raha hai, kya unho ne humari koi film ya prog promote kiya hai NO NEVER. kash tumhari aur tumhare jaison ki shaadi na ho (aur agar hogayi hai tou allah hi hafiz hai). khuda ke liye apni soch badlo.